Votre titre Audible gratuit

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Vous êtes membre Amazon Prime ?

Bénéficiez automatiquement de 2 livres audio offerts.
Bonne écoute !

    Description

    Everyone's invited...everyone's a suspect....

    For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, pause-resisting novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge...and murder and mayhem ensue.

    All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

    During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of 30-something friends from Oxford meets to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students 10 years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands - the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves. 

    They arrive on December 30, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

    Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

    The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

    Now, one of them is dead...and another of them did it.

    Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?

    ©2019 Lucy Foley (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

    Ce que les auditeurs disent de The Hunting Party

    Notations
    Global
    • 3.5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      1
    • 4 étoiles
      0
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      1
    • 1 étoile
      0
    Interprétation
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      2
    • 4 étoiles
      0
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      0
    • 1 étoile
      0
    Histoire
    • 3.5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      1
    • 4 étoiles
      0
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      1
    • 1 étoile
      0

    Commentaires - Veuillez sélectionner les onglets ci-dessous pour changer la provenance des commentaires.

    Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
    Trier par :
    Trier par:
    • Global
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      1 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Lucy
    • Lucy
    • 01/12/2019

    I bought this for 7 bucks; I wouldn't pay 8

    This is is a mash-up of just about every murder mystery/ not so psychological thriller you can think of, and not a very good one at that. There may be a cliche this author missed, but I can't think of it. And while that sometimes works, this time, it doesn't. I would have given it one star all the way, except I got kind of fascinated to see how far she could push this. Well, the answer is all the way. Secrets, serial killer on the loose, weather, isolation, weird foreigners, damaged characters, unreliable narrators, dark pasts. It's all in the soup - narrated in too many ridiculous accents by too many voices of characters who are mostly unbelievable and generally unlikable. There's a body found right up front, so the only relief is that you know one of them is going to die. Oh, and the Oxford stuff is waaay wrong. Don't waste the time, much less a credit on this one.

    52 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Utilisateur anonyme
    • Utilisateur anonyme
    • 16/02/2019

    Loved it!

    Never written a review before but felt compelled after listening to this one. I love a good mystery but feel that it's hard to find one I'm not critical of. That said, I loved this one. Interesting characters that reminded me of real people I have encountered. Good use of going back and forth in time. At the beginning of each chapter they clearly state how many days pre or post incident which I find more helpful than dates. Great narrators. I especially loved the setting... This is a great book to listen to in the winter with a hot cup of tea or coffee.

    50 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      3 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Jennifer
    • Jennifer
    • 12/10/2019

    Dull, Unoriginal, Uninspired

    If every member of the hunting party could have been killed off in the first few chapters, this would have been a more interesting book. (What unsympathetic, self indulgent, and one dimensional characters).The twist was just silly. Don’t waste your time or money.

    22 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      3 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour PDubya
    • PDubya
    • 03/03/2019

    Good but not Gripping

    for the most part I enjoyed the book - while overly long, the narrative managed to keep me interested with the changing POVs - overall it was a decent whodunit.

    22 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      2 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Jenny D.
    • Jenny D.
    • 15/03/2019

    Nothing new here

    It wasn't the worst book I've read, but it was boring. Though certainly in the vain of Ruth Ware and Tana French as others have said, but it just failed to grab me.

    It moved so slowly. I fell asleep at one point, woke up further along in the book and didn't bother to go back. I've still got 45 minutes left but I think I'll skip it.

    I didn't really feel anything about the characters, the story. Nothing new. Nothing interesting.

    Just blah.







    15 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour lorne puckett
    • lorne puckett
    • 19/02/2019

    In a Dark, Dark wood?

    Better story than A Dark Dark Wood but man, the similarities are lawsuit worthy. Kind of strange that it slipped through.

    29 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour SSIMM
    • SSIMM
    • 27/02/2019

    Good, but story has been done before

    This story is VERY similar to a book called “In a Dark, Dark Wood” from 2015. That turned me off a bit, that it wasn’t very original. In the beginning of the book you have lots of characters thrown at you with very little description. I started getting lost on who was who, so I rewound it and listened ti the first 5 or 6 chapters over again. Aside from that, the performance was very good and the story enjoyable. It’s got a little mystery, small amount of macabre and a bit of romance -so to speak. Very good.

    20 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      3 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Alisha
    • Alisha
    • 17/01/2021

    Does not portray women kindly

    Third book I've read from this author. They are good lazy afternoon entertainment, but I've now become well aware that there is always going to be a female character portrayed as a jealous stalker of another female character. It's a cliche and demeaning stereotype, and this will be my last book from this author.

    6 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Carole Pucci Goodwin
    • Carole Pucci Goodwin
    • 26/02/2019

    Suspense novel at its' best!

    I originally bought this novel because of the narrator Imogen Church and realized another narrator read Behind Her Eyes which is one of my FAVORITE stories! This was a great surprise. The storyline was great and the characters had depth. I would have liked more on Doug's back story and to see Heather and Doug continue their lodge journey. Maybe a second?? Read this book!

    13 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      3 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Some random person
    • Some random person
    • 16/02/2019

    Obvious and too long

    The plot was solid, that’s why the 3 stars, but otherwise it was disappointing

    I had the full plot figured out along with who done it within the first quarter of the book.

    It was also slow to unwind and I didn’t feel invested in any of the characters besides maybe Heather a bit. But not enough.

    13 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    Trier par :
    Trier par:
    • Global
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      3 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Inés Kucharz
    • Inés Kucharz
    • 01/01/2021

    A remake of the Guest List

    It seems like the author just took up Agatha Christie's idea of a limited circle of suspects once more (as in the Guest List). As much as I liked the Guest List, the idea gets old, and remakes are never like the originals. It may be tempting for an author to take up an idea that worked and just remodel it a little, but the discerning reader cannot be fooled (which is also true for some of Christie's novels). So if the Guest list deserves five stars, this book does not, - at least not for me.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Emily Myers
    • Emily Myers
    • 12/07/2021

    love the different speakers

    it's a gripping listen that holds your interest the whole way through. the different voice actors play out the dialogue very well

    • Global
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      2 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Dangermann Garden
    • Dangermann Garden
    • 12/04/2021

    Very standard

    if you want to binge a crime novel, go ahead but there's nothing at all that's remotely original or different.

    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Amazon Kunde
    • Amazon Kunde
    • 14/03/2021

    Very talented voice actors.

    I was blown away by the talent of the readers. They made it so entertaining

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Sophie S.
    • Sophie S.
    • 15/01/2021

    Very gripping. Can recommend

    If you liked the guest list, you’ll like this one even more. I found the characters more round and interesting and didn’t see the end coming. Also, the finale was way better than in Foleys last story as it wasn’t that one obvious villain who’d turned everyone against him. The right story for a lockdown in winter.