Votre titre Audible gratuit

The Lost Child

Lu par : Michele Moran
Série : Detective Lottie Parker, Volume 3
Durée : 12 h et 33 min
Prix : 23,93 €
9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

Description

They placed me in here and threw away the key. I look down at the gown they've put on me. I want my own clothes. I don't know how long I've been here.

An elderly woman is found murdered in her own home, and Detective Lottie Parker and her partner Detective Boyd are called in to investigate. When they discover that the victim's daughter is missing as well, they start to fear for the safety of the whole family....

Two days later, as a nearby house is set on fire, and with the body count rising, Lottie and her team begin to unpick a web of secrets and lies, as the murders seem to link back to a case investigated by Lottie's father before he took his own life.

With little knowledge of what really happened to her father, Lottie knows this is a case that could give her some answers. But how much does she want to know? And how far is Lottie prepared to dig to uncover the truth?

The Lost Child is a thrilling pause-resister from the best-selling author of The Missing Ones and The Stolen Girls that will have you guessing right to the very last minute. Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Angela Marsons, and Robert Dugoni.

©2017 Patricia Gibney (P)2017 Bookouture

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 21/11/2017

A great engaging tale!

Believable characters with enough interesting twists to keep me guessing from beginning to end ... very enjoyable :)

3 sur 3 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • green ice cream garden
  • 22/01/2018

Please make it a movie

I would love to see this turned into film. I've enjoyed the other two books in the series but this one had me on the edge of my seat. It's complicated and surprising. Most of all it's left me urgently craving the next installment in Lottie Parker's life. Can be read as a stand alone. Highly recommend to those who love crime fiction.

2 sur 2 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Carolhxx
  • 23/04/2018

Incomplete Story

This story was not as bad as the last. At least Lottie Parker seemed a bit more intelligent and had better detecting skills. The most annoying thing about this book, however, is that it left a number of storylines unfinished. I waited to listen to the next book in the series and nothing was even mentioned about those unfinished threads. Also, Ms Parker really does need to get a better grip on her life. Her character is a bit tiresome.

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lynne B. Wiley
  • 02/12/2017

IT'S A SMART CHILD THAT KNOWS HIS OWN FATHER

What made the experience of listening to The Lost Child the most enjoyable?

The characters are very deceiving. Just when you think you've got it, another twist comes along.

Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

yes. Just when you think you've got it, another twist comes along.

Which scene was your favorite?

The last chapter, when it all falls into place.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Without giving it away, Lottie's eventual confrontation with her mother, Rose.

Any additional comments?

Gibney is a great writer and the narrator is very talented.

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • MCubed
  • 28/02/2018

How can a detective be so dumb?

Narrator - great, Story - average, but character development is pretty weak...really dumb at times! I found myself saying, really, you NEVER learn? Even Boyd, who's kind & compassionate, very aware... seriously, he leaves her standing outside her driveway at midnight, after saying "be careful" and drives off without waiting to see if she gets inside? which of course leaves her available to be whacked over the head and kidnapped.
You're worried about your best friend, who then calls you....and you can't be bothered to return her call for days?
And I'm curious, just how many life crises the author thinks one character can suffer before she completely splinters and becomes mental? Or is that what were leading up to, the perfect psycho?
Dad was killed, husband died, herself a druggy, one kid hurts herself, one became a teen mom, one was kidnapped and all three in therapy, and mom ain't a stellar support system. Geesh, give your character a break for a change.

4 sur 6 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 27/02/2018

Bad in so many ways

Ridiculous story. I found myself disliking the main character and thinking her completely lacking in detecting ability.

3 sur 5 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Tamara Girodie
  • 15/04/2019

The most captivating Lottie Parker yet!

I can honestly say I did not see the end coming, but it was welcome and kept the drama building. Excellent narration as per usual and this story will definitely stand out as a gem among the others!

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04/02/2019

Kept me at the edge of my seat

I loved it! I was anxious to know what was next. Didn't want to stop listening. Awesome!

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 26/11/2018

characters

a lot of characters to keep track of. tiresome at times. hope lottie gets a grip.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Deanne
  • 12/11/2018

exceptional story

I am totally captivated by the story of Lottie Parker. Everything that she has gone through in her life with her childre, being a widow, a detective, is sometimes drunk, is the something that will move motivate any reader to continue the storyline.