Votre titre Audible gratuit

The Occupation

Lu par : Stevie Zimmerman
Durée : 9 h et 13 min

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

A pause-resisting historical saga that will pull at your heartstrings! For fans of Freda Lightfoot, Pam Jenoff, Sebastian Faulks, and Kate Atkinson.

One woman’s secret war against the Nazis. One man’s war against himself.

1940, Jersey. When Nazi forces occupy Jersey in the English Channel Islands, Céline Huber, who is married to a German, must decide where her loyalty lies. Love for her island and fear for her Jewish friend Rachel soon propel her into a dangerous double life.

Meanwhile, Céline’s husband Fred is conscripted into the Wehrmacht in occupied France. Horrified by Nazi acts of atrocity and torture, he soon becomes a double agent for the French Resistance. But when things go wrong, and his Nazi masters discover his true allegiance, he finds he has the whole of the German Army on his tail.

How far will Céline go for her best friend? Will Fred make his way home to her? Or, will their lives be changed forever by the brutality of war?

The Occupation is a moving war and military saga following the separate stories of a young man and woman through the years of the Second World War as they fight to survive.

©2019 Sapere Books (P)2020 Deborah Swift

Ce que les auditeurs disent de The Occupation

Notations

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Jasper Van Wyk
  • Jasper Van Wyk
  • 17/10/2020

Fantastic

I absolutely loved this book. The characters where so fascinating and easy to become attached to. A must listen.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Carolyn Covello
  • Carolyn Covello
  • 03/10/2020

San Ramon Joe recommends

Worth the listen. Interesting, intriguing, captivating, historical novel, which is based on true events though a work of fiction.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour paula wright
  • paula wright
  • 24/08/2020

What a great book

This audio book kept my interest from beginning to the end Ms Swift even made for interesting listening in a Nazi basic training camp. It moved along quickly not dwelling on boring details. I loved her main characters. She showed where blind allegiance led to death and destruction. Her book had a very interesting story to tell but some of the details of mans cruelty to man was hard to bear. One of the best books ive listened to all of 2020. Will read more from ms. Swift

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Barbi
  • Barbi
  • 22/07/2020

Good read with many heros

Good read. Not a lot of intellectual depth. I love a good hero. This book had many. Thank you for the opportunity to read "I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.”

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Shoppermom
  • Shoppermom
  • 19/07/2020

Harsh story of a brutal time

Do not start this book expecting a gentle WWII story. Horrible things happened during the war, and horrible things happen to the characters in this book. But Ms. Swift does an exemplary job of detailing the ins and outs of daily life during the German occupation of the Jersey Islands and explores the relatively little touched-upon perspective of a German citizen forced to return from abroad to serve the Reich. My attention was riveted throughout, though I cannot say I "enjoyed" the book. Now that I've finished and gone on to other stories, I find my thoughts returning to Céline, Fred, and Rachel. I requested and was gifted a complimentary copy of this audiobook from the author and am very grateful to have experienced The Occupation. I recommend it heartily, but be aware that it will not be a light, pleasant read or listen.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour KateB
  • KateB
  • 05/07/2020

This book suck me in

I’ve just finished listening to this heartbreaking story and I can’t get it out of my mind. It pulled me in with Stevie Zimmerman poignant narration. I had read a lot of books about WW 2 but never did I consider the fate of Jersey. The plot and characters were masterfully developed, inner thoughts and struggles of Celine, Fred, Rachel gave their characters more depth, enhanced by the narrator‘a talent, I especially enjoyed her rendition of French and German accents. The book’s realistic description of life in occupied countries and complex characters facing very difficult decisions made me feel very strong emotional connection to them. Beautiful prose and flawless narration made me cry many times. Highly recommended.