Votre titre Audible gratuit

We Have No Idea

A Guide to the Unknown Universe
Lu par : Daniel Whiteson
Durée : 9 h et 2 min
Prix : 20,44 €
9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

Description

'This witty book reveals the humbling vastness of our ignorance about the universe, along with charming insights into what we actually do understand.' (Carlo Rovelli, author of Seven Brief Lessons on Physics and Reality Is Not What It Seems)

Many books explain what we know about the universe. This one, from the hugely popular PhD Comics (50 million readers since 2008), tackles all the weird stuff we haven't figured out yet.

In our small corner of the universe, we know how some matter behaves most of the time and what even less of it looks like, and we have some good guesses about where it all came from. But we really have no clue what's going on.

In fact we don't know what about 95 percent of the universe is made of. So what happens when a cartoonist and a physicist walk into this strange, mostly unknown universe? Jorge Cham and Daniel Whiteson gleefully explore the biggest unknowns, why these things are still mysteries, and what a lot of smart people are doing to figure out the answers (or at least ask the right questions). While they're at it, they helpfully demystify many complicated things we do know about, from quarks and neutrinos to gravitational waves and exploding black holes.

With equal doses of humour and delight, they invite us to see the universe as a vast expanse of mostly uncharted territory that's still ours to explore. This is a book for fans of Brian Cox and What If.

©2017 Daniel Whiteson (P)2017 Penguin Random House Audio

Autres livres audio du même :

Narrateur

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • andres
  • 11/02/2018

Fantastic

This audiobook was all i needed to get obscessed with reading and Audible.

I had never been a big fan of books or audiobooks. it seems i had yet to find what i was into. This genre is exactly the kind of read thats gonna hook me up immediatly. i am glad i found this one, it opened up a whole new interesst in my life that i will explore as much as my monthly budget allows.