Votre titre Audible gratuit

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Vous êtes membre Amazon Prime ?

Bénéficiez automatiquement de 2 livres audio offerts.
Bonne écoute !

    Description

    "An exciting novel with magic and serial killers.... One of the hottest books coming out." (Hypable)

    Fans of Marie Lu, Leigh Bardugo, and Kristin Cashore will be captivated by this stunning first book in a must-have new fantasy trilogy about a spy who can vanish at will and who discovers that monsters, mystery, and magic are also lurking — just out of sight.

    Julia has the unusual ability to be...unseen. Not invisible, exactly. Just beyond most people's senses. It's a dangerous trait in a city that has banned all forms of magic and drowns witches in public Cleansings. But it's a useful trait for a thief and a spy. And Julia has learned — crime pays.

    She's being paid very well indeed to infiltrate the grand house of Mrs. Och and report back on the odd characters who live there and the suspicious dealings that take place behind locked doors. But what Julia discovers shakes her to the core. She certainly never imagined that the traitor in the house would turn out to be...her. Murder, thievery, witchcraft, betrayal - Catherine Egan builds a dangerous world where her fierce and flawed heroine finds that even a girl who can vanish can't walk away from her own worst deeds. 

    ©2016 Catherine Egan (P)2016 Listening Library

    Commentaires

    "A beautifully rendered world and an exquisite sense of timing ensure a page-turning experience." (Publishers Weekly)

    "Julia's a wonderful, fully realized heroine with moral dilemmas aplenty. For those readers waiting for the sequel to Marie Lu's The Rose Society, a well-realized page-turner in the same vein." (Kirkus Reviews)

    "Readers will find themselves immediately immersed in the narrative and invested in the fate of Julia, who is both feisty and flawed. There is a richness to this inaugural volume of the Witch's Child trilogy, and readers will be hard pressed to put it down." (Booklist)

    Autres livres audio du même :

    Ce que les auditeurs disent de Julia Vanishes

    Notations
    Global
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      1
    • 4 étoiles
      0
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      0
    • 1 étoile
      0
    Interprétation
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      1
    • 4 étoiles
      0
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      0
    • 1 étoile
      0
    Histoire
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      1
    • 4 étoiles
      0
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      0
    • 1 étoile
      0

    Commentaires - Veuillez sélectionner les onglets ci-dessous pour changer la provenance des commentaires.

    Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
    Trier par :
    Trier par:
    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Kindle Customer
    • Kindle Customer
    • 23/11/2017

    Excellent fantasy adventure w female protagonist

    Julia, the main character, was the best thing about this book. She was a fully developed character who had it in her to be both good and evil. The writer made her decisions believable. The secondary characters were also well done to the point I kept wishing for more chapters that delved further in to their stories.

    2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Liberal Artist
    • Liberal Artist
    • 28/03/2017

    Spellbinding opening

    Would you listen to Julia Vanishes again? Why?

    Yes. The world-building is rich enough to repay a second listen at least.

    What was one of the most memorable moments of Julia Vanishes?

    Mrs. Ock (sp? So hard to know when you listen!) steals the show with her kindness.

    What does Erin Spencer and Will Damron bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Erin Spencer knows exactly how far to press a characterization. Her voices are distinct, but never distracting, though her tonal range is truly impressive. Will Damron has a much smaller role, but brings the detached creepy with aplomb.