Votre titre Audible gratuit

The Room on Rue Amélie

Durée : 10 h et 7 min
Catégories : Anglais - Fiction, Historical
4.5 out of 5 stars (2 notations)

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

For fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly's Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and family - by the international best-selling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Again - tells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumultuous days of World War II.

When newlywed Ruby Henderson Benoit arrives in Paris in 1939 with her French husband, Marcel, she imagines strolling arm in arm along the grand boulevards, awash in the golden afternoon light. But war is looming on the horizon, and as France falls to the Nazis, her marriage begins to splinter, too.

Charlotte Dacher is 11 when the Germans roll into the French capital, their sinister swastika flags snapping in the breeze. After the Jewish restrictions take effect and Jews are ordered to wear the yellow star, Charlotte can't imagine things getting much worse. But then the mass deportations begin, and her life is ripped forever apart.

Thomas Clarke joins the British Royal Air Force to protect his country, but when his beloved mother dies in a German bombing during the waning days of the Blitz, he wonders if he's really making a difference. Then he finds himself in Paris, in the shadow of the Eiffel Tower, and he discovers a new reason to keep fighting - and an unexpected road home.

When fate brings them together, Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas must summon the courage to defy the Nazis - and to open their own broken hearts - as they fight to survive. Rich with historical drama and emotional depth, this is an unforgettable story that will stay with you long after the final minute.

©2018 Kristin Harmel (P)2018 Simon & Schuster

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Notations

Global

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Interprétation

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    2
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Emily
  • Emily
  • 05/04/2018

It was okay

Any additional comments?

The connection/similarity to Kristin Hanna's The Nightingale is weak - yes, there are common plot lines - WWII at the fore, an escape line out of Nazi occupied lands, and a love story - but I found the story and characters to be lacking development and not nearly as intruiging as the Nightingale. The story is okay and it has good entertainment value - but it really doesn't rival Hannah's book of the same genre.

10 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Martha J. Smith
  • Martha J. Smith
  • 01/06/2018

Written by Capt Obvious?

I made myself finish this book, but it was painful. The dialogue was so stilted and predictably obvious and banal, it had me screaming at my iPhone at times. Of the dozens and dozens of audible books I have purchased and read (some great and others not so much) this is the first
one I’ve ever returned.

6 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour elizabeth
  • elizabeth
  • 09/12/2018

I wanted to like it but...

I had great hopes for this book - I enjoy historical novels. This was just awful. The last few chapters were not too bad but the rest of it had no character development, the dialogue was weird and stilted, and there were very few descriptions of the physical surroundings or people. The dialogue didn't just ring false, it was embarrassingly bad. What made it even worse was the narrator - sounded like a high school student named Siri trying out for the school play. I kept waiting for it to get better, to justify the time I wasted listening to it. I returned it.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Kelly S. Duncan
  • Kelly S. Duncan
  • 05/10/2018

Good story, bad narration

The story ended up being really good but I almost stopped listening because of the narrator. The inflections in her voice we unnatural and reflected the wrong sentiment. I eventually got used to it but would have enjoyed the story much more if it weren’t for that.

All-in-all, it was a good book. Not quite as gripping as some of the other WWII books I’ve read but I still enjoyed it.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour LNash
  • LNash
  • 02/04/2018

The Room on Rue Ame’lie

I loved the book listened to it on Audible which makes book come to life. The book had many sad events, i know there had to be many good hearted Germany’s living during War World Il And this book tells that story. But i was somewhat disappointed with the ending. I hate when characters in books die. I will probably listen to the novel again. I always read my books many times. Very good read (listen)

6 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Haveenoughstuff
  • Haveenoughstuff
  • 29/03/2018

Terrible ending

Good story, but no NIGHTINGALE. VERY SIMILAR PLOT BUT ENDING WAS TOO SAD AND UNSATISFYING.

6 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01/04/2020

powerful.

emotional and so real. ruby'$ story is gripping with love and strength and determination. beautiful.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Anne
  • Anne
  • 05/01/2020

The Room on The Amelie

This was book was narrated in a way that carried the emotion of the characters. It was a hard book to put down. The characters came to life in a story that depicted a war that scared the lives of millions.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Krista Cowne
  • Krista Cowne
  • 19/12/2019

All the emotions and feels :)

5 stars: The books / series impressed on me and i will recommend and reread this title.
I tell others about the story and or book(s) in regular conversation to expose the author.
I give my full support to this book.

I do not judge books based on the actor(s) / narrator(s) only the story line and content.
Thank you for your time, but to reinforce, i would reread and recommend this specific title.

I only give 5 stars in my top 10% of books.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour S. Foster
  • S. Foster
  • 25/11/2019

Highly Entertaining

Loved the storyline and the characters. I found myself totally engaged throughout the entire book and was sad when it ended. Just an awesome book!