Prix : 20,44 €

Détails de l'abonnement : Détails de l'abonnement :
  • Gratuit pendant 30 jours, avec un titre au choix offert.
  • 9,95 € par mois pour le livre audio de votre choix, quel que soit le prix.
  • Vous n'aimez pas un titre ? Échangez-le.
  • Résiliez à tout moment, vos livres audio vous appartiennent.
ou
Dans le panier

Description

Some flames burn too brightly to be extinguished.

This exceptional new thriller from Joe Hill is essential reading for 2016 and perfect for fans of Justin Cronin's The Passage.

In a world overtaken by a deadly and dramatic new virus, Harper is determined to live long enough to deliver her baby. But when all it takes is a spark to start a deadly blaze, she's going to need some help from the mysterious fireman.

©2016 Joe Hill (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers US

Autres livres audio du même :

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Notations

Global

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Thor Morten Smerud
  • 24/07/2017

Great listen

Long. Very long. But nice, strong and fulfilling. The narrator did an amazing job! Will definitely pick up more of Joe Hill!

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Lorrie
  • 16/07/2017

I wish I cared more ...

When I see any kind of plague, end of the world, type book I can't resist it ... I'm always fascinated by humanity at its most over-taxed. No more family or old friends to share memories, a day-to-day existence with no resemblance to what has been left behind, lack of food and the basic necessities -- so, for me, in a nutshell, it's the people who are left behind, inhabiting this unexpected and unwanted existence who are my conduit to this brave new world.
Alas, The Fireman just doesn't get there for me. Harper is adequate as a central focus, but she is lightweight, someone who things happen to but no ball of fire (excuse the expression) in getting things going herself. But it's The Fireman himself that really bothers me. Who cares about this guy! We're supposed to believe that he is, somehow, the face of the new existence -- Joe Hill even named the book after him. But I just don't get it. To me he's at best a rather underdeveloped secondary personality, one you don't really care about and who you'd be happy to leave behind after a few pages. A better title, if it described him, would be The Wannabe Fireman. This guy is all the way through the book, both in spirit and body, and at the end it's -- okay (?), can we go on now? But that's the end of the book!
On a positive note, the story itself was really well crafted and held together very well -- the basic premise of a plague defined by bursting into flames is unique and really, really scary, so no complaints about that.
I have read all of Hill's books and for the most part I really like his characters -- both fiery Vic in NOS4A2 and world-weary Jude in Heart Shaped Box were fabulous protagonists -- but this one, as epitomized by Harper, really lacks depth of character. Sorry, Joe ... this one just didn't float my boat.

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Erlend Svendsen
  • 06/05/2017

Unable it continue...

It starts out rather promising, but then it just fizzles out into nothing. I couldn't care less about any of the characters and went nothing happens it becomes a dreaful bore.

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Catalin Ciubotaru
  • 22/08/2016

Pretty interesting but....

The idea of the book is nice. However it had quite a few cheesy parts that I didn't really like.

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Mariechen
  • 08/07/2016

Disappointing

Would you be willing to try another book from Joe Hill? Why or why not?

Maybe. If his other books are this long, then no, because I felt this was one of the book's big problems. It was way too long and hammered on silly details. It could have been half the length and much better.

Would you be willing to try another one of Kate Mulgrew’s performances?

Unlikely. I found her impression of the male characters a little annoying.

What character would you cut from The Fireman?

Ugh, nobody really. For what it's worth, the all contribute to the plot. Some of them annoy me, but that's no reason to cut a character.

Any additional comments?

Way too many easter eggs and pop-culture references, it dates the book and was a little annoying. Unbelievable dialogue, and prolonged stretches of plot that are pretty boring. Nick was one of the biggest reasons I kept reading. I got tired of the book after book 1, which was pretty disappointing.

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
  • José Antonio
  • 05/07/2016

Disappointing

Joe Hill can definitely write, but the story is limp and lacking originality. How many post-apocalyptic tales do we need? Mixture of good Cormac McCarthy's The Road and bad post-apocalyptic The Walking Dead. Very good performance by Kate Mulgrew.

Trier par :
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Martina Arnold
  • 27/05/2016

Was ist, wenn ich anders bin?

Ich bin froh, dass es ihn gibt! Joe Hill steigt tatsächlich in die Fußstapfen seines großartigen Vaters Stephen King. Das betrifft zum einen seinen phantastischen Schreibstil und zum anderen seine unglaubliche Phantasie.
Hier muss ich allerdings etwas deutlicher werden. Joe Hill hat geklaut, was er nur klauen konnte, und zwar beim Papa. Das schreibt er auch direkt in sein Vorwort. Es blieb ihm nichts anderes übrig, man merkt es sofort.

Anfangs wollte ich das Buch beiseite legen. Ich fand die Idee nicht sonderlich originell und überhaupt hat mir alles gefehlt. Allerdings ist mir von Beginn an aufgefallen, dass das Buch sehr gut geschrieben ist. (Joe Hill sagt, er hat bei Joanne K. Rowling gelernt.)
Aber so ungefähr ab der siebenten Hörstunde habe ich das Buch geliebt. Meine Waldläufe wurden immer länger, um immer länger zuhören zu können. Und ab der Hälfte des Buches war es dann endgültig um mich geschehen.

Harper bekommt die Krankheit Draco incendia trychophyton, im Volksmund Dragonfire genannt. Menschen überall auf der Welt werden durch einen Ascheregen damit angesteckt und brennen innerlich. Manche verbrennen, mache lernen, mit der Krankheit umzugehen und sie für sich auszunutzen. Wieder andere bleiben gesund und machen es sich zum Ziel, die Kranken zu verfolgen und auszurotten.
Die infizierten fliehen vor der Welt, verstecken sich und bauen ihre eigene Gemeinschaft auf. Es dauert nicht lange und in diesem Mikrokosmos wiederholen sich die alten, wohlbekannten Machtstrukturen. Menschen streben danach, andere zu beherrschen, Kontrolle über Lebensmittel zu bekommen und anders denkende zu bestrafen. Harper ist schwanger. Ihr Ehemann, der Vater des Kindes, ist gesund verfolgt sie und den Fireman voller Hass. Für ihn und seine Kumpanen sind die von Dragonfire befallenen anders, abnormal. Und für die kleine Gemeinschaft der infizierten sind Harper, der Fireman und einige andere die unnormalen, weil sie sich dem neu gebildeten politischen System nicht beugen. Für Harper und ihre Truppe bleibt nur die erneute Flucht.

Diese Geschichten rund ums Ende der Welt kennen wir alle. 'zig Mal gelesen und noch öfter im Fernsehen oder Kino gesehen. Und wie gesagt, diese Geschichte hier ist besonders "geklaut". Was Joe Hills Geschichte wichtig und neu macht, ist die Frage, ob es denn überhaupt einen Ausweg gibt. Was ist, wenn wir Menschen immer wieder die Geschichte wiederholen und neue Gemeinschaften nach alten Mustern aufbauen. Kann es überhaupt irgendwann besser werden. Und vor allem, was ist wenn ich anders bin? Egal, ob durch Krankheit oder außergewöhnliche Fähigkeiten oder ich bin einfach nur auf der Flucht. Und wie offen stehen meine Mitmenschen dann zu mir? Verstecken sie sich hinter einer Maske, die der Öffentlichkeit besser entspricht? Diese Fragen machen den "Fireman" so besonders. Und aktueller kann ein Thema nicht sein.
Ein wundervolles Buch!

Die Sprecherin ist sehr gut. Ich hatte nur manchmal das Gefühl, ihr bleibt die Luft weg und sie hätte lieber öfter ein- und ausatmen sollen.

Für alle Hörer noch ein kleiner Tipp: Unbedingt bis zum Ende hören, auch wenn ihr denkt, das Ende ist längst erreicht.

6 sur 6 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.