Votre titre Audible gratuit

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Vous êtes membre Amazon Prime ?

Bénéficiez automatiquement de 2 livres audio offerts.
Bonne écoute !

    Description

    A young teenager named Red and the old prospector who raised him arrive in Baker's Gap, anxious to start a new life, having struck a glory hole of gold. Much to Red's horror, however, the prospector is gunned down in the street. Suddenly alone in a strange town, the boy is angry and distrustful, but fortunately Tom Harrison, the local sheriff, is willing to accept responsibility for his care if he can convince him to stay. A strong bond soon develops between the two, and in exchange for Red agreeing to attend school, the sheriff pledges to pass down all he knows about law enforcement. 

    The years pass, but nothing deters the boy from a stubborn conviction to spend his life tracking down outlaws like those who killed the man who raised him. When Harrison's Ranger friend, Al Thornton, shows up, both see an opportunity for Red to reach his goal. Red leaves Baker's Gap to become a Ranger under the tutelage of Thornton. At first somewhat skeptical of Red's abilities because of his age, Thornton and others at the camp come to accept him as one of their own because of his frontier skills and knowledge. 

    When Red and Thornton are sent on a routine mission to transport a prisoner, they find themselves embroiled in more conflict than they had counted on. Before the Rangers arrive, the outlaw breaks out of the fort jail with the help of his gang, and a seemingly routine job turns into a deadly manhunt. Eventually the outlaw and his gang head toward Baker's Gap. If the two Rangers cannot arrive in time it will surely spell disaster for the Sheriff Tom Harrison.

    ©2019 R. W. Stone (P)2019 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

    Ce que les auditeurs disent de Only the Stubborn Survive

    Notations

    Commentaires - Veuillez sélectionner les onglets ci-dessous pour changer la provenance des commentaires.

    Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
    Trier par :
    Trier par:
    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      3 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Jean
    • Jean
    • 05/09/2019

    An easy read

    This is a typical western story: teenager left alone after the murder of family/guardian then he seeks revenge on the killers. Red is a teenager, raised by an old prospector. They move to Baker’s Gap to start a new life after striking it rich. The prospector is gunned down in the street. Red is taken in by the Sheriff, Tom Harrison. Red agrees to go to school if Harrison will teach him to become a lawman. A few years later Red joins the Texas Rangers then the story becomes interesting. The book is well written. The characters are interesting and there is lots of action. I will be looking for more books by R. W. Stone.

    The book is five hours and sixteen minutes. Traber Burns does a good job narrating the book. Burns is an actor and audiobook narrator. This is my first experience with the author, R. W. Stone, and the narrator, Traber Burns.

    10 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour randy brech
    • randy brech
    • 04/10/2020

    Great western!

    I have found another western author. This book seems to be alone, I hope he writes more to follow this book. It kept me interested and eager to hear more!

    5 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Shon and Cathy
    • Shon and Cathy
    • 07/02/2021

    Good Western

    a little predictable but a good listen. Will look for more from same artist in the future

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Amazon Customer
    • Amazon Customer
    • 28/09/2020

    review

    good story all his boo m.j s are worth reading whole some, down to earth

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Deborah C. Reed
    • Deborah C. Reed
    • 13/11/2021

    Excellent book

    For fans of Louis L’Amour, John Grisham and Craig Johnson, this is music. (Yes, I see John Grisham’s characters and plot as modern westerns.)
    This is the first Stone novel I’ve read and it was delightful. The characters are engaging and fun, the plot good.
    While it isn’t as thought provoking as Grisham and not as intellectual as Johnson, it is very enjoyable and I recommend it to any who like the other authors.

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Danny Harr
    • Danny Harr
    • 18/10/2021

    Only the stubborn survive

    This is a great western. it has a good story line about a boy that grows up and becomes a lawman. Traber Burns does a great job narrating this book.

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Utilisateur anonyme
    • Utilisateur anonyme
    • 04/10/2021

    Very good Book and very well read!

    Although the story is slow to start It doesn't take long for the page to pick up. Highly recommend this book to be added to your library of 📚 books!

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Arvin
    • Arvin
    • 27/09/2021

    A good western story

    This is my first western story on Audible. I enjoyed the story. it was really compelling and the details were enough to imagine what was going on.

    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour James Ost
    • James Ost
    • 03/09/2021

    Heartwarming But Predictable Yarn

    This is a fun, easy listen that takes you back to the old west for a few hours. My only complaint is that it is incredibly predictable, but I suppose to some that is a feature and not a bug.

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Jamie Kelley
    • Jamie Kelley
    • 05/06/2021

    super great read!!

    I loved every bit of this book cant wait to search out more like this!!!