Votre titre Audible gratuit

City of Ghosts

Lu par : Reba Buhr
Série : Cassidy Blake, Volume 1
Durée : 5 h et 2 min
Catégories : Anglais - Kids, Ages 8-10
4 out of 5 stars (8 notations)

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

From number-one New York Times best-selling author Victoria Schwab comes a sweeping, spooky, evocative adventure, perfect for fans of Stranger Things and Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children

Ever since Cass almost drowned (okay, she did drown, but she doesn't like to think about it), she can pull back the Veil that separates the living from the dead...and enter the world of spirits. Her best friend is even a ghost. 

So things are already pretty strange. But they're about to get much stranger. 

When Cass's parents start hosting a TV show about the world's most haunted places, the family heads off to Edinburgh, Scotland. Here, graveyards, castles, and secret passageways teem with restless phantoms. And when Cass meets a girl who shares her "gift", she realizes how much she still has to learn about the Veil - and herself. 

And she'll have to learn fast. The city of ghosts is more dangerous than she ever imagined. 

New York Times best-selling author Victoria Schwab delivers a thrillingly spooky and action-packed tale of hauntings, history, mystery, and the bond between friends (even if that friend is a ghost...).

©2018 Victoria Schwab (P)2018 Scholastic Inc.

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Notations

Global

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    3
  • 4 étoiles
    2
  • 3 étoiles
    3
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Interprétation

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    5
  • 4 étoiles
    2
  • 3 étoiles
    1
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    3
  • 4 étoiles
    2
  • 3 étoiles
    2
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0

Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars

Super expérience

Ce livre est un super livre jeunesse c'était une super expérience j'ai passé un bon moment

Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour R. Havens
  • R. Havens
  • 07/10/2018

Beautiful YA offering from Victoria Schwab

Great story and narration. Schwab's storytelling has never disappointed me, and this YA book is no exception. Since it is YA rather than some of her adult offerings, some who come to this book from her others may be a little surprised at the lighter tone and more straightforward storytelling. However, she doesn't condescend to her audience and offers a rich, interesting story with great characters (where Schwab shines brightest) and a compelling story line. The narrator does the story justice, as well, which is important to a well-executed audiobook!

5 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Jeffrey B (Pool) Nattania
  • Jeffrey B (Pool) Nattania
  • 29/09/2018

Intended for a Younger Crowd

I live anything the V Schuab puts out. I even found this entertaining; however, it is intended for a younger crowd. I would say 5th grade and up. kinda mysterious, kinda spooky, but not the typical dark, gothic, bloody, action packed Schuab that I love!!

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour angela jennings
  • angela jennings
  • 15/12/2018

very good story...cant wait for more

This was so good. A very friendly and light read about a girl who can see ghosts and has a best friend who actually is one. A little predictable but none the less good. I enjoyed her adventured and the story of her parents being ghost hunters.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Abbey
  • Abbey
  • 24/09/2018

Great listen

Good book, very middle grade appropriate with some good scary parts for kids. Have to say I hated how the mom was read and if she had a big part it might have ruined it for me. But since her part was small I could easily overlook it.

Overall definitely worth it.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03/02/2020

Awesome

A good starting and the villain is so good!!and the story line is excellent!!
Great for ghost lovers!!!

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour EggY0lky
  • EggY0lky
  • 02/01/2020

A n Excellent Listen

First book of the year and a very good start to my goal of listening to more audio books!

I see reviews saying how it's intended for a younger crowd but listening to it instead of reading it myself really gave a different feel for me. It was read so well that I felt excited and scared and sometimes creeped a bit from scary scenes. It did not feel at all like a story that's meant for a younger crowd for me and I enjoyed every second of it. I honestly felt like I was 'watching' one of those anime I enjoyed watching back in high school.

The only negative I have for this audio book is how the narrator's voice for the males isn't that much distinct from each other. Cassidy's dad's voice and Jacob's voice were a lot similar. But! The narrator's voice for the females were really done well! I especially loved how she voiced Cassidy's mom because it really made her personality shine which made me really like the character a lot.
The narrator really did put effort into getting the voices of the characters distinction as much as she can which really made the experience so much better and I appreciate it a lot. She even gave them accents!

The narrator for this audio book has really set the bar for the kind of narrations I want for subsequent audio books I'll get in to. I look forward to listening to the sequel of this book and hopefully it's still by this same narrator.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour chelsey potter
  • chelsey potter
  • 20/11/2019

cute story

this story is quite adorable and the reader, I think does a pretty good job of giving the characters life. I'm quite excited to listen to the next one.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour 4getfulthoughts
  • 4getfulthoughts
  • 08/10/2019

Loved it!

Loved it! Can't wait to get started on the next book in the series.

Adding narrator to my list of favorites.

The book wasn't an "edge of your seat" type of story but it was interesting and held our interest. Listed with an 8 year old that loves reading but never sits still unless there's a book in her hands.

She sat through the entire reading with me completely engaged the entire time.

Highly recommend if you enjoy ghost stories. ♡

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour An
  • An
  • 06/10/2019

"The longer he stays, the stronger he'll get."

A girl who can see ghosts.
Her best friend IS a ghost.
And a city full of ghosts...

What kind of spooky adventures awaits them?

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Arlie111
  • Arlie111
  • 13/09/2019

Love the Premise

great story abd the premise of the book makes it possible to develope other stories and books. I really enjoyed it!