Votre titre Audible gratuit

The Tuscan Secret

Lu par : Ellie Heydon
Durée : 10 h et 21 min
Catégories : Anglais - Fiction, Historical

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

An absolutely gripping, emotional, World War II historical novel

Il Mulino. An old crumbling mill, by a winding river, nestled in the Tuscan mountains. An empty home that holds memories of homemade pasta and Nonna’s stories by the fire, and later: the Nazi invasion, and a family torn apart by a heartbreaking betrayal.

Anna is distraught when her beloved mother, Ines, passes away. She inherits a box of papers, handwritten in Italian and yellowed with age, and a tantalizing promise that the truth about what happened during the war lies within. 

The diaries lead Anna to the small village of Rofelle, where she slowly starts to heal as she explores sun-kissed olive groves, and pieces together her mother’s past: happy days spent herding sheep across Tuscan meadows cruelly interrupted when World War Two erupted and the Nazis arrived; fleeing her home to join the Resistenza; and risking everything to protect an injured British soldier who captured her heart. But Anna is no closer to learning the truth: what sent Ines running from her adored homeland? 

When she meets an elderly Italian gentleman living in a deserted hamlet, who flinches at her mother’s name and refuses to speak English, Anna is sure he knows more about the devastating secret that tore apart her mother’s family. But in this small Tuscan community, some wartime secrets were never meant to be uncovered....

A stunning tale, inspired by true events, about how the tragic consequences of war can echo through generations, and how love can guide us through the darkest times. Fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and The Letter by Kathryn Hughes will be captivated.

This book was previously published as Tuscan Roots.

©2019 Angela Petch (P)2019 Bookouture

Autres livres audio du même :

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Whitney
  • Whitney
  • 04/11/2019

Frustratingly naive main character (spoilers)

How could Inez, a member of the Italian resistance during WWII, be so obtuse. She, a girl from rural Italy, should at least be knowledgable about the birds and the bees from the farm animals if nothing else. But to expect her life to become a fairytale after experiencing first hand the horrors of the war is a down right silly premise for a novel. The narrator really played up young Inez's naivete too with her childish voice. I felt no connection with any of the characters because there wasn't sufficient insight into their history to sympathize with them. I only get the briefest of glimpses into the previous lives of all the other characters except Inez and still her story wasn't well developed. And how could her husband suddenly become the villain when he returns to England? He was a POW before meeting Inez so don't try and tell me the last few months of the war while the 2 were apart were enough to change him into a different person. If this were the 1st WWII era novel I'd ever read I might have given the story 3 stars for lack knowing better, but this I can't finish. I hate wasting my time listening to bad stories.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour paula wright
  • paula wright
  • 11/08/2019

Learned so much Italian history during ww2

What a great story. There are very few Italian stories during ww2. I know beCause this subject is my main genre. Good character development and descriptions of land both great. Would read more from this author. Highly recommend

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour anne
  • anne
  • 11/08/2019

An enjoyable listen.

I enjoyed this Angela Petch book, my first. Although romance is not my usual genre , I was captivated by the Tuscan people’s struggle against their leaders in the Second World War. . Refreshing to hear new resistance stories. Ms Petch is a master descriptive writer! I loved how she created the sights, sounds, food and ways of the
Italian people and countryside. Some of the most evocative I’ve listened to. I also have to admit that even the romance parts were acceptable! And that’s high praise from me. My only real quarrel with this whole audiobook, which I received as a free copy, was the grating “little girl” voice the narrator used for Anna, the central character and occasionally she slipped into it for other people. Aside from that her narration was really good. So with reluctance I can only award three stars for the narration, it should have been 4.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Jan M
  • Jan M
  • 03/08/2019

WWII new perspective

The Tuscan Secret by Angela Petch is a gem! The book gave me a new perspective of WWII in Italy. Parts of the story are tragic. Some of the characters were incredible showing determination to survive and flourish, while others were despicable. I found myself fascinated by the story, The imagery was vivid in portraying the scenes and atrocities. The storyline kept me engaged. I really enjoyed the Tuscan Secret, and it will stick with me. Ellie Heydon was great bringing the characters to life. She added the right emotions to her voice, and had had distinguishable voices and accents that were fitting. I requested this review copy audiobook and have voluntarily written this review. I would definitely listen to more books by this author and narrator.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour stephanie L razzano
  • stephanie L razzano
  • 07/10/2019

Very moving book

A very moving book about an English war bride and her family. It traces their lives through years of war, the post war period and lingering suffering inflicted by the brutality of the war down to the present .

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour DubaiReader
  • DubaiReader
  • 02/10/2019

,Italy under the Nazis.

I really enjoyed this perfectly paced historical novel. It was set in current time and during WWII Tuscany and the two were connected by diaries, written during and after the war.

When Anna's mother, Ines, dies, she leaves her daughter some cash and a series of diaries. Anna decides to take a trip to Tuscany, where her mother was born and lived, until she moved to England after the war. Unfortunately the diaries were in Italian and Anna's skills in the language are not up to translation, so she has to find someone to translate for her. This was a great tool to allow gradual dissemination of the content and the life of Ines amongst the Partisans.
I loved that this was based on true events, along with considerable research, and the narrative felt very real. I was totally immersed in the lives of both the historical and the present-day characters and although I did guess the ending, I would have been disappointed if the author had ended it any other way.
There was also an interesting side-story, relating to a child who had selective mutism, since the death of her mother.

The book evoked wonderful images of the tastes and smells of italy, alongside traumatic wartime images. A powerful combination.
Lovely narration by Ellie Heydon.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour JeanAnn Trombley
  • JeanAnn Trombley
  • 04/09/2019

More love story than war story

This was a wonderful romantic with the was as more of a backyard. Good but very light on the historical fiction.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Antonina Eramo
  • Antonina Eramo
  • 25/08/2019

Tuscany

I enjoyed this book immensely save for the reader that didn’t know how to pronounce the Italian words.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Dab Reader
  • Dab Reader
  • 22/08/2019

Engaging

As a fan of historical fiction, I enjoyed listening to this audiobook. I knew little of the Tuscan people’s struggles of betrayal during WWII and learned a lot while enjoying the romance of the story.
It is a story of two eras and the joining together of families torn apart by war. Anna receives a copy of her mother’s diary after her death and seeks to find out more by travelling to Tuscany. Here she meets a widower who assists with translation.
The vivid descriptions of life, food and villages transport the listener into a beautiful part of Italy. The author has done her research well and the narrator makes it an easy listen.