Prix : 17,26 €

Détails de l'abonnement : Détails de l'abonnement :
  • Gratuit pendant 30 jours, avec un titre au choix offert.
  • 9,95 € par mois pour le livre audio de votre choix, quel que soit le prix.
  • Vous n'aimez pas un titre ? Échangez-le.
  • Résiliez à tout moment, vos livres audio vous appartiennent.
ou
Dans le panier

Description

David Ryan is the designer of ELOPe, an email language optimization program, that if successful, will make his career. But when the project is suddenly in danger of being canceled, David embeds a hidden directive in the software accidentally creating a runaway artificial intelligence.

David and his team are initially thrilled when the project is allocated extra servers and programmers. But excitement turns to fear as the team realizes that they are being manipulated by an A.I. who is redirecting corporate funds, reassigning personnel and arming itself in pursuit of its own agenda.

©2011, 2012 William Hertling (P)2012 William Hertling

Critiques

  • Science Fiction DIY Book Festival, Winner, 2011-12
  • Gold Winner, Science Fiction Book of the Year, 2011

"Avogadro Corp is a tremendous book that every single person needs to read. In the vein of Daniel Suarez's Daemon and Freedom(TM), William's book shows that science fiction is becoming science fact. Avogadro Corp describes issues, in solid technical detail, that we are dealing with today that will impact us by 2015, if not sooner. Not enough people have read these books. It's a problem for them, but not for the [emergent] machines." (Brad Feld, managing directory Foundry Group, co-founder Techstars)

"Highly entertaining, gripping, thought inspiring book. Don't start without the time to finish - it won't let you go.” (Gifford Pinchot III, founder Bainbridge Graduate Institute, author The Intelligent Organization)
"An alarming and jaw-dropping tale about how something as innocuous as email can subvert an entire organization. I found myself reading with a sense of awe, and read it way too late into the night." (Gene Kim, author of Visible Ops)

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Notations

Global

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    2
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Trier par :
  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent vision of what could happen !

Good story with excellent knowledge of IT enterprise management rules.
This story looks plausible !

I will definitely read the next book from M. Hertling.

Trier par :
  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Matthew
  • 26/12/2012

Short but defintely sweet

What made the experience of listening to Avogadro Corp the most enjoyable?

The complexity of the story, and the obvious knowledge of the topic the author has, and carried forward to the story and the characters . Very enjoyable.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Avogadro Corp?

The very end. What the hell!!??!!

What does Rob Granniss bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

He did a fine job activating the characters. They resonated well with me, and I am confident it will with you as well.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

The end, which moves pretty quick, but is a turn around that caught me off guard.

Any additional comments?

Not a huge stretch from our current reality. Recommended highly for tech thriller followers, and anyone else who enjoys near future forecast stories.

9 sur 9 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Richard
  • 22/05/2014

William Hertling, my new favortive author!

This is a great book and overall an even better series of books.The author does a great job telling the story and keeping your attention. If you like sci-fi this is a great listen. Listened to the whole series and enjoyed every bit of it.

4 sur 4 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • CSoAmazon
  • 27/09/2013

Great story and how it unfolds

What did you love best about Avogadro Corp?

Great book, and from the point of a programmer. Its exactly how I would expect a distributed AI would appear. I was very taken in by this book and it filled everything I expected of it. Sometimes in my mind I removed the word "Avogadro" and used Google because that's what it felt like. Just one part I disliked but it's so specific to me I'm not going to mention it. 4 out of 5!

Who was your favorite character and why?

ELOPE , that's not even a person or even someone that you can directly interact with happens to be the best character from my view.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

"Avogadro Corp, Who said AI had to be intentional"

4 sur 4 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Ted
  • 17/04/2017

It's Strongly OK But...!

Okay here's another rouge AI intelligence set to battle mankind. Yep, I've read (or listened to) a dozen of these tales from lots of good authors. William Hertling's as good as all of them. But he was MUCH BETTER when he wrote "Kill Process". Perhaps it's because this vein has been mined by so many other great SciFi writers over the last half century? Maybe.

Still, Hertling's take is unique thanks to his deep knowledge of computer stuff. I'm not sure I'm sufficiently interested in the evolution of Hertling's "Singularity" as the ghost in the IT machinery to follow more of its adventures. But... I will definitely follow Angie Benenati's story as it evolves in sequels to "Kill Process". Oh, Rob Grannis is a good reader but no where near as talented as Jane Cramer in KP.

And that's my dilemma. Cramer narrates the last in this "Singularity" series begun here in "Alvagadro". Should I skip ahead to book 4: "The Touring Exception" (and I think the last) in this "Singularity" series just to enjoy Cramer? Will I miss too much by leap-frogging the two novels in the middle?

Got to think on that...

8 sur 9 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • S. S. F. Cbg
  • 19/03/2013

Love the plot.

Would you consider the audio edition of Avogadro Corp to be better than the print version?

Utterly believable. You will never think the same about your email or computers. Great premise. Unpredictable enough to keep you listening. Narration is a bit weak but acceptable- he could use more emotion and varying of his voice. Character development could go slightly deeper but overall wonderfully original and well crafted.

3 sur 3 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Grace R.
  • 19/10/2012

Loving it all over again!

It's rare that I read a book twice, or even listen to a book I've previously read. However, I did it with Avogadro Corp. and I'm loving it all over again! William Hertling's story keeps you turned in. I spend a great deal of time on the road and find audible books are comforting and relaxing....if the stories and characters are well developed, and the reader doesn't distract me from the book. Avogadro Corp. checks all the boxes.

7 sur 8 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • K. Williamson
  • 24/01/2015

A base primer, for the 2nd Book.

Overall a good story, good voices

Defiantly read the sequel, it expands the AI monster.

I really liked this series.

Also read Deamon as it builds on this theme v

2 sur 2 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Brad Schubring
  • 13/12/2014

A great book with a few flaws (some mild spoilers)

Where does Avogadro Corp rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

This series (The Last firewall, and the two Avogadro books) remind me of how Star Wars is written. It's a beautiful world that I want to know all about... but dang if I don't get frustrated at how the story is being told sometimes!

Who was your favorite character and why?

ELOPe of course! The method and causes for its transition to intelligence was beautiful, logical, and very well written.

How did the narrator detract from the book?

I felt like he was literally narrating, not telling the story. I don't need full dramatization, but the narration felt flat, and words/phrases regularly lacked emphasis that would have made the story feel more real, and meanings more clear.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Not quite but close. the subject matter was interesting and compelling, but it wasn't quite to the "I can't put it down" level for me.

2 sur 2 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • M.W.
  • 10/02/2014

I liked the premise

I like an AI book that has a somewhat plausible premise. I guess I'm willing to believe just about anything is possible in cyber space. What I had some reservations about was the "meat space." When the body count starts to go through the roof, a book starts to lose me. I have to roll my eyes when multiple software moguls get killed off all at once and it just seems to be another day at the office.

Other than that nit, I will be reading the second in the series and consider this a credit well spent.

4 sur 5 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • T. C. Pile
  • 31/12/2012

Diversionary Tactics

A fun romp through a not-so-distant future in which a thinly-disguised Google goes off the Ruby-On-Rails. Can we code "Do No Evil" into our software? Will artificial intelligence save us or imprison us?

Which human impulse is stronger - hope or fear?

4 sur 5 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

Trier par :
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Erik
  • 27/05/2018

Cyber punk at its best

Loved it. The perfect cyberpunk series. Very well designed and written tech developments constructed into a thrilling story line.