Votre titre Audible gratuit

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Vous êtes membre Amazon Prime ?

Bénéficiez automatiquement de 2 livres audio offerts.
Bonne écoute !

    Description

     Winner of the Newbery Medal 

    “A charming, intriguingly plotted novel.” (Washington Post)

    Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly’s Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships.

    Told from four intertwining points of view—two boys and two girls—the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero). “Readers will be instantly engrossed in this relatable neighborhood adventure and its eclectic cast of misfits.”—Booklist

    In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so he can concentrate on basketball.

    They aren’t friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find missing Virgil. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. 

    The acclaimed author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia.

    “Readers across the board will flock to this book that has something for nearly everyone—humor, bullying, self-acceptance, cross-generational relationships, and a smartly fateful ending.” (School Library Journal)

    ©2017 Erin Entrada Kelly (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

    Commentaires

    "Ramon de Ocampo and Amielynn Abellera narrate this charming story, told from four points of view.... De Ocampo perfectly captures Virgil's painful timidity - and just as easily brings to life Lola, Virgil's wise, sassy Filipino grandmother... Abellera's portrayal of fearless Valencia ("my name could lead people into battle") is especially fine....Abellera nails her prickly but lively way of seeing the world. This especially engaging and sensitive production fully accesses the story's keen perceptions on courage, fate, and friendship." ( AudioFile)

    Ce que les auditeurs disent de Hello, Universe

    Notations
    Global
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      1
    • 4 étoiles
      0
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      0
    • 1 étoile
      0
    Interprétation
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      1
    • 4 étoiles
      0
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      0
    • 1 étoile
      0
    Histoire
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      1
    • 4 étoiles
      0
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      0
    • 1 étoile
      0

    Commentaires - Veuillez sélectionner les onglets ci-dessous pour changer la provenance des commentaires.

    Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
    Trier par :
    Trier par:
    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Judy A.
    • Judy A.
    • 18/02/2019

    Who would have thought?

    I’m over 70 years old and this young adult novel is so enjoyable. It brings me back to those awkward days of pre-adolescence and helps me enjoy the richness inherent in those many moments of questioning, seeking, and discovery both of self and of others.

    9 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour nadia barahona
    • nadia barahona
    • 27/02/2019

    One of the best books I have ever read

    This book inspired me to push through and overcome my fears. I think this book has inspired people all around the world and for a good reason. It has lovable characters, a good plot, and great thought put into it. I think this book is a great one to read if you need to be cheered up or going through tough times. I read this book because my school was doing something called battle of the books and I am so glad that this was one of the eight books. I feel everyone should read this book if they have a chance because it is a good. I will say to the people who really enjoy to read like me, and if you like adventure books this is a great title for you.

    6 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Y. Kuykendall
    • Y. Kuykendall
    • 08/02/2019

    Diverse and fun

    Great for my tween and 7 year old. Books has lots of important themes. doesn't dig too deep, keep things fun and engaging.

    6 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Boog
    • Boog
    • 17/04/2019

    Sucked in from the beginning

    Pro's- This was our first time reading a book by Erin Entrada Kelly, but it certainly won't be the last. From the first chapter to the last, we were sucked in and excited to hear what would come next in Virgil, Kaori, Valencia, and Chet's story.

    Con- This was a quick read--would be nice to see a part 2 just to know what will happen next!

    3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour ericmadden
    • ericmadden
    • 14/05/2019

    It needs a next book

    I like the book and it was a great book and all people should read this book

    2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Utilisateur anonyme
    • Utilisateur anonyme
    • 18/06/2020

    One of the best books I've ever read!

    I loved this book! The characters are beautifully complicated and flawed. The ending made me smile and kept me thinking. Despite the characters' youth they are relatable and the author doesn't write them as childish. I would definitely recommend for everyone!

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Kasey
    • Kasey
    • 25/02/2020

    There are no such things as coincidences.

    What a fabulous story! It's like a puzzle the reader gets to put together. It's full of twists and turns with all these little stories woven together. Great read!

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Utilisateur anonyme
    • Utilisateur anonyme
    • 22/11/2019

    this is a very good book!

    it was a very good book !
    the story was good, the narrator was good.
    all was good.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      3 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Marta
    • Marta
    • 09/10/2019

    It was just okay :/

    I appreciate that the performance especially with Valencia tried to speak like someone who hasn't really heard how to speak but sometimes they forgot in some chapters to do that. It did bother me that Virgil's family is Philippino and the reader gave them accents that were more Southern American. The overall story was nice in giving us perspective of children that are deaf and has social anxiety but you can tell it was written by an adult because there were stereotyping of how children think about their parents. It also would have been nice to not leave the story about Chet like that. There could have been more to the development of his story.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Mary Licona
    • Mary Licona
    • 09/09/2019

    Loved it

    Loved it. It was amazing to read it in audiobook plus it was easier to read

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile