Votre titre Audible gratuit

Her Last Secret

A Gripping Psychological Thriller
Lu par : Katie Villa
Durée : 10 h et 9 min
5 out of 5 stars (1 notation)

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

There are some secrets you can never tell.

The last thing to go through Dominique Thomas's head was the image of her teenage daughter's face and her heart lifted. Then the shot rang out.

They were the perfect family. Successful businessman Ben Thomas and his wife Dominique live an enviable life, along with their beautiful children: teenager Ruby and quirky younger daughter Mouse.

But on Christmas Day the police are called to their London home, only to discover a horrific scene: the entire family lying lifeless, victims of an unknown assailant.

But when Ruby's diary is discovered, revealing her rage at the world around her, police are forced to look closer to home for the key to this tragedy.

Each family member harboured their own dark truths - but has keeping their secrets pushed Ruby to the edge of sanity? Or are there darker forces at work?

This dark, gripping psychological thriller will have you holding your breath until the very last minute. Fans of Behind Closed Doors, Sometimes I Lie, and The Girl on the Train will be captivated.

©2017 Barbara Copperthwaite (P)2017 Bookouture

Commentaires

"Compelling, claustrophobic and horribly believable - a great read!" (B. A. Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors)
Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent
Notations
Global
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Interprétation
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Histoire
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour ROBIN
  • ROBIN
  • 22/01/2018

I was never bored... BUT...

This is a tough book to review, because although I was never bored , and although the narrator did a great job , this was collectively the most miserable, angry, and unlikable group of characters I have ever encountered in one story.

9 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Wendi
  • Wendi
  • 22/12/2017

I Had To Think On This One..

'Her Last Secret' is a gripping listen in parts. Some parts are rather slow. However, I couldn't figure out why it was deemed 'a psychological thriller' until the very end.

We have a husband having an affair, a wife who's afraid to leave the husband, a misguided teen getting cyber-bullied.. a 'normal' abnormal family with severe problems behind closed doors. As the problems accumulate and tension mounts, the book feels more like a murder-mystery. It's very depressing, and it deals with depressing subject matter.

The end made me go 'Wow..' And, when something makes me do that, it's worth the read. The narrator was fantastic. The book is definitely interesting.. and I would give the story a solid 4 stars.

-Wendi

17 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour D. DeVries
  • D. DeVries
  • 15/01/2018

My mind wandered

Would you try another book from Barbara Copperthwaite and/or Katie Villa?

Maybe

Any additional comments?

It was hard for me to focus on this story...it seemed to ramble. After 8 chapters and I still can't get into the story...it's time to turn it off.

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour T. White
  • T. White
  • 14/01/2018

Had to go all the way to the end!

This story was a tease throughout. I loved it. Enough suspects were introduced to make it impossible for me to guess the ending:) I like that in a who done what story!

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Jae
  • Jae
  • 24/02/2019

How is it so good but so depressing at the same time?

This was a very well written and read book. If you want to feel helpless and depressed this is the book for you. It’s kind of like when an actor is so good at playing a bad guy in a movie or show that you will always see them as that character.... that’s what this book is like. It’s so well written that I do t like it but I also recognize the talent. The ending kind of made up for it but it was only 15 minutes worth. I am truly mixed up about my feelings about this book it’s good because I was so invested in hoping that things would turn around quicker but it’s bad because I’m emotionally drained once I finished it. I’m going to have to mentally prepare for her other books because I’m intrigued to read them. 🙃😏😕

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Jessica Ellis
  • Jessica Ellis
  • 20/03/2018

Thrillingly excellent

This book was so good. The twists and turns made for an awesome book!
The book left you ready to read again!

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Stacy
  • Stacy
  • 06/11/2017

Amazing!

I thought I had this one all figured out.... man was I wrong!!!! Loved this book!!!

8 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Sandi C
  • Sandi C
  • 30/11/2017

Intense

loved it! Really good book. sucked me in from the first chapter and kept my attention throughout.

4 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour artsonggirl
  • artsonggirl
  • 08/08/2018

Disappointing

While the plot line has potential and is tied up in an interesting way the characters are trite and one dimensional for most of the novel. I found myself rolling my eyes at the mustache-twirling villainy of the father character in particular. While characters are given some redeeming dimension towards the end of the book I was already disinterested and skimmed the last third just to see how it ended (something I’ve never done before with an audiobook). While this may be aimed at young adults the author seems to underestimate their intelligence. Most adults will find it disappointing. The performance is lovely and I couldn’t help but wonder if such a talented voice actor found herself struggling to choke out the material.

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour RJS Amazon
  • RJS Amazon
  • 06/08/2018

I thought I knew the ending!

This was a really good book! I thought it was a predictable ending but was totally surprised, The story line was sad as it went along and I almost stopped listening but picked up and the ending was completely a surprise.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile