Votre titre Audible gratuit

Saint X

A Novel
Durée : 12 h et 25 min
Catégories : Anglais - Fiction, Literary

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

"Alexis Schaitkin's splashy debut novel, Saint X, is an audiobook lover's dream.... Queue this one up for a murderous, dreamy delight." (Paste)

Hailed as a "marvel of a book" and "brilliant and unflinching," Alexis Schaitkin’s stunning debut, Saint X, is a haunting portrait of grief, obsession, and the bond between two sisters never truly given the chance to know one another.

Claire is only seven years old when her college-age sister, Alison, disappears on the last night of their family vacation at a resort on the Caribbean island of Saint X. Several days later, Alison’s body is found in a remote spot on a nearby cay, and two local men - employees at the resort - are arrested. But the evidence is slim, the timeline against it, and the men are soon released. The story turns into national tabloid news, a lurid mystery that will go unsolved. For Claire and her parents, there is only the return home to broken lives.

Years later, Claire is living and working in New York City when a brief but fateful encounter brings her together with Clive Richardson, one of the men originally suspected of murdering her sister. It is a moment that sets Claire on an obsessive pursuit of the truth - not only to find out what happened the night of Alison’s death but also to answer the elusive question: Who exactly was her sister? At seven, Claire had been barely old enough to know her: a beautiful, changeable, provocative girl of 18 at a turbulent moment of identity formation.

As Claire doggedly shadows Clive, hoping to gain his trust, waiting for the slip that will reveal the truth, an unlikely attachment develops between them, two people whose lives were forever marked by the same tragedy.

For fans of Emma Cline’s The Girls and Lauren Groff’s Fates and Furies, Saint X is a flawlessly drawn and deeply moving story that culminates in an emotionally powerful ending.

Praise for Saint X:

"Here is a marvel of a book, a kaleidoscopic examination of race and privilege, family and self, told with the propulsive, kinetic focus of a crime thriller. Brilliant and unflinching, Saint X marks the debut of a stunningly gifted writer. I simply couldn’t stop reading." (Chang-Rae Lee, author of On Such a Full Sea)

“Richly atmospheric, by turns coolly satiric and warmly romantic, Alexis Schaitkin’s brilliant debut novel Saint X imagines a chorus of voices in the aftermath of the alleged rape/murder of a privileged American girl vacationing in an exotic Caribbean country. Part ’true-crime’ thriller and part coming-of-age novel narrated by the deceased girl’s younger sister, Saint X is irresistibly suspenseful and canny." (Joyce Carol Oates)

©2019 Alexis Schaitkin (P)2019 Macmillan Audio

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Housepants97
  • Housepants97
  • 21/02/2020

Why do the best books of the year always come out so early? Now I have nothing to look forward to...

STUNNING. Is it weird that I’m proud of Alexis Schaitken for writing such a great novel? A gorgeous trashy beach read that’s neither trashy or for the beach. Page turning, tear-inducing, poignant and bold af. Who knew a true crime novel about a juicy 1990s Lifetime movie of the week fable would result in profound deliberation about racism, classism, family, love, honesty and fear? I loved this book, highly recommend, and the narration is a SYMPHONY OF PERFECTION.

8 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Lewca
  • Lewca
  • 25/02/2020

I’d rather be alone with my thoughts...

I’ve given this book over five hours and oh how I wish I had that time back. Seven hours left and I’m out. Not only is there no mystery as your outright told who did wary on, there is so much jumping around and seemingly useless information given that I can’t force myself to pay attention. The loooooooong list of narrators should have been my first clue. I’ve listened to hundreds of books over the years and never had more than a couple narrators. This production is bizarre.

Skip it and save your credit.

4 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Margaret Bates
  • Margaret Bates
  • 04/03/2020

Saint X

This book was so scattered. I couldn’t keep the characters straight. After trying to read it for some time, I was lost.
Margaret Bates

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Susan
  • Susan
  • 13/03/2020

This was not what I expected

The book started out good but then lost its momentum. There was a lot of information about the island & not enough answers about the death. To be honest I almost gave up 1/2 way through. I would not give it a thumbs up. to many questions left un answered.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour M. Rodrigo
  • M. Rodrigo
  • 30/03/2020

Familiar fictionalized true crime story with not much “meat”

Very similar to the Natalie Holloway circumstances but it had potential as a fictional work. The writer has a nice cadence and prose-like flow but I felt she didn’t take us far enough to fully engage the character development and the unfortunately the plot didn’t take us far enough either. The ending is strange also, no spoilers here, I’ll just say it seems to come out of left field from a new POV. I’d really give it 2.5 stars overall and only 1.5 for the story.

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour J. Miller
  • J. Miller
  • 29/03/2020

Terrible, flat, monotone narration. So depressing

I can not speak to the story since I can't get past the first chapters without wanting to jump out of a window. Like thick mud. So dreary. Awful.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour M S
  • M S
  • 26/03/2020

It’s just SO good!

Love loved this book so much, highly recommend to everyone. You won’t regret the purchase! I need to form my own book club just to discuss and unpack everything! Wow!

  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Sara
  • Sara
  • 26/03/2020

Disappointing

I was excited by the reviews of this book, which promised insightful consideration of race and class alongside a more nuanced story of a girl gone missing than we usually get. It was definitely trying to be different but I ultimately found the book really disappointing and plodding and fast forwarded through most of the last chapters. The author just did not build the characters or the plot robustly enough even as she used wayyyyy too many words for repetitive descriptions of the minutiae of their lives. I was also honestly pretty disappointed by the authors rambling and navel gazing reflections on privilege, which reminded me of books like the Help that ultimately are really only interested in their white characters. Her descriptions of the black characters rang falsely to me and ultimately were left with a big pile of white guilt but no road forward. Wish I had skipped it!

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Elfie Rodriguez
  • Elfie Rodriguez
  • 22/03/2020

Slow at times and disappointing

I find myself at the end of the book and still confused about what happened. Though we have spent 90% of the book following Clive and his life story, it turns out he was not involved in her death and doesn’t know how it happened. While his story is engaging it’s not relevant to how Alison died. And in fact it’s still not clear to me how she died. The blood boy, the second most obvious choice is also not the killer. Though he is upset and ashamed of his behavior that night, he still left her alive. So how and when she went to the island and was killed in the waterfall pond —I guess we are to infer that it was just an accident. Suicide might have been more interesting.

The main character Claire/Emily is abnormal in many ways. It was hard for me to sympathize with her as she lets her life spiral down into obsession with the man who ultimately was not the reason for or part of her sisters death. I had truly wished for more intrigue and less meandering critique of white families, which seemed to me a bit like a black comedians parody of “white folks”.

I did finish the book. I was drawn to finish it. But once done I’m just unsatisfied.

  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Allen Miller
  • Allen Miller
  • 22/03/2020

Amazing variance in these reviews

My wife and I both tried for many hours to make our way through this book on a recent road trip.
The writing is good in that words, sentences, paragraphs are put together well. However there is just too much of it - too many words. This book goes on and on and on and on with prose that is not compelling. We quit the book once after several hours on our outbound drive. On the return drive we tried it again and didn't last nearly as long as the first try.