Votre titre Audible gratuit

The Empty Nest

De : Sue Watson
Durée : 8 h et 50 min
5 out of 5 stars (1 notation)

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

"Sometimes we can’t see what’s right in front of us, Kat. Everyone has secrets, even the people we love, the people we live with...."

Kat remembers the days when her only daughter Amy wouldn't leave her side. Amy was the baby who cried when you walked out of the room, the toddler who was too shy to speak to strangers, the small child who clung to Kat's legs in the school playground. 

But now Amy is grown up, and Amy is gone - to university in a town several hours away. Kat's house - which once felt too full, too noisy, too busy - is deathly quiet, and Kat awaits the daily phone call to tell her that her beloved daughter is thriving and happy. 

But one day Amy doesn’t call. Kat’s husband and friends think she is being paranoid - surely Amy is just out, having fun with her friends. But Kat knows right away that something is very wrong. Her daughter would never forget to call. She would never just disappear.... After all, Amy has nothing to run from. Or does she? 

A gripping and suspenseful psychological thriller with more twists and turns than a rollercoaster. Fans of The Wife Between Us, The Girl Before, and Gone Girl will be gripped by this story about a mother’s obsessive love for her child.

©2019 Sue Watson (P)2019 Bookouture

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Notations

Global

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Interprétation

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Mike Thompson
  • Mike Thompson
  • 11/12/2019

The end as good, but the rest....

I’m glad I stuck it out and finished the book, because after the first half of the book saying the exact same thing I was going to quit. I understood the mother/daughter relationship clearly and could have used about 3 chapters less to describe it. You can only say obsessed so many times. We got it.

Also, the plot twists were well written. I was excited about once things actually started happening.

Yay for awesome narration! Saved this book for sure!

7 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Schrodingersdeadcat
  • Schrodingersdeadcat
  • 02/11/2019

If you're a mom of a young woman...

You will feel this book. I felt myself tearing up several times as I identified so much with the mother. It's a very well written, well narrated book. I can see that those without a daughter may find it tedious but I was riveted.

10 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour F. Terwilliger
  • F. Terwilliger
  • 31/12/2019

Kept my interest but main character was annoying

Fairly easy to guess who was responsible for Amy’s disappearance. Not a bad story, but found the main character so annoying it was hard to care much.

4 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour A. J. Holmes
  • A. J. Holmes
  • 19/11/2019

Gripping

Wow! I had my suspicions very early on but shrugged them off but as it turns out, I was spot on. I was both happy and sad that I was right. It's such a shame how people are never who they portray themselves to be. The truth always surfaces...for some, too late.

4 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour V. R.
  • V. R.
  • 16/01/2020

MOVES WAY TOO SLOWLY

This was the most excruciating book I've ever listened to. I forced myself through 5 hours worth and just couldn't torture myself anymore. The story moves WAY TOO SLOWLY; most of it is just one irritating main character ruminating/whining over her daughter being missing chapter and chapter after chapter with no turn of events... This book could have been edited down to a 1/3 of the length. I lost interest. I'm returning it.

On the bright side, the narrator was excellent.

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Robert Keefer
  • Robert Keefer
  • 12/01/2020

Good Ending

Good ending but very very slow to get to the drama and suspense. Almost gave up on it a few times but glad I didn't.

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Amazonuser
  • Amazonuser
  • 30/01/2020

Convenient ending, main character is insufferable with no development

*spoilers*
It was okay at first. Like others have said, slow to get into and kind of the same thing over and over again.
The ending where the daughter suffers no long term affects of brain damage or exposure is pretty convenient. Both the mother and the daughter aren’t very good people. The mother talks about how obsessed she is with her daughter to the point where she framed him for physically abusing her and hid all the letters and gifts from him to the daughter. I thought this was going to lead to a confession or some sort of redemption arc, but no. She keeps it a secret and articulates that it was okay because the bio dad was emotionally abusive. Then they find the daughter alive after being knocked out and left in the cold in a ravine for a week. Despite the devastating head injury which led her in and out of consciousness for 7 days she ends up perfectly fine. And is super stoked that she’s getting a bunch of Instagram followers now. I don’t know if the subtext is that she’s shallow and mean to the point where not even nearly dying changed her perspective, but I didn’t get that vibe.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 12/12/2019

Great listen.

Thus one kept my interest and maxed me want to keep on listening. It was tough to figure out. Little clues pointed every which way.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour eh chaponis
  • eh chaponis
  • 22/11/2019

The Empty Nest

A true thriller through and through!! Loved it! So fast paced, read it straight through in less than a day!! Bravo to Jasmine Blackborow!! I will read her again!! 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻💞

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Shawn
  • Shawn
  • 06/11/2019

Great Book

This was a great book from start to end I was engaged the entire time, I have returned the last few books I’ve purchased on here but I was sad when the sad was over I Highly recommend

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile