Votre titre Audible gratuit

The Stolen Girls

Detective Lottie Parker, Book 2
Lu par : Michele Moran
Série : Detective Lottie Parker, Volume 2
Durée : 12 h et 27 min
Prix : 24,71 €
9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

Description

The young woman standing on Lottie's step was a stranger. She was clutching the hand of a young boy. "Help me," she said to Lottie. "Please help me."

One Monday morning, the body of a young pregnant woman is found. The same day, a mother and her son visit the house of Detective Lottie Parker, begging for help to find a lost friend.

Could this be the same girl?

When a second victim is discovered by the same man, with the murder bearing all the same hallmarks as the first, Lottie needs to work fast to discover how else the two were linked. Then two more girls go missing.

Detective Lottie Parker is a woman on the edge, haunted by her tragic past and struggling to keep her family together through difficult times. Can she fight her own demons and catch the killer before he claims another victim?

The Stolen Girls is a gripping thriller that will leave you breathless. Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Karin Slaughter, and Robert Dugoni.

©2017 Patricia Gibney (P)2017 Bookouture

Autres livres audio du même :

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Bexdvm
  • 25/07/2017

Another chilling novel

A suspenseful take with many twists and turns. There is investigation of horrific murders of young women found in town construction sites.
Lottie has just returned to work and her family is still dealing with the post traumatic stress from book one. One character Andre is a young man from Kosovo who witnessed and experienced firsthand unimaginable war crimes. He keeps finding the bodies of women who were stolen for the sex trade. The victims also had a kidney surgically removed presumably to be sold on the black market for organ transplants.
We learn more about her husband Adam who was involved in peace keeping missions in Kosovo before he died of cancer. And we experience some of the heartache her children are having after the events of book one.
Boyd's not yet ex Jackie has returned to town with her surly criminal boyfriend. It's complicated...and the narrator is amazing.

4 sur 4 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • green ice cream garden
  • 22/11/2017

Quickly becoming a fave series

First the negative. The narrator is SLOW, but on 1.25 works great. Also, I'm not sure how tired I am with cases (not just in this series but in others) involving the lead's family/friend/lover but I'm close to being over it. Why can't a lead just have family/friends/lovers that just exist and not be haunted by the plot line.

That said I really like Lottie Parker and her gang. It's filled with suspense, complicated relationships, police procedural, and action - I say it's a perfect mix. I can't wait to read the next one.

6 sur 7 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • MCubed
  • 20/08/2017

Great Story concept... bad execution

I like this series, and the dynamics of these characters. but i have a couple areas that really had me irritated while listening to this second book:
1. while we may say this depicts real life scenarios of troubled home life....i can't help but think; I know you need money, but seriously, your home is all but destroyed, all 3 children are truly messed up (psychologically)... how in the world can you possibly be a detective saving others lives while your own is SO MESSED UP. not just a little, but WAY OVER THE TOP. AND SHE'S hooked on meds herself. what human being could truly withstand her story, loss of spouse, everything from book one that messed up her kids, she's a recovering alcoholic on meds. I would seriously bench her to a desk job until she got herself squared away. it's not safe for any of them? 2. for them being detectives and studying clues, I knew much of what was coming...and found myself talking back to the book saying saying "seriously... you are going there, saying that, overlooking that...wth? wake up" going back to point #1... she's way too distracted for her job. Detrimentally so. have the character go on medical leave for a year, her her family and head back in the game, clearly 4 months did nothing for any of them?
3. maybe it's just me, but the relationship with Boyd seems good for her, though she's the boss or they are colleauges, so they shouldn't be involved...but i don't like how she's always telling him to F....-off! in a serious tone or manner. when he's telling her something she doesn't like. That's not playing, flirting or hard to get... that's just disrespectful to a human being.
overall, not a bad story, but seriously, the author needs to help her characters out a little. it's hard to worry about the facts of the case, when you're thinking about the main character just needing a major overhaul in her OWN life, but too busy trying to Save the world one lost child at a time OTHER THAN HER OWN. Why don't you start there Lottie!

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sarah xXXXXx
  • 21/07/2017

Loved book ll

I enjoyed the storyline as well as the narrator. I especially like that the author keeps every one on the same page. No pun intended. There isn't a single twist in the story that isn't explained. I enjoyed it very much.

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Carlene Roche
  • 21/08/2017

she's a terrible mother!

I like the plot lines of these books but she's an awful person and treats people badly. it almost makes it intolerable to listen to

3 sur 5 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Annj7
  • 22/05/2019

Dumb heroine

The protagonist was as dense and uncaring as a rock. What a waste of a decent storyline.

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • JMB
  • 01/04/2019

I tried the first two

I listened to the first two books in this series and I really wanted to like them, but I find the main character just completely unlikable, which makes it hard to read (or listen to) the series. She's constantly criticizing everyone around her and then can't take any criticism herself. She makes blatant mistakes in her job and then jumps down everyone else's throats for perceived mistakes (her team, her mother, her children). It makes the books hard to get through. I almost just want to skip over all of her dialogue, which defeats the purpose of a main character when the book is told from her perspective a lot of the time. The stories themselves aren't bad and I kind of think I would even like the books if they were told from the perspective of one of the other members on the detective team.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sonja
  • 20/02/2019

Great book!

I would highly recommend this book. I can’t wait to start the next book in the series.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Gene
  • 04/01/2019

Not a bad follow up

This was a good story line. It was nice to get to know the main characters a little deeper. there were a few plot twists that I enjoyed. I found myself wondering a few times just how much more tragedy could this main character's family endure! Overall I am not disappointed with the purchase.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • rachel hand
  • 17/12/2018

Bravo!

A gripping story and an awesome performance! I had the hardest time turning it off! Starting the 3rd book right away!

Trier par :
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Eva
  • 28/01/2018

wow. another awesome story

thank you for this great thriller. the reader did an awesome job. I couldn't stop listening.

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.