Votre titre Audible gratuit

The Memory Thief

Lu par : Lora Brown
Durée : 6 h et 30 min

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

In the realms of The Memory Thief, memories are currency that can be traded for goods, services, skills, and experiences. A group of people - the Gifted - can steal and redistribute memories. Etta is secretly one of them, but she hasn’t used her Gifted abilities since she left the rebel Shadows following her mother’s accident two years ago. But when her mother is again in danger, Etta has no choice but to return to the underground group in order to complete her greatest heist and save her mother’s life. Etta faces startling attacks, unexpected romance, and above all, her own past as she uncovers a conspiracy that challenges everything she knew about herself and the world around her.

In a place where nothing is what it seems, can Etta ever become more than a memory thief?

"Readers, like Etta and her fellow citizens, will be challenged to contemplate the nature of truth.... A welcome addition to the YA fantasy canon, The Memory Thief is a suspenseful page-turner, delightfully chock full of unexpected twists and turns." (Shelf Awareness)

The Memory Thief:

  • Is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Victoria Aveyard
  • Brings listeners on an unforgettable journey during which Etta must learn - often the hard way - just what it will take to save her city and her mother
  • Is a clean, coming-of-age YA fantasy, with unexpected romance by up-and-coming author Lauren Mansy
©2019 Lauren Mansy (P)2019 Blink

Commentaires

"A compelling, darkly fantastic tale.... Though Mansy builds an expansive fantasy world all her own, her tale uses dystopian motifs to great success, such as the corrosive effects of an overabundance of power falling into the wrong hands and her stern commentary on the divide between the haves and have-nots. Readers, like Etta and her fellow citizens, will be challenged to contemplate the nature of truth, considering the unique role that memories play in the Realms. Mansy also delivers a fine romance, made all the more gratifying by the difficulties sustained along the way. A welcome addition to the YA fantasy canon, The Memory Thief is a suspenseful page-turner, delightfully chock full of unexpected twists and turns." (Shelf Awareness)

"A thought-provoking and unique YA fantasy, The Memory Thief is a engrossing and lovely story. Twists and turns keep the reader guessing as they follow Etta on her physical and mental journey." (YA and Kids Books Central)

"As evidenced by The Memory Thief, author Lauren Mansy has a genuine talent for narrative storytelling and an authentic flair for originality. A riveting great read with more plot twists and turns than a Disney Land roller coaster, The Memory Thief'will prove to be an immediate and enduringly popular addition to school and community library YA Fiction and amp; Fantasy Fiction collections." (Midwest Book Review)

Autres livres audio du même :

Narrateur

Ce que les auditeurs disent de The Memory Thief

Notations

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour mariasnow
  • mariasnow
  • 29/04/2020

Very well written

It wasnt long or had too many unnecessary details. perfect! just the way I like it. great read.

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Erin Cunningham
  • Erin Cunningham
  • 11/01/2020

Meh

I wasn’t a fan of the author’s writing style. Lots of repetitive phrases.
The main character was bland and an unexceptional character. Typical hero with powers beyond explanation who doesn’t believe in herself.
The magic system was complicated to understand and felt overly convenient like it offered an easy explanation for too many things.
There were so many terms that needed defining so the author had to work in some info dumps early on and even then I was kind of confused from time to time.
The plot felt very juvenile to me. Etta had very few setbacks. Everything seemed to go her way. Even the ending felt like a “well, I guess someone has to die” sort of thing.
The audio narrator was average. Not a great deal of variation in tone or voices. Pleasant voice to listen to but not particularly energized.

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Nia L Taylor
  • Nia L Taylor
  • 03/11/2019

Interesting but already done

I like the concept of the book overall. Commoditizing memories is an interesting idea. However I feel like the dystopian quadrant/sector society has already been done better by other series like the Hunger Games and the Divergent series. Also wish the performance of the audio book was more energetic and not monotone or flat.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour LFDiva
  • LFDiva
  • 01/11/2019

starts slow but picks up and doesn't slow down.

starts slow but picks up and doesn't slow down. I enjoyed the twist that came about around chapter 11 or 12