Votre titre Audible gratuit

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Vous êtes membre Amazon Prime ?

Bénéficiez automatiquement de 2 livres audio offerts.
Bonne écoute !

    Description

    For fans of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart's Mysterious Benedict Society, here comes the final book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood.

    Unhappy Penelope Lumley is trapped in unhappy Plinkst! Even the beets for which Plinkst is inexplicably famous fail to grow in this utterly miserable Russian village. Penelope anxiously counts the days and wonders how she will ever get back to England in time to save all the Ashtons - who, she now knows, include herself and the Incorrigible children, although their precise location on the family tree is still a mystery - from their accursèd fate.

    Her daring scheme to escape sends her on a wildly unexpected journey. But time is running out, and the not-really-dead Edward Ashton is still on the loose. His mad obsession with the wolfish curse on the Ashtons puts Penelope and the Incorrigibles in dire peril. As Penelope fights her way back to her beloved pupils, the three brave Incorrigibles endure their gloomy new tutor and worriedly prepare for the arrival of Lady Constance’s baby. Little do they know the danger they’re in!

    In this action-packed conclusion to the acclaimed series, mysteries are solved and long-lost answers are found. Only one question remains: Will Penelope and the Incorrigibles find a way to undo the family curse in time, or will the next full moon be their last?

    ©2018 Maryrose Wood (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

    Commentaires

    "Fiona Hardingham narrates the final Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place audiobook with exuberance, charm, and impeccable timing.... Hardingham deftly incorporates a wide range of accents and voices, including those of chilling villains, distracted fathers, and ridiculous ladies of leisure. Listeners will be completely engaged by her comedic timing, which adds piquancy to Wood's witty repartee and over-the-top puns. A thoroughly satisfying conclusion and delightful listen for all ages." (AudioFile)

    Ce que les auditeurs disent de The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book VI

    Notations

    Commentaires - Veuillez sélectionner les onglets ci-dessous pour changer la provenance des commentaires.

    Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
    Trier par :
    Trier par:
    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour megan
    • megan
    • 26/06/2018

    Excellent conclusion to a clever series!

    To start with the author's work... Maryrose Wood has come up with a very witty, clever, and fun series here! I have really loved every minute of getting to hear the story of the Incorrigible Children, Miss Lumley. There have been so many fun & funny twists and turns along the way, and this final book doesn't disappoint. I know this series is considered children's lit, but it's such a smart body of works that I (a 33 year old woman) loved it. These books would be loved by anyone from about 7 to 97! Kudos to Ms Wood.

    Now, that said, I move on to the narrator(s). I originally came to these books through the narrator of the first 5 books in the series, Katherine Kellgren, who is one of my all time absolute favorite narrators. Her works are PHENOMENAL! (Seriously, if you liked this series, check out the Bloody Jack series by L.A. Meyer, also narrated by Katherine Kellgren, it's awesome.) So, when I first started started listening to this book, I was like, "Wait a minute, this isn't Katherine Kellgren! Why would they replace her??" Then I googled it & found my answer. Katherine Kellgren died of cancer in January. 😢 (A real loss to recorded books of the future!) So, we get to listen to this last book with the narration of Fiona Hardingham instead. I say get to because she really did a great job with this book, especially having such big shoes to fill! Of course, some of the voices were a bit different & some words were pronounced slightly differently, but overall she did a great job of making it a relatively seamless transition between narrators. And, I will say that not only does Ms Hardingham's work stand up well next to Ms Kellgren's, but it's obvious that she is also a talent unto herself.

    Now, I think it's right back to the beginning for me so that I can relive the entire series in order again, now that I finally have the last book. And, I'll get to hear Katherine Kellgren's amazing voice again. ❤

    14 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Wayne
    • Wayne
    • 30/06/2018

    Great completion of a marvelous children's series!

    Katherine Kellgren, who narrated the first five novels in this series, died on January 10, 2018 before Book 6 was ready for audio production. Fiona Hardingham was selected to replace Kellgren with THE LONG-LOST HOME and she does a nice job, but no one can fully replace the best and most talented audiobook narrator ever.

    The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place series in written for children ages 8 to 10. I'm 75 years old and I have six grandchildren currently ages 8 to 19 with whom I have enjoyed my second childhood taking them to see age appropriate movies and reading/listening to the books they read. Since five of them are ages 13 to 19, I mostly listen to YA fiction they are currently reading these days, but my 9 year old granddaughter is interested in books for the 9 to 12 age range and we have enjoyed reading and discussing this series. The series is absolutely marvelous; I have enjoyed every minute of the 45 hours of the six novels combined. There is no doubt that I will continue to listen to children's books after my grandchildren age out of the age range.

    The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place is certainly one of my favorite series for children. I recommend it for people of all ages.

    12 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour JONATHAN
    • JONATHAN
    • 21/06/2018

    good ending to a great series

    This book was a satisfying conclusion to a really delightful series. Fiona Hardingham was a great narrator. She did an expert job of duplicating Katherine Kellgren's voices from the previous books. I felt like she carried over Maryrose Wood's tone from the previous books.

    3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour AmazonPrimeUser
    • AmazonPrimeUser
    • 10/04/2019

    So sad, previous narrator passed away

    Fantastic series, In the middle of book 6 right now, came here to post a review that the narrator of the first 5 books (Katherine Kellgren) was SO amazing. The new narrator is fine but I don't think anyone could have done as good a job as Ms. Kellgren. I started reading the other reviews that said she recently died and I literally have tears in my eyes right now. Apparently there's mention of this in the Acknowledgements, which I guess are at the end?
    Anyway, have been listening to this series in the car with my 8 year old while we drive to school in the morning and we both love all the books. Highly recommended!

    2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Salvatore Biondo
    • Salvatore Biondo
    • 22/06/2018

    THE BEST BOOK SERIES CLOSER I'VE EVER READ!!!

    This book is sooooo heartwarming and conclusive that i'm reading the whole series over again! It's so full of mystery and fun that it's ready to burst! Fiona Hardingham did a great job acting for Katie but NO ONE and I mean NO ONE could ever step into Katie's shoe's and act the story out the way she did.

    My thanks to every person that has put effort into making this master piece including Maryrose Wood and Fiona Hardingham

    2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Emmett Holmes
    • Emmett Holmes
    • 21/03/2019

    Amazing!

    Amazing story! And lovely narrator; the voices she used we're absolutely amazingly perfectly beautiful! 😜

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour boastinginweakness
    • boastinginweakness
    • 25/06/2018

    first performer much better

    we love this book! The series is fantastic. It is Well written, there's a heartwarming and moral story, and it inspires the imagination and in Deers the reader. However, the first woman who read the first five books was so tremendously better than the last performer. It was a great disappointment and really lowered our enjoyment of this last book do to the performer.

    4 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Epiphany Forbes
    • Epiphany Forbes
    • 01/10/2020

    The best book in the series!!!

    I'm glad I followed through with the complete series! The ending was well worth it!
    {10/01/2020 Full Moon}

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour CozyToes in Vermont
    • CozyToes in Vermont
    • 22/03/2020

    Where has Katherine Kellgren gone?

    This is a great book but the new narrator is so horrible it was hard for me to continue listening to the story.
    The new narrator doesn't pronounce any ones voice correctly and makes the story really hard to understand. I wish that the last book could have been narrated by someone who would be able to talk in the right tones and pronounce people's names correctly.

    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour matt westin
    • matt westin
    • 16/03/2020

    Good narrator, but not like Katherine Kellgren.

    Loved getting to the end of this book so that I could finally unravel the mysterious lives of the Incorrigibles! Wonderfully imaginative story line! Such a shame that Katherine Kellgren was unable to narrate this final book, but well worth the listen anyway.