Votre titre Audible gratuit

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Vous êtes membre Amazon Prime ?

Bénéficiez automatiquement de 2 livres audio offerts.
Bonne écoute !

    Description

    From best-selling comic-book franchise writer Charles Soule comes a clever and witty first novel of a 20-something New Yorker who wakes up one morning with the power to predict the future - perfect for fans of Joe Hill and Brad Meltzer or books like This Book Is Full of Spiders and Welcome to Night Vale.

    Knowledge is power. So when an unassuming Manhattan bassist named Will Dando awakens from a dream one morning with 108 predictions about the future in his head, he rapidly finds himself the most powerful man in the world. Protecting his anonymity by calling himself the Oracle, he sets up a heavily guarded website with the help of his friend Hamza to selectively announce his revelations. In no time global corporations are offering him millions for exclusive access, eager to profit from his prophecies.

    He's also making a lot of high-powered enemies, from the president of the United States and a nationally prominent televangelist to a warlord with a nuclear missile and an assassin grandmother. Legions of cyber spies are unleashed to hack the Site - as it's come to be called - and the best man hunters money can buy are deployed not only to unmask the Oracle but to take him out of the game entirely. With only a handful of people he can trust - including a beautiful journalist - it's all Will can do to simply survive, elude exposure, and protect those he loves long enough to use his knowledge to save the world.

    Delivering fast-paced adventure on a global scale as well as sharp-witted satire on our concepts of power and faith, Marvel writer Charles Soule's audacious debut novel takes listeners on a rollicking ride where it's impossible to predict what will happen next.

    ©2018 Charles Soule (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

    Commentaires

    "Narrator Charlie Thurston carefully leads the listener down the story's path with subtle intonations suggesting that our hero is never quite sure he is doing the right thing....  From the author of Marvel comic series such as Daredevil and She-Hulk, this is outstanding work that challenges the listener's idea of right and wrong." (AudioFile)

    Ce que les auditeurs disent de The Oracle Year

    Notations
    Global
    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      0
    • 4 étoiles
      0
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      1
    • 1 étoile
      0
    Interprétation
    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      0
    • 4 étoiles
      1
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      0
    • 1 étoile
      0
    Histoire
    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      0
    • 4 étoiles
      0
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      1
    • 1 étoile
      0

    Commentaires - Veuillez sélectionner les onglets ci-dessous pour changer la provenance des commentaires.

    Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
    Trier par :
    Trier par:
    • Global
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      1 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Topher
    • Topher
    • 14/05/2018

    Wish it were more

    I was excited about this, because it was highly rated through the "book of the month" club. . I kept waiting for this book to get better, but if anything, it just got worse. Predictable, one dimensional characters. Also dragged on way longer than it needed to. I thought the pacing was terrible. I would not recommend using a credit for this, maybe check out at your local library. Left unsatisfied and disappointed.

    6 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      1 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Christina
    • Christina
    • 10/05/2020

    One of the worst books Ever

    I try to finish most books I start. This has been excruciating books I’ve ever read. It’s terrible and trying at best. And the finish plunged through my heart at how outright mediocre it was. Please, do not read this if you still have the chance.

    2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      2 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour K4422007
    • K4422007
    • 01/03/2020

    It's starting to get tedious

    Well, let's first start with the voice actor. He does a fine job on the male voices. Though he speaks a little slowly. When he speaks as a woman it sounds comically bad. So that makes it a little difficult to digest the story but I suppose it works. I'm 6 hours and with 6 hours to go and I'm not sure if it's worth my time to finish the book. The pacing is slowing down a lot and it's just getting really tedious and boring. It starts off strong but as some other reviews said begins to dwindle I guess I will try a couple more hours of this book at the most and see if it's worth continuing.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      3 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Amazon Customer
    • Amazon Customer
    • 18/02/2020

    Entertaining, but missing something

    Part 1&2 are slow, but then the book picks up speed. Without giving anything away, I can say at least one BIG question goes unanswered!

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      3 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Carl
    • Carl
    • 11/07/2018

    Started out Good but ends flat

    Fun story but a bit to lite and unbelievable. Seemed like the story would end with a mystery solved but instead ends stupidly.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Nicholas E. Ertz
    • Nicholas E. Ertz
    • 13/06/2018

    What would you do if you knew

    A very interesting premise - what happens when you know 108 facts about the future? The story follows this problem that Will Dando has. It does it in a compelling manner and always entertaining. The suspense is solid and the conclusions are logical. The knowing of the future doesn't make you an oracle - only telling someone does.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Glen Adams
    • Glen Adams
    • 17/04/2018

    Oh so good!

    Cryptic from the beginning, I was hooked from page one. Definitely a good story. Highly recommended.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      1 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Chad
    • Chad
    • 30/11/2018

    The hero is a baffoon

    The hero in this book is detestable. He's whiny, inconsiderate, greedy, and careless. He needlessly puts his friends' lives at risk. We know almost nothing about him and have little reason to care about him to begin with, but as we learn about his demeanor we find that there's little to like.

    So, there's not much to root for in this book. The premise was very interesting. The execution was bad. Pass on this one.

    2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Josh Crews
    • Josh Crews
    • 20/04/2021

    Oracle is on point

    Gripping story that is smartly written and expertly paced. Excellent narration as well. Highly recommended.

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Edwin
    • Edwin
    • 06/06/2020

    Minor Departure from Reality; Impressive Speculations

    What could arise from a dream containing 108 points of “future history?” A whole lot, it turns out, in this readable but not overly simple novel with an appropriate division of cogitation and action. The storyline is sufficiently compelling to maintain the reader’s interest from beginning to end. One wonders about the author’s interest in a sequel.