Votre titre Audible gratuit

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

The Daughter’s Tale is immersive, both heartbreaking and redemptive, steeped in harrowing historical events and heroic acts of compassion that will have you reflecting on the best and worst the human heart has to offer. Fans of WWII history and book clubs will find depth and skillful storytelling here, but on a deeper level, searing questions about life, love, and the choices we make in the most impossible of circumstances.” (Lisa Wingate, bestselling author of Before We Were Yours)

From the internationally bestselling author of The German Girl, an unforgettable family saga exploring a hidden piece of World War II history and the lengths a mother will go to protect her children—perfect for fans of Lilac Girls, We Were the Lucky Ones, and The Alice Network.

BERLIN, 1939. The dreams that Amanda Sternberg and her husband, Julius, had for their daughters are shattered when the Nazis descend on Berlin, burning down their beloved family bookshop and sending Julius to a concentration camp. Desperate to save her children, Amanda flees toward the south of France, where the widow of an old friend of her husband’s has agreed to take her in. Along the way, a refugee ship headed for Cuba offers another chance at escape and there, at the dock, Amanda is forced to make an impossible choice that will haunt her for the rest of her life. Once in Haute-Vienne, her brief respite is interrupted by the arrival of Nazi forces, and Amanda finds herself in a labor camp where she must once again make a heroic sacrifice.

NEW YORK, 2015. Eighty-year-old Elise Duval receives a call from a woman bearing messages from a time and country that she forced herself to forget. A French Catholic who arrived in New York after World War II, Elise is shocked to discover that the letters were from her mother, written in German during the war. Despite Elise’s best efforts to stave off her past, seven decades of secrets begin to unravel.

Based on true events, The Daughter’s Tale chronicles one of the most harrowing atrocities perpetrated by the Nazis during the war. Heartbreaking and immersive, it is a beautifully crafted family saga of love, survival, and redemption.

©2019 Armando Lucas Correa (P)2019 Simon & Schuster

Ce que les auditeurs disent de The Daughter's Tale

Notations

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour INGRID
  • INGRID
  • 06/07/2019

Beautiful and heartbreaking

Beautifully written and so sad. The kind of book that leaves you thinking about how different the fate of the daughters could have been if different choices were made at different times. And it shows how a mother’s love of her children is like nothing else.

5 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour susan s. cohen
  • susan s. cohen
  • 24/06/2019

One of the best

This book was amazing. The characters were so richly drawn. The description of all the locations made me feel as though I was in each place. The author has done an excellent job. Her language is beautiful .. so well written. If you like historical fiction or just a great book, this is for you.

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Miss Manners
  • Miss Manners
  • 18/11/2019

Captivating , and Complex

Keep your mind on this & don't stop listening. It is not easy to follow in an AUDIO BOOK.. It makes me wish I had the printed version. It has two stories going at once. , so stay alert and it does have a story that is difficult to think of happening. The detailed descriptions of each scene were wonderful. You could feel the hunger pains, you could hear the pain in the reader's voice. Casandra Campbell is a wonderful reader, but it seems she had a difficult time keeping the voices sorted out..or just my non ability to understand a French or German accent.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Linda D. Petersen
  • Linda D. Petersen
  • 06/09/2019

Easy, if painful historical fiction.

Well written. i learned, once again, how the evil Nazi regime was the epitome of satanic infiltration in this time period.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01/08/2019

Depressing

The narrator is excellent. The prose is very good. The story is one sad tale after the next. Every bad thing that happens in WWII stories is retold once again. Every event is pitiful. The story starts with the main character dying of a heart attack and then reviews her sad life. It ends with her death. I think I have read too many WWII books!

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour paula wright
  • paula wright
  • 22/06/2019

Very good but sad. Bittersweet

I’ve read many ww2 historical fiction books and this is one of the best. Still I would love to talk to author with several questions I can’t resolve myself. Wrightinspectionservice@yahoo.com One of the best endings. Stay tuned for epilogue also

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Natosha Smith
  • Natosha Smith
  • 21/02/2020

Wonderful

Loved this book! Couldn't put it down! Fabulously read, loved her voices! Well written! We won't forget!

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Miriam
  • Miriam
  • 19/02/2020

Intriguing

Very interesting story. Enjoyable listen. Twists and turns were not unexpected, but very heart wrenching.

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Utilisateur anonyme
  • Utilisateur anonyme
  • 03/02/2020

it was ok

I found the story line hard to follow at times. I thought I would really enjoy this book, but it was just ok.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour MAK & ALK
  • MAK & ALK
  • 15/01/2020

Excellent Book!

Best read in 2019! Highly recommend this book, especially for those who are interested in the WWII time frame!