Votre titre Audible gratuit

The Affiliate

De : K.A. Linde
Lu par : Erin Mallon
Série : Ascension (Linde), Volume 1
Durée : 10 h et 42 min
4 out of 5 stars (1 notation)

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

On the day of her Presenting, in front of the entire Byern Court, 17-year-old Cyrene Strohm's lifelong plans come to fruition when she's chosen for one of the most prestigious positions in her homeland - an Affiliate to the Queen.

Or so she thinks.

When Cyrene receives a mysterious letter and an unreadable book, she finds nothing is as it seems. Thrust into a world of dangerous political intrigue and deadly magic, Cyrene's position only grows more treacherous when she finds herself drawn to the one man she can never have...King Edric himself.

Cyrene must decide if love is truly worth the price of freedom.

Find out in this first book in USA Today best-selling author K.A. Linde's new Ascension series. Great for fans of Game of Thrones, Tudors, and Sarah J. Maas's Throne of Glass series.

©2015 K.A. Linde (P)2016 Audible, Inc.

Commentaires

"With rich romance and twisty political intrigue, The Affiliate is a breakneck fantasy ride that's perfect for fans of The Selection or Throne of Glass." (Susan Dennard, NYT bestselling author of Truthwitch)

Ce que les auditeurs disent de The Affiliate

Notations
Global
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Interprétation
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Histoire
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Allison
  • Allison
  • 16/05/2019

Don’t waste your time

I bought this during Audible’s first in a series sale and had high hopes. I love audio books and listen to them during my long commute to work. Don’t bother buying this unless you’re a teenaged girl. The story was so cliche and cringe worthy. The narrators breathless way of voicing the main character was enough to put my teeth on edge. Affiliates are not explained nor is the Consort or the class system. I would really like someone to explain to me how this girl managed to knock out a member of the royal household only to have him come back later and laugh about the obvious assault. Then call the main character ‘fun’. Don’t waste your money. I don’t know how this is a book series. This entire book is worse than the ending of Divergent.

4 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Priscilla
  • Priscilla
  • 25/05/2017

Not a fan of Narrator

The story it's self was good, however the narrator kind of got on my nerves. I thought she tried to be "too breathy" all the time and she put inflection in weird spots that took away from what she was reading instead of enhancing it. It wasn't enough of an annoyance that I couldn't listen, but I found myself rolling my eyes numerous times because of the way she read parts.

8 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Mary
  • Mary
  • 04/02/2017

Boring

Honestly this book was just so boring. It has great reviews so even though it started slowly I figured I would be patient and give it a chance. Ended up stopping in the middle of the "climax" and returning it because I just could not bring myself to care how it ended.

The main character obviously has some sort of special destiny/power/thing happening with her, but rather than focusing on that, she spends the whole book torn between two guys - one who tries to date rape her upon first meeting and his brother who is also only interested in getting to sleep with her. I'm all for a good love triangle but the author gives exactly one reason for the main character to be interested in both of them - they're hot. I need at least one redeeming quality to understand her interest in either of them.

I was also not a fan of the narrator as she made the female characters sound excessively whiny.

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Jill
  • Jill
  • 08/05/2019

Patience young grasshopper

This is a world building book. Introductions to many characters, the backstory of magic, the political machinations; at the end you can feel why it matters so much. I just finished and can’t believe it took so much time to set up even though it didn’t feel like a while books worth. Just like the “if you like these books” suggestions—they are set up similarly and the reward is sweet therefore I’m putting faith in Audible and ploughing forward.
I am eager and hopeful and can see disaster and joy hovering in the wings. Can’t wait for the next phase of the ride.
Very light on romance-hoping for more in the next books.
Narrator did a great job.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour ProfileName
  • ProfileName
  • 02/02/2017

blah

Would you try another book from K.A. Linde and/or Erin Mallon?

I probably would not

What was most disappointing about K.A. Linde’s story?

the character did some very stupid things.. The chick was very basic. Some of the dialogue was elementary.

Could you see The Affiliate being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

No!!!

Any additional comments?

Do not waste your time. I will be honest, some of the story was okay but most of it was idiotic.

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Richelle Robinson
  • Richelle Robinson
  • 19/10/2016

4 Fantasy Stars

When I first saw that K.A. Linde was coming out with "The Affiliate" I was on the fence because it wasn't my normal romance genre. So I pretty much wrote this book off and didn't even give it a chance in the beginning. For that I truly apologize. This book was so good I didn't want it to end. If you're like me and romance jaded, I beg you to take a chance on this book! It's different from her other books but a good different and the plot keeps you intrigued. Linde's attention to detail in this book was amazing! It felt like I was there in Byern. If you are still on the fence have two yummy guys,King Edric and Prince Kael to drool over! But on serious note all fans of Linde really need to give this series a shot! Don't make the same mistakes I did. Also if you can definitely pick up the audio narration as well. It definitely enhanced the story!

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Kelsey Lee Niehenke
  • Kelsey Lee Niehenke
  • 12/07/2017

Disappointed

I had high hopes for this book, but it did not take too long before I began to be disappointed. The overall storyline was interesting, but it could have been so, so much better with deeper character development. I never grew even remotely attached to any of the characters and I only hung onto the story until the end because I was curious about the murders. There were so many things in the story that the author could have expanded on to engage the reader and bring more depth to the story, but instead she just stated things as fact and moved on. Returned both the book and the audible recording after finishing as well as the second one I had already purchased because I had no interest in continuing.

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Jacqulynn
  • Jacqulynn
  • 21/07/2020

Great narrator, Disappointing Story

This book was a DNF for me. I made it to Chapter 11, before giving up. I really liked the narrator, she did quite well. I just couldn't get into the story. It was slow moving and I had a problem with the royals treating the main character like trash.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour LIZ
  • LIZ
  • 20/05/2020

It spoke of caution

The Affiliate is the first book in the Ascension Series. A YA Fantasy with a spunky heroine and plenty of suitors vying for her attention. When Cyrene Strohm becomes an affiliate to the queen, her entire life is altered. She is swept into a deep dark mystery full of magic and intrigue. When the unforbidden attention of the King becomes her new reality, Cyrene’s struggles are only beginning.

The Affiliate offers a magical plot with numerous players in the game. Be forewarned there is a lot going on in this plot, so you will want to pay close attention to every single detail!

Overall, The Affiliate will appeal to YA romance fans who enjoy a little magic and intrigue in their reads. This plot is complex, so readers will need to be on guard the entire read so they don’t miss a thing!


  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Nina DuBois
  • Nina DuBois
  • 17/05/2020

Erin Mallon is the best

Loved Erin Mallon. She always does such an amazing job and I know I'm never disappointed when she's narrating. There is just something about her voice that I absolutely love. I think she is the reason why it was so easy stay interested in this story and stay entertained.

Now that I've read this book I feel quite let down because I'd been wanting to read this book for a while. It would have been better if every event clearly connected and flowed easily into the main plot of the story. Instead its kinda chunked into sections with no clear direction that one event leads to another. The mystery doesn't build up to this revelation at the end. We also have a forbidden romance between Cyrene and King Edric and while I did love it a little bit, I wish it was more of a slow burn type of romance with stolen moments and sneaking glances. For the most part I forgot about King Edric's attraction to Cyrene. I'm fine with romance being downplayed in fantasy novels, but I feel like it was sometimes thrown in there like, "oh yea King Edric wants Cyrene so bad."

I may read the next book, but its not a for sure thing. I really want to like this story. Don't get me wrong, the author is a good writer because I can easily read her books even if I'm not loving the story. I never at any point felt the need to DNF this book. It kept me intrigued from beginning to end. There's a chance the story comes together better in the next book.