Votre titre Audible gratuit

If You Come Softly

Twentieth Anniversary Edition
Série : If You Come Softly, Volume 1
Durée : 3 h et 42 min
5,0 out of 5 stars (1 notation)

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

A lyrical story of star-crossed love perfect for readers of The Hate U Give, by national ambassador for children’s literature Jacqueline Woodson - now celebrating its 20th anniversary, and including a new preface by the author

Jeremiah feels good inside his own skin. That is, when he's in his own Brooklyn neighborhood. But now he's going to be attending a fancy prep school in Manhattan, and black teenage boys don't exactly fit in there. So it's a surprise when he meets Ellie the first week of school. In one frozen moment their eyes lock, and after that they know they fit together - even though she's Jewish and he's black. Their worlds are so different, but to them that's not what matters. Too bad the rest of the world has to get in their way.    

Jacqueline Woodson's work has been called “moving and resonant” (Wall Street Journal) and “gorgeous” (Vanity Fair). If You Come Softly is a powerful story of interracial love that leaves readers wondering "why" and "if only..."

©2006 Jacqueline Woodson (P)2018 Listening Library

Ce que les auditeurs disent de If You Come Softly

Notations
Global
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Interprétation
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Histoire
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Kristen Anderson
  • Kristen Anderson
  • 13/03/2018

Such a touching story

I wasn't expecting to feel the love between these two kids as fiercely as I did.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Rose Misseri
  • Rose Misseri
  • 26/07/2020

Stunning

I don’t think I have works to describe how impactful this book is. Listen to it, but be warned. It requires that you feel something and respond to those feelings.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Jewell Campbell
  • Jewell Campbell
  • 27/04/2020

If you come softly.

I simply could not put this book down. This book will continue to be relevant now and in years to come. Love is love. I was moved to tears and the narrations were perfect. As I hold the physical book in my hand, I know that it will be on one of my favorites.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour almira wimberly
  • almira wimberly
  • 25/02/2020

Beautiful

Two teens who were trying to fight the odds of interracial dating and being ok with who they were. It was a well written story and I loved it from the beginning to the end!

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Samantha Bakunzi
  • Samantha Bakunzi
  • 01/08/2019

amazing

amazing, so beautifully written. It broke my heart. I am crying while finishing this amazing work of art

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Ellen W.
  • Ellen W.
  • 21/04/2019

Excellent

This book is excellent and important - it should be assigned reading in many middle and high school classes, and I hope that it is. It fosters understanding and compassion and is an all-around good read. I also enjoyed the performance of it, especially Guy Lockard's work.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04/04/2019

Rip my heart out, but make it poetic

Good golly I wasn’t expecting to be so broken hearted after finishing this book. It was written in 1999 and 20 years later it feels like it could have been written today. Excellent book. Highly recommend, but get ready for pain.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Paula Perry
  • Paula Perry
  • 22/10/2018

Beautfully Heartbreaking

This book is about love, and how sometimes it happens so quickly and so strongly you can’t image how you lived without it.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Christian
  • Christian
  • 05/07/2018

If You Come Softly

Glad it's finally in audio form! I have always loved this book. Thank You, Jacqueline!