Votre titre Audible gratuit

The Forbidden Library: The Forbidden Library, Book 1

Lu par : Cassandra Morris
Série : The Forbidden Library, Volume 1
Durée : 8 h et 41 min
Catégories : Anglais - Kids, Ages 8-10

Prix : 27,20 €

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

Description

The Forbidden Library kicks off a brand new classic fantasy series perfect for fans of Coraline, Ink heart, and The Books of Elsewhere.

Alice always thought fairy tales had happy endings. That - along with everything else - changed the day she met her first fairy.

When Alice's father goes down in a shipwreck, she is sent to live with her uncle Geryon - an uncle she's never heard of and knows nothing about. He lives in an enormous manor with a massive library that is off-limits to Alice. But then she meets a talking cat. And even for a rule-follower, when a talking cat sneaks you into a forbidden library and introduces you to an arrogant boy who dares you to open a book, it's hard to resist. Especially if you're a reader to begin with. Soon Alice finds herself INSIDE the book, and the only way out is to defeat the creature imprisoned within.

It seems her uncle is more than he says he is. But then so is Alice.

©2014 Django Wexler (P)2015 Listening Library

Critiques

"Vaguely reminiscent of Harry Potter, Alice in Wonderland, and Inkheart all rolled into one, it’s good fun.... Working in the grand tradition of children’s fantasy, Wexler’s off to a promising start." (Kirkus Reviews)

"Wexler ingeniously creates an inventive world with interesting creatures and frightening situations." (School Library Journal)

"Fans of Harry Potter and Cornelia Funke's Inkheart (2003) will relish that the library houses magical books.... It's a joy to watch the dutiful Alice develop her innate curiosity and become a proactive, resourceful heroine, matching wits with snarky cats, dangerous beasts, and a certain smug boy. This is a charming, adventuresome fantasy from a promising new author." (Booklist)

Autres livres audio du même :

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour That Odd Mom
  • That Odd Mom
  • 08/10/2015

My Kids Loved It

They immediately asked why it had to end and were thrilled when I told them there is a second book.

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Rebbecca Zoglmann
  • Rebbecca Zoglmann
  • 09/11/2019

Exciting thriller

loved the book and illustrations. can't wait for next one. definitely worth reading. great book

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Fay P
  • Fay P
  • 22/06/2017

Forbidden Library #1

good story. It took me awhile to get thru it listening at night.
The narrator fid a nice job. I will get the next book.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Kristie Michalowski
  • Kristie Michalowski
  • 08/04/2015

Prisoners in library books!

Interesting creatures and "library books". Wish there was someone to trust for the main character...maybe there is and she just doesn't know it yet. Sure there should be a sequel.

1 sur 2 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour LUV LUV Angel kitty
  • LUV LUV Angel kitty
  • 06/08/2017

Confusing

it was ok but nothing very exciting happened. Some parts were good but most of it was crap.

1 sur 3 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.