Votre titre Audible gratuit

Kingdom of Souls

Lu par : Robin Miles
Série : Kingdom of Souls, Volume 1
Durée : 16 h et 16 min

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

A girl with no gifts must bargain for the power to fight her own mother’s dark schemes - even if the price is her life.

Crackling with dark magic, unspeakable betrayal, and daring twists you won’t see coming, this explosive YA fantasy debut is a can’t-miss, high-stakes epic perfect for fans of Strange the Dreamer and Children of Blood and Bone.

“Magnetic and addictive. This book is black girl magic at its finest.” (New York Times best-selling author Dhonielle Clayton)

Heir to two lines of powerful witchdoctors, Arrah yearns for magic of her own. Yet she fails at bone magic, fails to call upon her ancestors, and fails to live up to her family’s legacy. Under the disapproving eye of her mother, the Kingdom’s most powerful priestess and seer, she fears she may never be good enough.

But when the Kingdom’s children begin to disappear, Arrah is desperate enough to turn to a forbidden, dangerous ritual. If she has no magic of her own, she’ll have to buy it - by trading away years of her own life.

Arrah’s borrowed power reveals a nightmarish betrayal, and on its heels, a rising tide of darkness that threatens to consume her and all those she loves. She must race to unravel a twisted and deadly scheme...before the fight costs more than she can afford.

Set in a richly imagined world inspired by whispered tales of voodoo and folk magic, Rena Barron’s captivating debut is the beginning of a thrilling saga about a girl caught between gods, monsters, and the gift and the curse of power.

“Masterful.” (SLJ, starred review)

©2019 Rena Barron (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

Autres livres audio du même :

Ce que les auditeurs disent de Kingdom of Souls

Notations

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour LexiLikesLiterature
  • LexiLikesLiterature
  • 06/09/2019

Potentially Epic Series

By Renna Barron Narrated by Robin Miles I found myself torn with this book. This is such a intricately detailed fantasy story. It reminds me slightly of The Fifth Season be N.K. Jemisin. The main character is a teenager who is seeking her place in a magical world where she feels insignificant. The author takes us through Arrah's struggles to gain magic and the approval of her mother and tribe. I found this book both intriguing and disturbing. I loved the concept of the feuding witch doctors coming together to fight against the Demon King. This portion of the story was the most interesting and easiest to read. Unfortunately, I felt intense sadness through 90% of this story. The main character is constantly being put down both mentally and physically. There isn't a moment where you think she is gonna win or that the world will be saved. I'm not saying that every book has to have Shimmer and Gumdrops, but the majority of this book is like a rainy day at the beach. It just felt sad and gloomy. Maybe this is a trend now because I felt the same way about NEVER CONTENTED THINGS by Sarah Porter. I also had an issue with how the story flowed. It seemed to move extremely slow, especially in the first quarter. The narrator was Robin Miles. I loved her in the Binti series, but this one had too many characters for her to voice. At times there was no distinction between who was speaking. She has a beautiful tone to her voice. Its extremely soothing, so I both loved and disliked her on this one. I hate to leave this review with what will be considered by some to be negative critiques, so let me end by saying that I loved the overall concept/plot of the book. A teenage witch doctor who must fight her half-demon sister who wants to unleash the Demon King. This Demon King takes child sacrifices and eats souls. That sounds like some awesome stuff! I just wish that was the focus of the book. Some of the other details and side stories with the mother, the almost-boyfriend, and the ending with the Gods caused me to pause. But those are my personal opinions folks. I do believe that the author should be super proud of this piece of art and that this series has potential to be EPIC. 3 Stars 🌟🌟🌟- Good Book. I like the overall concept.

7 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour A.
  • A.
  • 03/10/2019

Hopeless

this book gave me the feeling of so much hopelessness. Nothing good happened. everything that happened is horrible. Constant betrayal and mistreatment. it's a good story. but I don't think I can read the next book.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Dire
  • Dire
  • 08/09/2020

OMG so glad I found this book!

I will say that as a book this read more like a script than a book and it was a bit of a struggle to get thru the first 10 chapters as the story had a really slow start. Trust me I get it as the world needed to be setup as well as the characters. THAT being said when it did pick up OMG! SO GOOD! I would love to see this turned into a movie or a show because it a world that needs to be show in film media at some point. CAN'T wait for book 2 "Reaper of Souls" to be released.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Jeanae
  • Jeanae
  • 30/06/2020

this was pretty dope!

I really liked this book! the story had a lot of twists and turns, and kept you guessing what the real truth was. very good read.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 19/03/2020

Great Story! Hoping for more!

I really enjoyed this book and the second half is far better than the first so stick with it. I'm really hoping the author writes more in this world.

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Kendall
  • Kendall
  • 11/03/2020

It’s Ok

The voice actors were good but the story and main character was annoying! Focused too much her whining and lusting after a boy instead of building the world and story!

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 28/02/2020

captivating story

struggled to finish. I had to go back to pik up details I missed. The reader was good but so many characters it was hard to differentiate the voices.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Papa O
  • Papa O
  • 21/11/2019

Beautifully Woven

At first I was confused about how the use of Orisa which the Author used untraditionally however the story pulled you in and makes you want to explore

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour jamal liles
  • jamal liles
  • 06/11/2019

Amazing Story

There is a competition in this book often I listen to a decent story with a great narrator or vice versa but this book has both an amazing story and a great story teller two thumbs up

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Ruthi
  • Ruthi
  • 06/10/2019

Wonderful

love this, mazel tov to Rena Barron for her awesome success already with this book! Can’t wait to see the movie/TV show version especially with my non-reader partner - this story is EXACTLY him! & with Michael B Jordan involved, it’s sure to be absolutely amazing!

Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 20/07/2020

Einfach super!!

I can't wait for the next one. The speakers accent and way to tell the Story add a spark of magic to the All Story. The Story is impeccable. My hear still aches