Votre titre Audible gratuit

The Murder List

Lu par : Angela Dawe
Durée : 11 h et 13 min

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

Now a Mary Higgins Clark Award Nominee!

Anthony Awards - Nominee, 2020

The Murder List is a new stand-alone suspense novel in the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and B. A. Paris from award-winning author and reporter Hank Phillippi Ryan.

"An exhilarating thrill ride that keeps you turning pages...Ryan deftly delivers a denouement as shocking as it is satisfying." (Liv Constantine, best-selling author of The Last Mrs. Parrish and The Last Time I Saw You)

Law student Rachel North will tell you, without hesitation, what she knows to be true. She's smart, she’s a hard worker, she does the right thing, she’s successfully married to a faithful and devoted husband, a lion of Boston's defense bar, and her internship with the Boston DA's office is her ticket to a successful future.

Problem is she’s wrong. And in this cat-and-mouse game - the battle for justice becomes a battle for survival.

©2019 Hank Phillippi Ryan (P)2019 Macmillan Audio

Ce que les auditeurs disent de The Murder List

Notations

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour shelley
  • shelley
  • 24/08/2019

Why the low ratings?

As of this writing there are three ratings. One person rated this five stars and two people have rated it one star. I’m not sure why but I’m happy to say I am giving this book a five star review. The book begins slowly as the characters are developed. Once established the story picks up momentum about the half way point. It vacillates between past and present until the two collide. The publisher’s summary gives enough information that I don’t want to elaborate on the characters. The plot though is very interesting. This is a legal thriller not a court room drama. You’re really not sure who the murderer is until the end and then it’s a bit of a shock. The epilogue is rather weird but fitting. Angela Dawe does a great job narrating. I really enjoyed this book and HIGHLY RECOMMEND it. If you found this review helpful please indicate so. Thank You.

42 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour MMcQ
  • MMcQ
  • 04/09/2019

Ryan's best book yet

Wowie wow wow! This was a GREAT thriller. So many triangles. So many twists and turns. Nearly every chapter ended with a new shocker. I couldn't put it down. My only question about the feasibility of this novel's premise is: Would a public prosecutor turn private detective on the cases she works on? Would she show up at the crime scene with the police or before the police? Would she write her own search warrants and interview subjects on her own in their homes? I wouldn't have thought so, but this one definitely does. Best of all, Ryan keeps it all clean. No sex. No bad language. Lots of excitement! Angela Dawe did a great job with all of the characters, and although the timeline flips around a bit, her narration kept me sharp to the time.

7 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour J. Brooks
  • J. Brooks
  • 02/06/2020

Writing and narration - good, storyline not for me

I'm conflicted about this audiobook. The narration was good and the technical aspects of the writing were good, but I didn't connect with any of the characters, in fact I didn't like them. And, I really didn't like the ending. The author created subplots that I thought were pertinent to the story and they were left dangling. I think, in retrospect, they were used just to throw the reader off-kilter.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour JOHN
  • JOHN
  • 12/05/2020

Exercise in manipulation

The main characters in this story are constantly pulling the reader in opposing directions. They guide you and confuse you. It’s a rollercoaster who’s end comes slamming you out of your seat. Enjoy the ride!

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour PatFPag
  • PatFPag
  • 06/09/2020

Excellent Plot If You Stick With It

The plot and ending are fabulous! You can see why the mystery coming together as it does has resulted in Ryan's multiple award nominations. And Ryan always writes about Boston elegantly. The narrator did a good job, especially as harsh and ambitious DA Martha Gardener. I could not give this 5 stars though, because I walked away from this in the middle for a month. I read another book before retuning. I almost missed the stellar second half, because the characters felt a little generic. I don't mind an unlikable character, but I felt like I couldn't feel the core of any of them. I can now see the challengers the plot created for characterization, and damn do you know them in the end. So stick with it.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Amanda Gerber
  • Amanda Gerber
  • 05/09/2020

Very good

Well written. A Senator assistance her aid was murdered while she is at jury duty. she meets the man of her dreams who is a lawyer.

  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Empress Karen
  • Empress Karen
  • 29/07/2020

Venomous Attitude

I love narrator Ms Dawe and she does a superb job on this story. I do use the great 1.2 speed. Give it a try. Shelly loved this book so l took a chance on the author. Well crafted story and a complete surprise ending but the cadence of the story was not one l want to re listen and l certainly did not want to listen straight through, hence my title. Not a good sign. From this story, l can tell you, l would not want to be judged by my so called peers! Maybe the timing of this listen 7-25-2020, year of Covid 19 self imposed lockdown, is my issue. I find sometimes a second listen makes some improvement for the narrator but if l don’t like the author style, nothing compiles me to even try a second listen! I am not compiled to seek more of this author’s work unless narrated by ms Dawe. Since she does an excellent job on this story , l will give this story a 2nd chance in a happier time. If you are a fan of this author, then this is an excellent crafted story. Author developers the characters over a period of flashbacks. So if your patience likes that type of development, this is excellent! Were my comments of of help?

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Carol
  • Carol
  • 14/05/2020

Whaaaat?

What a surprise! I loved the ending. Very different. I can normally guess twists and turns. Not this time.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour John@McNerney.COM
  • John@McNerney.COM
  • 08/02/2020

Never saw it coming.

I like murder mysteries, but I'm rarely fooled. This one, though, had me sure I had the right murderer... until I didn't! ilIf you like to be surprised you will like this one. Even so, looking back, I could have figured it out. The clues were all there.

  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 15/09/2019

Such a disappointing listen

I really struggled to find ANYTHING redeeming about this book. Every single character is miserable and unlikeable. The three main characters, The DA, The Defense Attorney and The law student were just horrible people and promulgates the stereotype that lawyers are bad people. Without giving away the story, the ending was totally unbelievable. It is revealed as an epilogue and literally contradicts EVERYTHING we know from the rest of the book. I couldn't be more disappointed in a novel

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile