Votre titre Audible gratuit

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2020
Shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award

Queenie Jenkins can't cut a break. Well, apart from one from her long-term boyfriend, Tom. That's definitely just a break, though. Definitely not a breakup. 

Stuck between a boss who doesn't seem to see her and a family who don't seem to listen (if it's not Jesus or water rates, they're not interested) and trying to fit in two worlds that don't really understand her, it's no wonder she's struggling.

She was named to be queen of everything. So why is she finding it so hard to rule her own life?

A darkly comic and bitingly subversive take on modern life, Queenie will have you nodding in recognition, crying in solidarity and rooting for this unforgettable character every step of the way.

Perfect for fans of Dolly Alderton, Bryony Gordon and Dawn O'Porter and anyone who loved Fleabag and Dear White People.

©2019 Candice Carty-Williams (P)2019 Orion Publishing Group Ltd

Commentaires

"Inspirational, funny and wise." (Kit de Waal, author of My Name Is Leon)

Ce que les auditeurs disent de Queenie

Notations
Global
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    7
  • 4 étoiles
    3
  • 3 étoiles
    4
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Interprétation
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    11
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    1
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Histoire
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    5
  • 4 étoiles
    4
  • 3 étoiles
    3
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0

Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars

You should read/listen to this book

The audiobook version read by Shvorne Marks was a real treat (all the different accents she puts on are excellent and when she voices men, it's doesn't sound forced at all). I don't think I would have wanted to finish the story had it not been for her reading. The first half of Queenie was quite depressing to get through (both for me and for the protagonist). It dragged at times and I was really baffled at how much nonsense Queenie could tolerate. I feel like her support circle only manisfested itself towards the 2nd half almost a little too late, and while realistically, people do take a long time to heal, I was desperate to see her relationship with men evolve into something healthy. I don't think it reaches that point yet in the book but there is hope for a loving future full of family and laughter and good food (food mentions were delicious I have noted!) for Queenie. I don't think you can compare it to Bridget Jones because the vibe is totally different. If you want to read about a modern British woman today and how she faces racism, misoginy and low-self esteem, this is a good portrayal. Not a comedy like it was marketed, but not a tragedy either.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

a black woman in this world

Queenie learn to become herself, going from disaster to disaster, tearing down the strong woman trope and questionning the need of mental care for black women in this world.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

relatable

i enjoyed this healing journey. Really relatable and raw. I loved the jamaican accent. well done!

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect narration

The narration was just perfect. I loved loooved this book. I finished it in 2 days. And I want more. I want to know more about quennie's journey.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

Such a powerful, raw, moving, thought provoking, funny story. Everyone should listen to, or read this, we all have something to learn from the story. Relatable on so may levels, and eye opening on so many other. This should be a mandatory read for everyone British when they turn 18 or maybe 21, the fact that there is a bit of uncomfortably graphic rough sex is the only thing that stops me writing to the government to get it set in schools!

Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour MsHolistic
  • MsHolistic
  • 02/06/2019

Could relate to so much

the narration is amazing. i feel that people would have a completely different connection with this book if read. would recommend although this heartfelt story can get a bit emotionally heavy in the middle. loved it though.

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Amyn Bawa-allah
  • Amyn Bawa-allah
  • 05/07/2020

I need more complicated Black women stories

I enjoyed this book so much and I really enjoyed the narration because it helped me with a lot of the pronunciation. I especially loved the character development of Queenie.

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Natalie
  • Natalie
  • 21/05/2019

I ended up quite liking it

After my mishap with trying to get a print copy of this book. I decided to do the audible trial and listen to this book for free. Now this is the first time I've listened to a novel in audible form so  this review is a mix of what I think of the book as well as the audible experience. When I started listening I was just excited to experience something different so I was listening every chance I got. I loved that I had some entertainment in traffic as well as being able to listen on my blue tooth while doing housework. However after a while I did get tired of  hearing the narration.  The book itself started off a bit shaky for me because it was beginning to feel like a depressing story of one young woman's poor sexual choices and boyfriend drama. However it turned out to be more than that.This book touched on friendship, mother -daughter and familial relationships, battling anxiety and other complex themes. As I read on I grew to appreciate the backstory of the character and what led up to her decisions. I enjoyed reading about the counselling sessions and I was happy with how the book came together in the end. Not cliched and not depressing. I got lost a couple of times because the author had some flash backs and I couldn't tell right away sometimes what was happening. I think it was mainly because I was listening to the audio version. I still wonder if I had read the book instead of listen to it if that would have affected my degree of enjoyment. Overall I give this book three stars. As for the audible experience, I still have mixed feelings about it but I give it three stars as well. 

Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Dina S.
  • Dina S.
  • 01/06/2020

Disappointed

I had a hard time getting through the story, specially as I disliked or hated two thirds of the characters and their dialogues with the main character. For instance: I know that the older generation sometimes struggles with the concept of therapy but I find it hard to believe that a grandmother can watch a granddaughter go through so much trauma and still put it off as an embarrassment that Queenie is considering getting help! What?? How blind and unfeeling can one person be? I know the "toughen up and get on with life" speech is widespread ... but after witnessing her own daughter being in an abusive relationship, one would expect the grandmother character to have evolved a little bit. I would expect her to want to prevent the family history from repeating itself. But no! Her husband needs to say it's acceptable, for her to be onboard. Also, almost all the male characters are just awful. Only the older male characters seem to be acceptable (Gene and the grandfather). The rest is disgustingly 1-dimensional and egotistical. I know it's mostly on purpose, due to Queenie's state of mind - "she seeks out the bad/disposable guys"... but even the "perfect" Tom, acts completely unfeeling and shitty in the flashbacks! How she ever fell in love with him is puzzling to me.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Janet ann allport
  • Janet ann allport
  • 23/11/2020

Queenie a modern heroine

I enjoyed reading Queenie as it brings together isdues of race and sex and how people can quickly get used to accepting racist behaviour. Fortunately, after an onslaught of men behaving badly Queenie gets her life back and with the support of family and friends gets her life back on track. A book that makes you think about how a young woman can get over so many setbacks but come out stronger and formidable.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 26/09/2020

Good story, great narrator

The novel is a good read but listening to the narrator giving each character their unique accent and voice is a true pleasure.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour nana k
  • nana k
  • 22/03/2020

Masterpiece

I can not describe all the emotions i have felt while reading this book. Every black woman needs to read this book. I related on several levels.

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Ks338
  • Ks338
  • 14/04/2019

Great narration but a bit of a depressing story

It's definitely entertaining and relatable, plus you learn a lot as the author explores so many issues. But there is no denying that there is little pleasure in watching someone make so many bad decisions over and over again, with very little uplifting joy at the end for all your hard work ploughing your way through the mess. It's an important book in many ways, but I wonder if it does any good to so many of the issues it is trying to shine a light on. However every review seems to have a different opinion, so maybe it's enough that she is opening up the conversation on these topics. Buy it and see what you think.