Votre titre Audible gratuit

They Don't Represent Us

Reclaiming Our Democracy
Lu par : Lawrence Lessig
Durée : 10 h et 31 min

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

“This urgent book offers not only a clear-eyed explanation of the forces that broke our politics, but a thoughtful and, yes, patriotic vision of how we create a government that’s truly by and for the people.” (DAVID DALEY, best-selling author of Ratf**ked and Unrigged)

In the vein of On Tyranny and How Democracies Die, the best-selling author of Republic, Lost argues with insight and urgency that our democracy no longer represents us and shows that reform is both necessary and possible.  

America’s democracy is in crisis. Along many dimensions, a single flaw - unrepresentativeness - has detached our government from the people. And as a people, our fractured partisanship and ignorance on critical issues drive our leaders to stake out ever more extreme positions. 

In They Don’t Represent Us, Harvard law professor Lawrence Lessig charts the way in which the fundamental institutions of our democracy, including our media, respond to narrow interests rather than to the needs and wishes of the nation’s citizenry. But the blame does not only lie with “them” - Washington’s politicians and power brokers, Lessig argues. The problem is also “us.” “We the people” are increasingly uninformed about the issues, while ubiquitous political polling exacerbates the problem, reflecting and normalizing our ignorance and feeding it back into the system as representative of our will. 

What we need, Lessig contends, is a series of reforms, from governmental institutions to the public itself, including:

  • A move immediately to public campaign funding, leading to more representative candidates 
  • A reformed Electoral College, that gives the President a reason to represent America as a whole 
  • A federal standard to end partisan gerrymandering in the states 
  • A radically reformed Senate 
  • A federal penalty on states that don’t secure to their people an equal freedom to vote 
  • Institutions that empower the people to speak in an informed and deliberative way

A soul-searching and incisive examination of our failing political culture, this nonpartisan call to arms speaks to every citizen, offering a far-reaching platform for reform that could save our democracy and make it work for all of us.

Supplemental enhancement PDF accompanies the audiobook. 

PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying PDF will be available in your Audible Library along with the audio.

©2019 Lawrence Lessig (P)2019 HarperAudio

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.