Votre titre Audible gratuit

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Vous êtes membre Amazon Prime ?

Bénéficiez automatiquement de 2 livres audio offerts.
Bonne écoute !

    Description

    A preeminent physicist unveils a field-defining theory of the origins and purpose of life.

    Why are we alive? Most things in the universe aren't. And everything that is alive traces back to things that, puzzlingly, weren't. 

    For centuries, the scientific question of life's origins has confounded us. But in Every Life Is on Fire, physicist Jeremy England argues that the answer has been under our noses the whole time, deep within the laws of thermodynamics. England explains how, counterintuitively, the very same forces that tend to tear things apart assembled the first living systems.

    But how life began isn't just a scientific question. We ask it because we want to know what it really means to be alive. So England, an ordained rabbi, uses his theory to examine how, if at all, science helps us find purpose in a vast and mysterious universe.

    In the tradition of Viktor Frankl's Man's Search for Meaning, Every Life Is on Fire is a profound testament to how something can come from nothing.

    ©2020 Jeremy England (P)2020 Basic Books

    Commentaires

    "A unique project that proposes to build a metaphorical bridge between the richness of mythic language and the precision of physical theory. Somewhere below this bridge flow the waters in which biological life first evolved and upon which England is an ecumenical-physicist river guide." (David Krakauer, president and William H. Miller professor of complex systems, Santa Fe Institute)

    "In this sparklingly original book, Jeremy England tackles perhaps the biggest scientific question of all - what is life, and how did it emerge from inanimate matter? With crystal clear explanations of deep concepts such as reductionism and emergence, or the fluctuation theorem from non-equilibrium statistical mechanics (who knew that could be done?), the book offers a heady intellectual smorgasbord. It's a delight to read, not only for its charming content, but, because, much like the Hebrew scriptures interwoven throughout the text, the prose flows with a poetic rhythm. I couldn't put it down." (Ard Louis, University of Oxford)

    Autres livres audio du même :

    Ce que les auditeurs disent de Every Life Is on Fire

    Notations

    Commentaires - Veuillez sélectionner les onglets ci-dessous pour changer la provenance des commentaires.

    Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
    Trier par :
    Trier par:
    • Global
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      1 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour edward ranck
    • edward ranck
    • 02/01/2021

    misleading title and content

    I don't believe that the content of this book has much to do about physics it was more or less an outline in Jewish theology

    2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile