Votre titre Audible gratuit

America: Empire of Liberty

The Complete BBC Radio 4 Series
Lu par : David Reynolds
Durée : 20 h et 34 min

Prix : 32,72 €

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.


David Reynolds' major BBC Radio 4 series explores the origins of the contemporary Untied States from its beginnings to the present day.

This epic narrative tells America's story through the voices of those who lived it - presidents and farmers, mothers and children, settlers and soldiers, slaves and Indians. The series celebrates the country's achievements but also examines its paradoxes by investigating three abiding themes of American life: empire, liberty and faith.

Empire of Liberty: from the arrival of Native Americans from Asia to the slave trade and the forced relocation of the Indians, the first series describes how the United States expanded to cover a whole continent, laying the foundations of a superpower - if the country could remain united.

Power & Progress: the second series depicts the tragedy and heroism of the Civil War (1861-65), which finally ended slavery - though not racial discrimination - and the dynamism of the reunited nation as it grew into an industrial giant. America's role in the Second World War is also examined.

Empire & Evil: the final series chronicles America's long struggle with the Soviet Union and examines the effect of that confrontation on American values, particularly in Vietnam and Watergate. The country's struggle to overcome its racist past led from the civil rights movement to its first black president. Also examined is the impact of Elvis on popular music, the battle over abortion and the story of the personal computer and the information revolution.

©2017 BBC Worldwide Ltd (P)2017 BBC Worldwide Ltd

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.