Votre titre Audible gratuit

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Vous êtes membre Amazon Prime ?

Bénéficiez automatiquement de 2 livres audio offerts.
Bonne écoute !

    Description

    Two sensational unsolved crimes - one in the past, another in the present - are linked by one man’s memory and self-deception in this chilling novel of literary suspense from National Book Award finalist Dan Chaon. 

    “We are always telling a story to ourselves, about ourselves.” 

    This is one of the little mantras Dustin Tillman likes to share with his patients, and it’s meant to be reassuring. But what if that story is a lie? 

    A psychologist in suburban Cleveland, Dustin is drifting through his forties when he hears the news: His adopted brother, Rusty, is being released from prison. Thirty years ago, Rusty received a life sentence for the massacre of Dustin’s parents, aunt, and uncle. The trial came to epitomize the 1980s hysteria over Satanic cults; despite the lack of physical evidence, the jury believed the outlandish accusations Dustin and his cousin made against Rusty. Now, after DNA analysis has overturned the conviction, Dustin braces for a reckoning.

    Meanwhile, one of Dustin’s patients has been plying him with stories of the drowning deaths of a string of drunk college boys. At first, Dustin dismisses his patient's suggestions that a serial killer is at work as paranoid thinking, but as the two embark on an amateur investigation, Dustin starts to believe that there’s more to the deaths than coincidence. Soon, he becomes obsessed, crossing all professional boundaries - and putting his own family in harm’s way. From one of today’s most renowned practitioners of literary suspense, Ill Will is an intimate thriller about the failures of memory and the perils of self-deception. In Dan Chaon’s nimble, chilling prose, the past looms over the present, turning each into a haunted place.

    Cast of Narrators:

    Ari Fliakos as the Narrator
    Edoardo Ballerini as Dustin
    Michael Crouch as Aaron
    Alex McKenna as Wave and Kate
    Scott Aiello as Rusty 

    PRAISE FOR DAN CHAON

    Among the Missing

    “Unforgettable...hums with life and wry humor.... The stories sneak resolutely up on you, like new weather that hits before you know it.” (The New York Times Book Review

    “One of those writers who possess an uncanny and seemingly otherwordly understanding of the human condition...Chaon [is] a remarkable chronicler of a very American kind of sadness, much in the tradition of Richard Yates, Raymond Carver, and Denis Johnson.” (San Francisco Chronicle

    You Remind Me of Me

    “Remarkable...weaves the threads into a whole that is not only satisfying but devastating.” (Entertainment Weekly (Editor’s Choice) 

    “Extraordinary...renews my faith in the unique capacity of literature to help us understand and ultimately respect ourselves and the strange, baffling, complex figures we all can be.” (Houston Chronicle)

    ©2017 Dan Chaon (P)2017 Random House Audio

    Autres livres audio du même :

    Ce que les auditeurs disent de Ill Will

    Notations

    Commentaires - Veuillez sélectionner les onglets ci-dessous pour changer la provenance des commentaires.

    Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
    Trier par :
    Trier par:
    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour cristina
    • cristina
    • 23/03/2017

    Not for those who like rosy things

    This is a very dark book which accounts for the disparate reviews. If you like uplifting stories of triumph over adversity, this is not for you. If you like brilliant writing and unusual characters, give it a try. It is totally unexpected and I am already listening to another one by the same author (equally dark...Mr. Chaon is not a happy man). Yes, the ending could have been different, but I didn't find it as jarring as some of the other reviewers. In fact, it almost had to be so. And the performances are stellar. Ballerini has always been one of my favorite narrators but all of the others do a great job as well.

    25 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour justin day
    • justin day
    • 17/03/2017

    A Certain Kind

    This is a certain kind of book for a certain kind of person. It's going to divide people. To read it is to take a chance. If you are going to take that chance, don't spoil it by reading tons of reviews. Just dive in.

    15 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour W Perry Hall
    • W Perry Hall
    • 18/02/2018

    Eerily electric, Cerebral thriller


    An eerily electric and cerebral thriller with undertones of horror

    How reliable are our memories from childhood? Are some just echoes of hallucinations? Were some placed by suggestion or shaded by self-delusion? Were the unsolved murders of the protagonist's parents really part of a satanic ritual or was all 'evidence' of such attributable to the 1980s hysteria for suspecting murderers-for-Mephistopheles?

    Dan Chaon is a maestro at modulating keys of madness and fear in both the protagonist and the reader. As Ill Will progresses in intentional fragments from various POVs and times, the story gets more hazy and more harrowing, with an unsettling sense in the subtext of the sordid and at times the perversely erotic.

    And yet, putting this book down is like awaking from a nightmare and feeling the urge of self-preservation to re-enter it because you were right on the verge of figuring everything out.

    The novel is the cynosure of creeping doom and escalating uncertainty. So, beware of the scrooping sounds from the chorus of criticasters who need their stories to end in a nice tight package to appreciate literary brilliance. Ill Will will have your hair on end and leave you with cold blood coursing your veins.

    4 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      1 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Linda
    • Linda
    • 23/07/2017

    STRANGE

    This is one weird book. Many characters, disjointed,convoluted!
    A story about a totally disfunctional family. The characters are depressing and unlikeable.

    5 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      1 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Xero Hax
    • Xero Hax
    • 02/07/2017

    No resolution.

    Nothing gets resolved. The writer purposefully leaves almost all questions unanswered. Fantastic narration.

    Really good writing, too.

    5 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour M. Kramer
    • M. Kramer
    • 01/04/2017

    Tense

    A great story. Well written and very well read. The readers did a great job.

    4 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      2 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Will
    • Will
    • 13/09/2019

    kinda Disappointed.

    Took a chance, mainly because two of my favorite narrators, were apart of what became a great narrated AB, however; the story was just decent, and you really had to pay attention because of the flashbacks, and multiple narrators, or you would get lost, and the ending was very anticlimactic.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour A. Cohen
    • A. Cohen
    • 19/06/2019

    A dark and powerful book.

    This is an excellent book. Dark yes. Depressing sure. However, all the reviews claiming the ending is unresolved and/or confusing are completely missing the point.

    Unless you demand simple plots and cliched endings, ignore the negative reviews and enjoy this complex, disturbing, original work.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour LucyScofield
    • LucyScofield
    • 06/08/2018

    A GREAT STORY VIVIDLY PERFORMED

    Dan Chaon writes without flinching of the consequences of our cruelties, both intentional and casual, to one another. This story, which is performed with perfect pitch, will reverberate and endure in your mind.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Gerry Levine
    • Gerry Levine
    • 13/05/2018

    What we don’t know we create

    Disturbing tale told by degraded souls of a blended family each of whom is in search of the elusive details of their lives... and deaths. Eerie, intense, at times terrifying reminding us we really know much less about people than we want to believe. The readings and voices draw out the story very effectively.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile