Votre titre Audible gratuit

Outside Looking In

DCI Matilda Darke, Book 2
Série : DCI Matilda Darke, Volume 2
Durée : 10 h et 56 min

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

The second book in Michael Wood’s darkly compelling new crime series featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Mark Billingham and Val McDermid.

When elderly George Rainsford goes to investigate a suspicious noise one night, the last thing he expects to find is a bloodbath. A man has been killed and a woman brutally beaten, left for dead.

The victims are Lois Craven and Kevin Hardaker - both married, but not to each other. Their spouses swear they knew nothing of the affair, and, besides, they both have alibis for the attack. With nothing else to link the victims, the investigation hits a dead end.

The pressure is on for investigating officer, DCI Matilda Darke: there’s a violent killer on the loose, and it looks like her team members are the new targets. With no leads and no suspects, it’s going to take all Matilda’s wits to catch him before he strikes again.

©2019 Michael Wood (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critiques

"At one point in this tense thriller, the endearing protagonist reflects that the investigation is like having 'all the pieces of the jigsaw but…from different boxes'. Matilda Darke is right - and only in the final pages is the full picture revealed…" (Chris Simms)

"Crackling dialogue, dark wit and an exciting ending. Recommended if you liked Happy Valley." (Mark Edwards)

"DCI Matilda Darke is going places." (James Oswald)

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Karen Ross
  • Karen Ross
  • 02/08/2019

Another Matilda Darke winner!

Happy I found this series. Both author and narrator work well together. I would recommend this one and look forward to more.

2 sur 2 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Sires
  • Sires
  • 16/07/2019

DCI Matilde Darke Still Has a Lot of Problems

In the first book in the series DCI Darke is just back to work after a disastrous kidnapping case and the death of her husband from lung cancer. Her job is hanging by a thread and she is given a cold case to solve.

Now lack of financial support for major cases is causing her to worry about her professional future again and she has lost the support that she needs to solve major crimes such as the two death of a man who was parked in a lay by with an attractive woman who had managed to draw attention to their plight by using the horn of the car to signal SOS. The woman has been shot and severely assaulted. Neither were married to each other.

Also the DCI is having paranoid thoughts which some of her friends and co-employees wonder if they are the result of her psychological problems or actual threats to herself and her team.

There's some gaps in the plot and the climax left me banging my head on my keyboard, but it's not terrible.

The performance doesn't really make things better, but it also is tolerable and doesn't make things worse.

2 sur 2 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Donna
  • Donna
  • 06/07/2019

4

Another good mystery, part of a series but stands alone just fine.
There are many story lines that might take off and run
with the plot, but the author keeps
excellent control of each until the end. I so enjoy the narrator and the unique pronunciations she gives many words like skeleton and adversary. I check slang words with a quick search - "manky" was this book's contribution to my vocab.

2 sur 2 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.