Votre titre Audible gratuit

Queenie

Lu par : Shvorne Marks
Durée : 9 h et 45 min
4 out of 5 stars (3 notations)

Prix : 19,58 €

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

Description

Queenie Jenkins can't cut a break. Well, apart from one from her long-term boyfriend, Tom. That's definitely just a break, though. Definitely not a breakup. 

Stuck between a boss who doesn't seem to see her and a family who don't seem to listen (if it's not Jesus or water rates, they're not interested) and trying to fit in two worlds that don't really understand her, it's no wonder she's struggling.

She was named to be queen of everything. So why is she finding it so hard to rule her own life?

A darkly comic and bitingly subversive take on modern life, Queenie will have you nodding in recognition, crying in solidarity and rooting for this unforgettable character every step of the way.

Perfect for fans of Dolly Alderton, Bryony Gordon and Dawn O'Porter and anyone who loved Fleabag and Dear White People.

©2019 Candice Carty-Williams (P)2019 Orion Publishing Group Ltd

Critiques

"Inspirational, funny and wise." (Kit de Waal, author of My Name Is Leon)

Autres livres audio du même :

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Notations

Global

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    1
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Interprétation

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    1
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    1
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour MsHolistic
  • MsHolistic
  • 02/06/2019

Could relate to so much

the narration is amazing. i feel that people would have a completely different connection with this book if read. would recommend although this heartfelt story can get a bit emotionally heavy in the middle. loved it though.

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Natalie
  • Natalie
  • 21/05/2019

I ended up quite liking it

After my mishap with trying to get a print copy of this book. I decided to do the audible trial and listen to this book for free. Now this is the first time I've listened to a novel in audible form so  this review is a mix of what I think of the book as well as the audible experience.


When I started listening I was just excited to experience something different so I was listening every chance I got. I loved that I had some entertainment in traffic as well as being able to listen on my blue tooth while doing housework. However after a while I did get tired of  hearing the narration. 


The book itself started off a bit shaky for me because it was beginning to feel like a depressing story of one young woman's poor sexual choices and boyfriend drama.


However it turned out to be more than that.This book touched on friendship, mother -daughter and familial relationships, battling anxiety and other complex themes. As I read on I grew to appreciate the backstory of the character and what led up to her decisions. I enjoyed reading about the counselling sessions and I was happy with how the book came together in the end. Not cliched and not depressing.

I got lost a couple of times because the author had some flash backs and I couldn't tell right away sometimes what was happening. I think it was mainly because I was listening to the audio version. I still wonder if I had read the book instead of listen to it if that would have affected my degree of enjoyment.

Overall I give this book three stars. As for the audible experience, I still have mixed feelings about it but I give it three stars as well. 



Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Utilisateur anonyme
  • Utilisateur anonyme
  • 14/04/2019

Great narration but a bit of a depressing story

It's definitely entertaining and relatable, plus you learn a lot as the author explores so many issues. But there is no denying that there is little pleasure in watching someone make so many bad decisions over and over again, with very little uplifting joy at the end for all your hard work ploughing your way through the mess.

It's an important book in many ways, but I wonder if it does any good to so many of the issues it is trying to shine a light on. However every review seems to have a different opinion, so maybe it's enough that she is opening up the conversation on these topics.

Buy it and see what you think.