Votre titre Audible gratuit

Scared to Death

Cherringham - A Cosy Crime Series: Mystery Shorts 27
Lu par : Neil Dudgeon
Durée : 3 h et 4 min
5 out of 5 stars (1 notation)

Prix : 2,62 €

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

Description

When classic horror movie star Basil Coates becomes the victim of a series of scary pranks, the local police put it down to a crazed fan. Just pranks, after all... But with Halloween only days away, the spectre of murder suddenly visits the ghostly Coates mansion on the hill outside Cherringham - and Jack and Sarah find themselves caught in a mystery worthy of Basil's spookiest roles...

Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new audio episode released every two weeks. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick listen for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury.

Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90's, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few. Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series Cherringham.

The narrator of the audiobook, Neil Dudgeon, has been in many British television programmes including the roles of DCI John Barnaby in "Midsomer Murders" and Jim Riley in "The Life of Riley". He is also known for his film roles in "The Nativity", "Sorted" and "Son of Rambow". In 2012 Dudgeon starred as Norman Birkett on BBC Radio 4's Afternoon Play series written by Caroline and David Stafford.

©2019 Lübbe Audio (P)2019 Lübbe Audio

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Notations

Global

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Mary P.
  • Mary P.
  • 12/02/2019

Just keep getting better...

In particular, Neil Dudgeon is an excellent narrator. He gets the accents perfectly, especially Jack’s Yankee New Yorker vocalization.
The stories are always interesting, quirky, and not easy to put down.
I do believe I have the complete Audible collection and I’ve been re-listening to them for the past months and enjoying them all over again!
Very enjoyable and I have recommended the Cherringham collections to friends and family.

4 sur 4 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Marily
  • Marily
  • 19/03/2019

Vampires never Die

Love these books!
Would you believe a small Cotswold town holds an old dark castle?
Love this reader who brings these stories to life!
Can you believe old and new vampires never die? Or do they?
On Halloween two old actors whose fame was built on playing Dracula awaken old wounds and deceptions to bring a close to their anger.
All this takes place in quiet peaceful Cherringham.

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Whirligig
  • Whirligig
  • 29/06/2019

Story included in another Cherringham compiliation

I bought this title in March and then bought the Cherringham - A Cosy Crime Series Compilation - Cherringham 25-27 the following month in which this story is one of the three stories. I didn't realize my mistake until I started listening to this title in June. Don't order this title if you intend to get Books 25-27 in the one title.
I love the Cherringham series for the stories, the characters, and the narration.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour LOVETOQUILT
  • LOVETOQUILT
  • 21/06/2019

How do they do it?

The Cherringham mysteries are so good. I never guess “who dun it”. I type I love and with great characters and an excellent reader too

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Nancy
  • Nancy
  • 14/03/2019

I never get tired of this series!

Love each plot with the old characters as well as the new. Gives an interesting look into various personalities . Admire and enjoy Neil Dudgeon's narratives.


  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour F. McMillan
  • F. McMillan
  • 09/04/2019

Disappointed in this one

I have listened to most of the Cherringham series. This audio book seemed more cheesy and absurd than the others and, while I have never been a fan of this narrator, his gravelly voice was just more grating to my ears this time. I don't know if I will continue with the series.

0 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Trish R.
  • Trish R.
  • 11/03/2019

I'd like to live in Cherringham..


This was about an old horror film actor who was having spooky things done in his home to his wife and him until it killed him, then it was up to Jack and Sarah to figure out who killed Basil Coates.

As to the narration: Neil Dudgeon does a fantastic job on the voices and the emotions he reads with.

0 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Kristie
  • Kristie
  • 05/03/2019

I really enjoy listening to the Cherringhamm books

I enjoy most of these books that I have listened to but am really having a hard time listening to them because the sound is not as good as it was and I can't hear it all.

0 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.