Votre titre Audible gratuit

Tell Me Three Things

Lu par : Jorjeana Marie
Durée : 8 h et 54 min

Prix : 31,03 €

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

Description

What if the person you need the most is someone you've never met?

Julie Buxbaum mixes comedy and tragedy, love and loss, pain and elation, in her debut YA novel whose characters will come to feel like friends. Tell Me Three Things will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart.

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least that's what it feels like during her first week of junior year at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she's thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

It's been barely two years since her mother's death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son. In a leap of faith - or an act of complete desperation - Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can't help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

©2016 Julie Buxbaum (P)2016 Listening Library

Critiques

"Here are three things about this book: (1) It's sweet and funny and romantic; (2) the mystery at the heart of the story will keep you turning the pages; (3) I have a feeling you'll be very happy you read it." (Jennifer E. Smith, author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight)
"Three Things about this novel: (1) I loved it. (2) No, really, I LOVED it. (3) I wish I could tell every teen to read it. Buxbaum's book sounds, reads, breathes, worries, and soars like real adolescents do." (Jodi Picoult, New York Times best-selling author of Leaving Time and Off the Page)
"The desire to find out whether Jessie's real-life and virtual crushes are one and the same will keep [readers] turning the pages as quickly as possible." ( Publishers Weekly)
"Jorjeana Marie’s gift for embodying teens shines in this character-driven audiobook.... Depicting the seeming realness of this virtual relationship as well as the insecurity and anger beneath Jessie’s snarky front, Marie fully captures Jessie’s attempts to sort out past feelings, present truths, crushes, and real love." ( AudioFile)

Autres livres audio du même :

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • irishred507
  • 27/03/2017

Cute story

I listened to this book because it was on a list of unputdownable books, and that particular blogger said it was one of her favorite reads of the year. While I wouldn't at all consider it unputdownable or anything close to a favorite, it was a cute and sweet story. It's definitely a book for high schoolers and is entirely written from that perspective, but it had enough insightful moments and meaningful or emotional scenes that kept me interested (I'm 37). The narrator, however, was annoying for various reasons. A lot of the time it sounded like she had a very stuffy nose. The rest of the time she pronounced every single word that has a "g" in the middle of it- like English, dangle, or finger- strangely and it's those types of things that grate on me throughout a book. Why is it so hard for narrators to pronounce words, especially common ones, correctly? I run into this all the time with audiobook narrators and I guess it's my pet peeve.

7 sur 7 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Karole Schoepf
  • 29/04/2016

Good book, enjoyed the narrator.

They say you spend your whole life getting over High School. This novel was a "crossover " , written from a teen girl perspective, but your able to get a lot out of the book as an adult. I always say, if you can get 1 life changing experience from the book you read it's worth it. This book was worth listening to.

3 sur 3 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • smith182
  • 30/08/2018

Too many references to sex

I liked the story ok but why does YA have so many sexual references? I wish this book didn’t make sex for 16 year old seems so perfect and normal. I wouldn’t let my 13 year old read this book.

2 sur 2 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • whoa!
  • 03/05/2017

Nice

It was definitely aimed towards teens, but I was still able to enjoy it. The main question is, who is SN? There's a lot of twist and misdirections. It's a good book.

2 sur 2 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amber Rae
  • 10/09/2016

Loved the Love Story Part

What did you love best about Tell Me Three Things?

I love the friend, the outlet, and the realness provided by Somebody Nobody. It was a little annoying in the beginning when they were emailing back and forth, with the combination of the email addresses and subject lines sometimes being longer than the email content. It is a quite bit predictable, but there's a few curves thrown in to make it more interesting at the end. This is not only a good book for someone who has lost someone. It is also a good book for anyone who has moved across the country and had to start over. Overall, I really loved this book and am looking forward to reading more from this author in the future.

2 sur 2 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Caity K
  • 13/03/2017

Beautifully written, touching.

I loved this story. It's beautifully written and full of heart. Completely gripping until the last sentence.

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Deya
  • 28/01/2017

THE BEST AUDIO BOOK IN HERE

A very touching story yet still giving you butterflies! no words can implied the joy of the ending!

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Brittany
  • 01/09/2016

Great Potential Turned Predictable YA

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

Perhaps this is better read than listened to. The text and email sections of the book which are pretty important to the plot, are hard and annoying to listen to. The narrator struggled to create unique characters with her voice and inflection and I found them all running together.

Would you ever listen to anything by Julie Buxbaum again?

As far as the story went, I called the ending as soon as we meet the characters. Every turn was easy to spot three chapters before. I enjoyed the writing style and perhaps if I wasn't so well read it would have been more enjoyable.

Would you be willing to try another one of Jorjeana Marie’s performances?

I would not purchase an audiobook with this narrator again. She had difficulty annunciating and her separation of characters was almost non existent.

You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

The potential for this novel was great. Wonderful story setup and bones and interesting characters to work with. Nothing was fleshed out enough though and so much more could have happened. The author spent too much time in the predictable "mystery" than exploring the fascinating characters she had invented.

Any additional comments?

I would recommend this to a truly young reader or something who doesn't read often. The biggest downside for me was the predictability that dragged on. For a less experienced YA reader it might not be as obvious and they can enjoy the story more.

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • sam
  • 07/05/2019

Great Read!!!

I was very impressed with this book! I absolutely LOVED it and even though I didn’t want it to end, I couldn’t wait to finish it!

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lori M. Bell
  • 20/04/2019

Woah

amazing. downright amazing. the best book i’ve listened to in a few months. loved it.