Votre titre Audible gratuit

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Vous êtes membre Amazon Prime ?

Bénéficiez automatiquement de 2 livres audio offerts.
Bonne écoute !

    Description

    First comes marriage. Then comes divorce. Then it's every woman for herself....

    Every Woman for Herself is a hilarious account of divorce and dating from Sunday Times best seller Trisha Ashley. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde and Carole Matthews, the country setting and rom-com storyline make this the perfect summer companion.

    When Charlie's husband Matt tells her that he wants a divorce she has to start from scratch. Suddenly single, broke, and approaching 40 she is forced to return to her childhood home in the Yorkshire moors.

    Living with her father and eccentric siblings could be considered a challenge but soon Charlie finds her new life somewhat refreshing. Now that she's single she's got no need to dye her roots nor to be the perfect wife and she can return to her first love - painting.

    But just as she begins to feel settled, handsome, bad-tempered actor Mace North moves in down the road and starts mixing things up for Charlie in more ways than one....

    ©2015 Trisha Ashley (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

    Commentaires

    "One of the best writers around!" (Katie Fforde)
    "Full of down-to-earth humour." (Sophie Kinsella)
    "A warm-hearted and comforting read. Trisha at her best" (Carole Matthews)

    Ce que les auditeurs disent de Every Woman for Herself

    Notations

    Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
    Trier par :
    Trier par:
    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour jodiod
    • jodiod
    • 19/06/2015

    Adorable.

    Loved every minute of this book. Light but still meaningful. Utterly delightful and quirky characters.

    4 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour K.
    • K.
    • 25/05/2016

    Unexpectedly delightful!

    What made the experience of listening to Every Woman for Herself the most enjoyable?

    This book is full of surprises. I had trouble getting into it because of the trite divorce setup at the beginning, but it gradually takes on a very unusual and quirky personality unlike other chick lit I have read. The odd and very charming family life is somehow quite believable, even if some of the plot points aren't. And that's okay because the hero is yummy. Tricia Ashley throws in a hodgepodge of stuff: tropical plants, painting, wicca, cooking, the Brontes, far-out preschool education and even magazine publishing (Skint Old Northern Woman!).

    What other book might you compare Every Woman for Herself to and why?

    I haven't read other books by this author but I will now, and I wish Audible had all of them.

    What about Julia Barrie’s performance did you like?

    I thought the reading was brilliant. I did like the way she did the men, and also thought her children were wonderful.

    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    It's a very funny book.

    Any additional comments?

    I actually started it over when it ended, because I had such a bad impression at the beginning. Now I recognize the author's quirky sense of humor which takes a couple of chapters to really develop.

    3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour F.
    • F.
    • 10/12/2015

    Treat yourself to a good giggle. Oh yes !!

    Totally engrossing from beginning to end. Charlie is so lovable, a girl after my own
    heart. Her thoughts and actions had me giggling and laughing out loud. The down to earth
    affection of her family so amusing you will want to become one of them, sister, cousin
    even. I listened late into the night and didn't want to stop. Narration by Julia Barrie couldn't have been more perfect. So good I just started this book again straight away, just
    to have that feel good feeling. I would give it six stars if I could.

    3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Carol
    • Carol
    • 06/11/2018

    A favorite to read again and again

    This is one of my favorite feel good books. Some really funny moments plus amazing, eccentric family. Lovely read and I do always feel good afterward. Keep writing Ms. Ashley!

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Vicki
    • Vicki
    • 28/03/2017

    Title misleading...

    When I saw this title I nearly skipped investigation. I am glad that I didn't! This is really a charming book. It has lots of humor, laughed out loud frequently, and also explores the consequences of a poor self image. Well written with great narration. This is a fun read while addressing some serious underlying personal and familial issues.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Holly Cox
    • Holly Cox
    • 02/02/2017

    funny and enjoyable

    Easy and light hearted. If you ever went through a divorce it's extremely funny. The story does keep you guessing what will happen next.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Laura E-E
    • Laura E-E
    • 04/09/2016

    Excellent story!! Really enjoyable!!!

    What a great story!! The characters were really witty and funny and I truly enjoyed the narrator!!!

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Kristyn Rose
    • Kristyn Rose
    • 26/05/2020

    I hated to leave this story!

    The description of this book does not accurately state how wonderfully quirky the characters are! They are all sheer delights, each with his or her own unique personality. Even the children are distinctive characters. And the situations they find themselves in are unbelievable! The rich, colorful tapestry of this story is pure escapism and beautiful storytelling. I was totally immersed in this story.