Votre titre Audible gratuit

City of Ghosts

Lu par : Reba Buhr
Série : Cassidy Blake, Volume 1
Durée : 5 h et 2 min
4,1 out of 5 stars (9 notations)

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

From number-one New York Times best-selling author Victoria Schwab comes a sweeping, spooky, evocative adventure, perfect for fans of Stranger Things and Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children

Ever since Cass almost drowned (okay, she did drown, but she doesn't like to think about it), she can pull back the Veil that separates the living from the dead...and enter the world of spirits. Her best friend is even a ghost. 

So things are already pretty strange. But they're about to get much stranger. 

When Cass's parents start hosting a TV show about the world's most haunted places, the family heads off to Edinburgh, Scotland. Here, graveyards, castles, and secret passageways teem with restless phantoms. And when Cass meets a girl who shares her "gift", she realizes how much she still has to learn about the Veil - and herself. 

And she'll have to learn fast. The city of ghosts is more dangerous than she ever imagined. 

New York Times best-selling author Victoria Schwab delivers a thrillingly spooky and action-packed tale of hauntings, history, mystery, and the bond between friends (even if that friend is a ghost...).

©2018 Victoria Schwab (P)2018 Scholastic Inc.

Ce que les auditeurs disent de City of Ghosts

Notations
Global
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    4
  • 4 étoiles
    2
  • 3 étoiles
    3
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Interprétation
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    6
  • 4 étoiles
    2
  • 3 étoiles
    1
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Histoire
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    4
  • 4 étoiles
    2
  • 3 étoiles
    2
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0

Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars

Super expérience

Ce livre est un super livre jeunesse c'était une super expérience j'ai passé un bon moment

Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour R. Havens
  • R. Havens
  • 07/10/2018

Beautiful YA offering from Victoria Schwab

Great story and narration. Schwab's storytelling has never disappointed me, and this YA book is no exception. Since it is YA rather than some of her adult offerings, some who come to this book from her others may be a little surprised at the lighter tone and more straightforward storytelling. However, she doesn't condescend to her audience and offers a rich, interesting story with great characters (where Schwab shines brightest) and a compelling story line. The narrator does the story justice, as well, which is important to a well-executed audiobook!

6 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Jeffrey B (Pool) Nattania
  • Jeffrey B (Pool) Nattania
  • 29/09/2018

Intended for a Younger Crowd

I live anything the V Schuab puts out. I even found this entertaining; however, it is intended for a younger crowd. I would say 5th grade and up. kinda mysterious, kinda spooky, but not the typical dark, gothic, bloody, action packed Schuab that I love!!

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour angela jennings
  • angela jennings
  • 15/12/2018

very good story...cant wait for more

This was so good. A very friendly and light read about a girl who can see ghosts and has a best friend who actually is one. A little predictable but none the less good. I enjoyed her adventured and the story of her parents being ghost hunters.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Abbey
  • Abbey
  • 24/09/2018

Great listen

Good book, very middle grade appropriate with some good scary parts for kids. Have to say I hated how the mom was read and if she had a big part it might have ruined it for me. But since her part was small I could easily overlook it. Overall definitely worth it.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Bells
  • Bells
  • 21/10/2020

It is a kid's book, but I enjoyed it

this is more of a children's book than some of the other things that she's written... I would say this is for like middle school age? like perhaps 11 to 13? I read a lot of YA and its earlier than that... it's a little slow in the beginning but it's worth the ramp up. The second book is good too.

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Erica Paulk
  • Erica Paulk
  • 08/09/2020

Easy to read but not fulfilling

3.5 star This was a nice light and fun read. I honeslty needed a break after the Stephen King marathon. There was a good atmosphere about the book. Only it needed more bulk somehow. I couldn't relate to the characters or care much for them. But the link between Cassidy and Jacob was a very nice touch. Possibly the only reason I am considering the next book. The talk of British/American lost in translations was hilarious. "It's official, nothing is sacred." No much more to say here. It's a nice go between book. Like a good break before you start a new monstrous tale. Easy to read and hard to put down. But as a stand alone, there just wasn't enough meat in it. Also while the book cover is top notch the cat is kind of confusing to me. Cass has a cat but it's not mentioned much in the book.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Adrianna
  • Adrianna
  • 10/08/2020

Everything you need in a good ghost story

The tone, setting, and concept are all something I would have adored at 11 years old during my mystery novel craze. I didn’t expect it to be something I would absolutely adore now. The writing is immersive and very well done. One of the best first person present tense POVs I’ve seen in a while. Not to mention the fabulous job done by Reba Buhr as the narrator. She has an amazing range of accents and character voices. Her overall narration brings the written words to life. The story is fun, adventurous, and lovely. Certainly worth your time

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Bruce
  • Bruce
  • 25/07/2020

It matches the publisher's blurb

Excellent story for the right audience - I liked it and I don't fit that profile. It's a rare YA book that actually has parents in it, though they are just as preoccupied as Coraline's parents (Neil Gaiman). Nice step up from Bellairs The Ghost in the Mirror; on a par with Catherine Jinks Bogle series; could be followed by J. Stroud's Lockwood & Co. I will be interested in where the series goes, but could feel satisfied with the story stopping here. Doesn't yet feel like there is an unfulfilled story arc. At 5 hours per book, a good deal, if they ever go on sale; not a good deal for us credit-users.

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Heather K (Dentist in my Spare Time)
  • Heather K (Dentist in my Spare Time)
  • 11/04/2020

Meh

Okay... I guess. I think my expectations were a bit too high for my first Victoria Schwab. I'm not typically a middle grade reader, but I think if I was I would have enjoyed this one a bit more. It was a very predictable story, and it felt geared towards ages 9-12 more. My 10 year-old nephew would probably love it. I listened to the whole thing because it was short, but even the decent narration didn't help keep my interest. It took me about two weeks to listen to a story that was just over 5 hours long, and that's not a great sign. Fine, I guess, but I would recommend only for a younger audience or a seasoned middle grade reader.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03/02/2020

Awesome

A good starting and the villain is so good!!and the story line is excellent!! Great for ghost lovers!!!