Votre titre Audible gratuit

The Saturday Night Ghost Club

A Novel
Lu par : Corey Brill
Durée : 5 h et 41 min

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

A irresistible and bittersweet coming-of-age story in the vein of Stranger Things and Stand by Me about a group of misfit kids who spend an unforgettable summer investigating local ghost stories and urban legends

"A celebration of the secret lives of children, both their wonders and their horrors . . . Immensely enjoyable, piercingly clever, and satisfyingly soulful." (Jason Heller, NPR) 

Growing up in 1980s Niagara Falls - a seedy but magical, slightly haunted place - Jake Baker spends most of his time with his uncle Calvin, a kind but eccentric enthusiast of occult artifacts and conspiracy theories. The summer Jake turns 12, he befriends a pair of siblings new to town, and so Calvin decides to initiate them all into the "Saturday Night Ghost Club." But as the summer goes on, what begins as a seemingly light-hearted project may ultimately uncover more than any of its members had imagined. 

With the alternating warmth and sadness of the best coming-of-age stories, The Saturday Night Ghost Club is a note-perfect novel that poignantly examines the haunting mutability of memory and storytelling, as well as the experiences that form the people we become, and establishes Craig Davidson as a remarkable literary talent.

©2019 Craig Davidson (P)2019 Penguin Audio

Commentaires

"Davidson makes beautifully clear how the ghoulish tales we feared when we were young can't compare to the blood-bathed teeth we eventually encounter as adults. The Saturday Night Ghost Club is a tale for those who like their Stranger Things spiked, Stand by Me charred, and who are battered enough yet still brave enough to revisit that moment when made-up horrors finally come to root in a world beyond invention. A novel that both stabs and breaks your heart." (Mark Z. Danielewski, best-selling author of House of Leaves)

"The Saturday Night Ghost Club is not only creepy and chills-down-your-spine fun, it's also incredibly poignant and heartwarming. This is a tender coming-of-age story that isn't afraid to face the darkness in the world or meditate on the power of memory and the mysteries of the human brain. Craig Davidson is such a nimble storyteller and his latest novel is proof of his remarkable gift." (Edan Lepucki, New York Times best-selling author of California and Woman No. 17)

"A moving, delightful, thrillingly unexpected coming-of-age story about the irresistible collision of childhood's dark wonders and adulthood's haunting mysteries." (Elan Mastai, author of All Our Wrong Todays)

Autres livres audio du même :

Ce que les auditeurs disent de The Saturday Night Ghost Club

Notations

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour John C
  • John C
  • 01/06/2020

Not about the paranormal.

Davidson has a great gift with words. I only wish more traditional ghosts would have appeared in the book.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Crystal  Sanchez
  • Crystal Sanchez
  • 18/10/2019

Why do so many people like this?!

I read this book because it was on the list for my book group and the rating was so high. I don't know why. I thought it was pointless. I am not sure if it's because the audio reminded me of the voice of the rat from Charlotte's Web the cartoon. I wanted to quit it so many times, that even though it was only five hours long, it took me days to finish it. The only character I thought was kinda interesting was Dove and that was towards the last chapter. The ending was lame. I guess some will say it has some deep meaning but I was just not impressed.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 12/06/2020

Good book

Fun and sad and lovely. I enjoyed this book and would recommend it for anyone

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Gillian Francoeur
  • Gillian Francoeur
  • 24/09/2019

everything and more

loved it, read In a day! the narrator honestly made the book for me. I will read again shortly! perfect for spooky season

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Alexander Graham
  • Alexander Graham
  • 31/08/2019

Charming, subdued

This turned out to be a pleasent story with some mild intensity and a bit of a sad twist. Not especially scary if you're looking for that sort of thing, but more of a coming-of-age book with some beautiful language peppered throughout. I'd say it's worth spending a credit, regardless of how short it really is.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Vincent
  • Vincent
  • 22/07/2019

great story and performance!

Corey Brill never ceases to amaze me with his performances. Craig Davidson aka Nick Cutter is brilliant in this space and genre, I would recommend this duo very highly!