Votre titre Audible gratuit

Mexican Gothic

Lu par : Frankie Corzo
Durée : 10 h et 39 min
3,7 out of 5 stars (6 notations)

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

New York Times best seller

"It’s Lovecraft meets the Brontës in Latin America, and after a slow-burn start Mexican Gothic gets seriously weird." (The Guardian)

In development as a Hulu Original Limited Series produced by Kelly Ripa and Mark Consuelos.

An isolated mansion. A chillingly charismatic aristocrat. And a brave socialite drawn to expose their treacherous secrets.... From the author of Gods of Jade and Shadow comes "a terrifying twist on classic gothic horror" (Kirkus Reviews) set in glamorous 1950s Mexico.

After receiving a frantic letter from her newly wed cousin begging for someone to save her from a mysterious doom, Noemí Taboada heads to High Place, a distant house in the Mexican countryside. She’s not sure what she will find - her cousin’s husband, a handsome Englishman, is a stranger, and Noemí knows little about the region.

Noemí is also an unlikely rescuer: She’s a glamorous debutante, and her chic gowns and perfect red lipstick are more suited for cocktail parties than amateur sleuthing. But she’s also tough and smart, with an indomitable will, and she is not afraid: Not of her cousin’s new husband, who is both menacing and alluring; not of his father, the ancient patriarch who seems to be fascinated by Noemí; and not even of the house itself, which begins to invade Noemi’s dreams with visions of blood and doom.

Her only ally in this inhospitable abode is the family’s youngest son. Shy and gentle, he seems to want to help Noemí but might also be hiding dark knowledge of his family’s past. For there are many secrets behind the walls of High Place. The family’s once colossal wealth and faded mining empire kept them from prying eyes, but as Noemí digs deeper she unearths stories of violence and madness.

And Noemí, mesmerized by the terrifying yet seductive world of High Place, may soon find it impossible to ever leave this enigmatic house behind.

"It’s as if a supernatural power compels us to turn the pages of the gripping Mexican Gothic." (The Washington Post)

"Mexican Gothic is the perfect summer horror read, and marks Moreno-Garcia with her hypnotic and engaging prose as one of the genre’s most exciting talents." (Nerdist)

"A period thriller as rich in suspense as it is in lush ’50s atmosphere." (Entertainment Weekly)

©2020 Silvia Moreno-Garcia (P)2020 Random House Audio

Ce que les auditeurs disent de Mexican Gothic

Notations
Global
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    2
  • 3 étoiles
    3
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Interprétation
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    3
  • 4 étoiles
    2
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0
Histoire
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    2
  • 3 étoiles
    3
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

glacant, captivant, excellent

on plonge progressivement dans une ambiance très glauque et effrayante. L'a révélation du secret familiale est originale et la fin est réussie, ce qui est trop rare à mon goût dans les "romans d'horreur".

Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Christel Thomas
  • Christel Thomas
  • 10/07/2020

Lacking, Disappointing, Not Developed

I was completely sold on the overwhelming amount of positive reviews for this book. I was SO excited. The premise is unique, the location and characters are unique, and other people seemed to really love this book. Initially I thought it was the narration, I just could not get into the story. But I really tried to stay with it because some of the BEST books start off slow and turn into something magically if you just persevere. As the chapters rolled by I watched my hope evaporate by the minute. No character development, no atmosphere, no depth whatsoever, completely 2D characters. It was such a letdown. The dialogue is super basic, it was just so vanilla. Pedestrian. The writing doesn’t ever CONNECT you to the places or people. There is no feeling. It’s vapid and boring. Sorry, I know everyone else seems to think this book was just phenomenal, I want my money back. Total letdown.

31 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Jennie Watters
  • Jennie Watters
  • 03/07/2020

Guillermo del Toro should direct the film

Director Guillermo del Toro (Pan's Labyrinth, Crimson Peak) should buy the rights and give this story the lavish movie adaptation it deserves. Silvia Moreno-Garcia has created a masterful period mystery with style, horror and compelling characters. Set in 1950s Mexico, we first meet ambitious, outgoing and high class socialite Noemí in her element of parties and flirtation. However, she is soon swept off to visit her cousin, a newlywed who lives in a crumbling Victorian mansion with oppressive rules and unfriendly relatives. Poor Catalina is practically a prisoner in her own home, but it seems to Noemí that there is more than a controlling husband to contend with at "High Place" (the name of the estate.) Perhaps something supernatural lurks, perhaps something even more terrifying than ghosts... Additional comments: This book starts slow but builds to a spectacular, heart-thumping climax. Don't listen to it at night if you are trying to get any sleep! I made that mistake and was up all night. At first, I wasn't too keen on the narrator but she really grew on me and by the end of the book I liked her a great deal.

29 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Maggie
  • Maggie
  • 02/07/2020

Exceeded All Expectations

Loved every thing about this book. Vivid descriptions paired with mystery, action, romance, and horror. I was intrigued because it was recommended for fans of Rebecca and Jane Eyre, both of which are too 5 favorites, so my expectations were very high. My expectations were not only met but completely blown out of the water. I loved this Mexican Gothic tale and will probably listen to it again very soon.

18 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Jørgen Laursen
  • Jørgen Laursen
  • 04/07/2020

Unputdownable

Imagine a cross between Rebecca, Invasion of the Body Snatchers, Fifty Shades of Grey and The Girl with All the Gifts written by Stephen King by way of Angela Carter on mescaline ... and you begin to approach the sheer brilliance of this novel. It is utterly spellbinding and completely unputdownable. The author, Silvia Moreno-Garcia, just keeps ratcheting up the suspense, landing blow after blow on the unsuspecting reader as she takes the plot off in wildly unexpected directions, pulling the rug away from under us. I was gobsmacked. Gobsmacked and utterly riveted. An 𝒆𝒙𝒄𝒆𝒍𝒍𝒆𝒏𝒕 thriller! ☺

15 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Harley
  • Harley
  • 02/07/2020

amazing story

this story had one of the best slow burns ever and the climax is glorious

14 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour erinbpl
  • erinbpl
  • 22/07/2020

High hopes lead to a let down.

I was really looking forward to listening to this selection. The synopsis of the story leads you to believe that this is a thriller. It is actually a snooze fest. The narrator’s voice is dull and lifeless and the premise is the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard. I’m all for imaginative ways of writing but this one is a bit out there. Not at all what I was expecting. A complete let down.

13 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Gishwhes
  • Gishwhes
  • 02/07/2020

Me encanto!

Finished this book in 2 days. loved the angsty story with the Mexico backdrop. i've never read/heard a story like this.

13 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Ena
  • Ena
  • 22/07/2020

Boring...

I struggled but was unable to finish this book. The narrator had no sense of emotions just read through the words and the story just dragged. Too boring.

12 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Jilly
  • Jilly
  • 23/07/2020

Disappointment

I was disappointed with this audible story, which was slow and boring. The narration was monotone and only the last hour became interesting.

9 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour eve
  • eve
  • 04/07/2020

Slow Burn Horror

Seventy percent of this book was following a flighty socialite flirting for favors, shuddering in passions, in fears, in malaise, and choking on shame - it was boring. Then it was properly good. This would have been best as a novella for the anthology Fungi. Yes, I see all of the classics she pulled from, and even a touch of The Fountain (2006), a movie I never understood but that still had me in tears. But I never liked Noemí Taboada so it is with great reluctance I yield four stars.

6 personnes ont trouvé cela utile