Votre titre Audible gratuit

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Vous êtes membre Amazon Prime ?

Bénéficiez automatiquement de 2 livres audio offerts.
Bonne écoute !

    Description

    One hot summer’s afternoon, five-year-old Ava Sawyer went to a party. She never came home....

    When five-year-old Ava Sawyer goes missing from a birthday party at a local garden center, the police are bewildered by the lack of leads. That is, until two years later, when Ava’s body is found and another little girl, Audrey Briggs, goes missing. Audrey also attended that party....

    Leading the investigation is Detective Natalie Ward. A mother of two teenagers, this case chills her to the bone and is a disturbing reminder of the last job she worked on. One that still keeps her awake at night....

    Natalie soon discovers that Ava’s mother has some worrying gaps in her alibi, and as she digs deeper, she’s sure Ava’s father is not telling the full story. And what did the owner of the garden center Elsa see that day? Something that she’s not telling Natalie....

    Just as Natalie is facing up to the grim possibility that Ava and Audrey were killed by someone close to home, another little girl from the party doesn’t come home from her ballet lesson. Can Natalie find a way to stop this killer before more innocent lives are taken?

    Gripping, fast-paced, and nail-bitingly tense, this book will keep you listening long into the night. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott, and Karin Slaughter.

    ©2018 Carol Wyer (P)2018 Bookouture

    Ce que les auditeurs disent de The Birthday

    Notations
    Global
    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      0
    • 4 étoiles
      1
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      0
    • 1 étoile
      0
    Interprétation
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      1
    • 4 étoiles
      0
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      0
    • 1 étoile
      0
    Histoire
    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      0
    • 4 étoiles
      0
    • 3 étoiles
      1
    • 2 étoiles
      0
    • 1 étoile
      0

    Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
    Trier par :
    Trier par:
    • Global
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      1 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour K. Byrne
    • K. Byrne
    • 15/11/2018

    I don't know why I kept going

    It was rambling and didnt keep my attention. still confused about why I didnt return. No surprises...not clever...just a winding tale that goes nowhere.

    3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      1 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour E. Miller
    • E. Miller
    • 24/10/2018

    One dimensional DI who only knows how to bully

    The lead character is just awful and the narrator makes her sound even worse. I understand that she is investigating child murders but she acts no better than dirty Harry when it comes to that investigation. No nuance whatsoever. Frankly, I couldn't stand her and will be returning this book, something I've done only once before.

    3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Patrick Williams
    • Patrick Williams
    • 05/03/2020

    Worth another shot

    It was a decent story but I had a very hard time staying connected to the story. it just seemed to drag on and I found my mind wandering. Not my face but will probably try another in the series and see if it grabs my attention better.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      3 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Laura
    • Laura
    • 07/01/2020

    What?

    This book was too full of different characters. I had to keep rewinding to figure out who was talking, what their role was in the plot, etc. Are usually don’t have trouble with books that contain a lot of characters, but this one was really a struggle to get through. When I got to the end I felt a tad disappointed in the storyline.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      3 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Maine Knitter
    • Maine Knitter
    • 12/12/2018

    First in a new series

    The shoes on the cover kill me. So sad. The book involves the murder of children so it can be disturbing. I’ve read the author’s first series and enjoyed those books. All are a bit dark but interesting. I didn’t care for this book as much. I listened to the audiobook, as I had with the previous series, (which was done fairly well) but I had a hard time keeping the characters straight. It’s not as easy to go back and find earlier mentions of a character. I listen to over 100 audiobooks a year so it’s not that I’m not used to them. This book just made it difficult for me. The main character, DI Natalie Ward, is determined to solve these crimes especially because of a similar crime in her past. She seems like a typical working mother, trying to juggle career and family all in the midst of a murder investigation. I look forward to seeing how she manages and to learning more about her team. One thing I did notice with the narration (and this occurred in an earlier book by the same author): Nike trainers were pronounced like Bike. Is that a British thing? Overall, a captivating book which could have ended in any of several ways. It kept me guessing through most of the book.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Debbie De
    • Debbie De
    • 29/10/2018

    The Birthday Killer

    This audiobook was excellently written & by Carol Wyer & gracefully narrated by Diane Croth. Story Storyline and blot was robustly written with oranization. Great weekend thriller....waiting on Book two. A DeAnn DeVille Review

    2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Kindle Customer
    • Kindle Customer
    • 14/09/2020

    great murder mytery

    love carol wyer books and her narrations my Diana croft make the book for me

    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour AudaciousMe
    • AudaciousMe
    • 30/11/2019

    The Birthday could be a 4.5 easily

    This story about a murder of a missing birthday girl, Ava, whose body is discovered two years after the party. Not missing, dead. Tragic enough, but little girls are being abducted and murdered at an alarming rate. The girl's are dressed in similar party dresses as Ava was dressed at her party. But they also attend same schools and more connections between the victims. Natalie and her team rush to save the most recent abducted girl. The author created scenes that stunned me (wait for the bedroom with the dolls) took my breath away. It wasn't gore, it was story telling genius. My body wanted to feverishly run with Natlie, DI, and her police team and find the last little girl. This is suspense at its best. I'm a new fan.

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Anonymous User
    • Anonymous User
    • 18/11/2019

    page stopping

    I really enjoyed the story very entertaining . impressed with the narration how the narrator used all the different voices of each character. really an enjoyable listening

    • Global
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      2 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour wbc
    • wbc
    • 10/10/2019

    Not well researched.

    There were numerous procedural mistakes that anyone with a basic understanding of police work would catch. None of the characters were well developed and there were many loose ends. I would not recommend this book. It reads like an amateur effort. The narration was good.