Votre titre Audible gratuit

The Girl in the Letter

Lu par : Jane McDowell
Durée : 10 h et 4 min

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

Description

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kathryn Hughes, this gripping novel of long-buried secrets will stay with you for ever.

A heartbreaking letter. A girl locked away. A mystery to be solved.

1956. When Ivy Jenkins falls pregnant she is sent in disgrace to St Margaret's, a dark, brooding house for unmarried mothers. Her baby is adopted against her will. Ivy will never leave.

Present day. Samantha Harper is a journalist desperate for a break. When she stumbles on a letter from the past, the contents shock and move her. The letter is from a young mother, begging to be rescued from St Margaret's. Before it is too late. 

Sam is pulled into the tragic story and discovers a spate of unexplained deaths surrounding the woman and her child. With St Margaret's set for demolition, Sam has only hours to piece together a 60-year-old mystery before the truth, which lies disturbingly close to home, is lost for ever....

Read her letter. Remember her story.... 

©2018 Emily Gunnis (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critiques

"A great book, truly hard to put down. Fast paced, brilliantly plotted and desperately sad at times - all hallmarks of a best seller." (Lesley Pearse)

"I was gripped by The Girl in the Letter. The story is compelling, twisty, heart-wrenching and thought-provoking. A novel that stays with you." (Sophie Kinsella) 

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 14/02/2019

Great twists and turns!

The only reason I marked the performance less than a five, was the echo talk to represent phone conversation. It was harder to hear those parts.

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Awin
  • 03/02/2019

Great story but smacking and swallowing constantly narration.

Loved the story but it became nails on a chalkboard listening to the constant smacking and loud swallowing from the narrator.

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CCL
  • 13/01/2019

The Girl in the Letter

Excellent. Listened in audio and could not put it down.

Looking forward to more books by the author.

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • TammyR
  • 11/01/2019

Engrossing and Heartbreaking Story

Captivating, intricately woven story performed beautifully by Jane McDowell. I didn't want to quit listening.

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • LoRe Bolling
  • 11/06/2019

Excellent

Another dark subject comes to light. The story is both suspenseful and compelling. Great work!

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 31/05/2019

Good Story

It was interesting from the start. several twist and turns.kept me guessing. I would reccomend

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • love to read
  • 26/05/2019

the girl in the letter

I loved this book, twist and turns throughout. It kept me guessing and the ending was not what I had expected!

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MiMi
  • 23/05/2019

Patience is a Virtue!

Be very patience with the introduction of multiple characters--you'll be able to follow who's who in no time! I thought this book was performed very well and the story was engaging! After each "listen," I found myself thinking about the characters and even dreaming about them! I highly recommend this book! I could see this being a Netflix Original movie, for sure!!!

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amanda Johnson
  • 09/05/2019

sad story but good one

this story was well written, performance was great relationship got a little intricate but it was a good read

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Leilani
  • 07/05/2019

Hard Pass..

soooo.. idk where to begin. this book was hard for me to listen to. the narrators voice was too monotone for me making it hard for me to pay attention. i had to listen to the first 4 mins at least 6 or 7 times. the last time i had to make my self pay attention.. like do nothing else but listen.. it was difficult. the story.. it was all over the place -the whole back and fourth with dates, was too confusing -the back and fourth with characters was way overboard! there were just too many people involved in the story and to keep track of who’s who just when you get it, they take you go back to an old character and then next chapter introduce a new character and then next chapter go back to someone 4 chapters ago and pick back up with what’s going on now.. it was all over the place. to be fair -maybe i should have ‘read’ the book -maybe it would have been better or easier to follow?? idk. even the epilogue was still going back and fourth -Really if you want.. you can skip reading the book and just jump to the epilogue and get the whole story there.. it literally summarizes the book in a somewhat better trail of events than the story itself. IMHO, if you have to recap or tell us more of the story or explain what happened -then you didn’t do a very good job writing the book. you could have found a way to give us those nuggets IN the story. This book was very disappointing. the book wasn’t horrible, but it wasn’t great either. maybe i could give it another try now that i know all the characters, it possibly would be easier to follow and enjoy vs trying to remember who’s who and what date i’m in.. who knows. i know that re-read won’t be anytime soon.. that i do know.

Trier par :
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Claudia Grund
  • 29/03/2019

Herzzerreißend

Spannend und herzzerreißend, habe es fast ununterbrochen durchgehört. Dunkle Einblicke in eine nicht so lange zurückliegende Vergangenheit.