Votre titre Audible gratuit

The Lost Letter

A Novel
Durée : 9 h et 5 min
Catégories : Anglais - Fiction, Historical
4 out of 5 stars (1 notation)

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

“A gorgeous and thrilling novel.... Perfect for book clubs and fans of The Nightingale.” (PopSugar)

A historical novel of love and survival inspired by real resistance workers during World War II Austria and the mysterious love letter that connects generations of Jewish families. A heartbreaking, heartwarming story for fans of The Women in the Castle, Lilac Girls, and Sarah's Key.

Author of the forthcoming In Another Time.

Austria, 1938. Kristoff is a young apprentice to a master Jewish stamp engraver. When his teacher disappears during Kristallnacht, Kristoff is forced to engrave stamps for the Germans and simultaneously works alongside Elena, his beloved teacher's fiery daughter, and with the Austrian resistance to send underground messages and forge papers. As he falls for Elena amidst the brutal chaos of war, Kristoff must find a way to save her, and himself.

Los Angeles, 1989. Katie Nelson is going through a divorce, and while cleaning out her house and life in the aftermath, she comes across the stamp collection of her father, who recently went into a nursing home. When an appraiser, Benjamin, discovers an unusual World War II-era Austrian stamp placed on an old love letter as he goes through her dad's collection, Katie and Benjamin are sent on a journey together that will uncover a story of passion and tragedy spanning decades and continents, behind the just fallen Berlin Wall.

A romantic, poignant, and addictive novel, The Lost Letter reveals the lasting power of love.

©2017 Jillian Cantor (P)2017 Penguin Audio

Autres livres audio du même :

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Notations

Global

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Interprétation

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour M. Ryder
  • M. Ryder
  • 27/10/2017

Finally! A Great One!

Lately, I'm not having much luck with finding good, solid audiobooks, but this one was fantastic for sure! It kept me wanting to hear every single word! It's a story that leaves you asking, can we actually become different people, based on where we are and the circumstances surrounding us at the time. Make sure to have the tissues at hand near the end of the book. Interesting to learn that the making of stamps was yet another creative way of sending messages during WW II. As for the narration, it too was pretty good! Don't hesitate purchasing this audiobook! It's worth the T credit!!!

14 sur 14 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Jennifer Masterson
  • Jennifer Masterson
  • 22/06/2017

This was absolutely fantastic!!!

I have goosebumps right now! Hands down "The Lost Letter" is my favorite book of 2017 and I'm not a big fan of historical fiction! If I could give this novel 10 stars I would! "The Lost Letter" has all the feels, beautiful writing, and a fantastic story!

There are two storylines in this novel. Part of this book takes place in 1989 and the other part takes place in 1938.

In one storyline Katie lives in California and is the daughter of a stamp collector. It's 1989 and she comes upon an unopened letter with an unusual stamp on it. She is going through a divorce and her father is living in a home due to his late stage of Alzheimer's.

In the other storyline it's 1938 and The Faber Family is living in Austria. They are a Jewish family. Kristoff, is Frederick Faber's apprentice. He is learning to be a stamp engraver. He eventually finds himself falling in love with one of Frederick's daughters and becomes involved in the resistance.

These two storylines eventually come together. The author, Jillian Cantor, does a fantastic job of making this happen, smoothly.

I listened to the audio version. It's fabulous! The narrators are terrific. I highly recommend this version if you enjoy audio!

By the way, I think this would make for a great book group discussion. I also think it would make a great movie! Do not miss out on this book! It's wonderful!

Highly highly recommended!!!

26 sur 28 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Penny Kavanagh
  • Penny Kavanagh
  • 17/10/2017

LOVED THIS STORY!

I have listened to so many stories of WW2, many of which I feel so sad and depressed at how we can do this to our fellow humans. But this story blends 1939 with 1989. The story touches the horrors of WW2 but moves back and forth to the future. Loved the characters, narrators and story! Can't wait to hear more from the author and narrators!

5 sur 5 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Jacqui
  • Jacqui
  • 24/06/2017

I loved this book

My father was Jewish & left Vienna when he was 25 with his mother & sister in May 1938. They lost everything but he started a new life here in Australia. He died in 1986 & I was so sad that he didn't live to see the Wall come down. This book was bittersweet to me and I am so glad I read it. It was marvellous.

4 sur 4 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Sarah
  • Sarah
  • 28/10/2017

Middle of the road WW2 novel with bad narration

I definitely feel like I'm in the minority with this one. The writing was fine, the story was sweet, but it was nothing special. If anything, it was a bit too saccharine for all the unbelievable consequences scattered around the plot. I love WW2 literature, but if I'm honest, this might be the book that breaks this camel's back... think I might be officially burnt out.

I also had narration issues : while the male narrator was fantastic, the female narrator was awful. Made Katie sound both 90 years old and completely ditzy and uninterested all at the same time.

3 sur 3 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Patricia
  • Patricia
  • 17/10/2017

Narrator ruined it

The story has a great premise but the narrator for Katie was awful. She spoke with a cadence that got old very quickly. She took a lead character that was searching and made her a clueless idiot. Her reading of conversational passages was horrible. Totally unnatural.I got through the end of a good story despite the narrator but it was hard work.

3 sur 3 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Cricket
  • Cricket
  • 23/07/2017

Loved it!!!!

This book reminded me of "The Nightengale" which I recently read. Although my preference is "Nightingale", this book was equally enjoyable.

2 sur 2 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Apryl
  • Apryl
  • 12/07/2017

Beautiful story

What a beautiful story. The characters were easy to love and you felt the struggle and pain they were going through. It was a hard book to put down. I'm sad it's over and will be thinking about the characters for a long time.

2 sur 2 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Monica D
  • Monica D
  • 28/07/2017

Beautifully written

Thought provoking story on many levels.
Enjoyed the shift between times.
The story will stay with me for a long time.

4 sur 5 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour RueRue
  • RueRue
  • 16/08/2017

Predictable

Sorry to admit this, but I think I'm burned out on WWII stories. This one just seemed predictable. No suspense, every plot twist was totally expected. Narration was just OK.

6 sur 8 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.