Votre titre Audible gratuit

Dear Mrs. Bird

De : AJ Pearce
Lu par : Anna Popplewell
Durée : 9 h et 48 min
2,0 out of 5 stars (1 notation)

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

"A marvelous treat. Charming and delightful." (Nina Stibbe, author of Love, Nina)

An irresistible debut set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist - a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.

London, 1940. Emmeline Lake is Doing Her Bit for the war effort, volunteering as a telephone operator with the Auxiliary Fire Services. When Emmy sees an advertisement for a job at the London Evening Chronicle, her dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent suddenly seem achievable. But the job turns out to be working as a typist for the fierce and renowned advice columnist Henrietta Bird. Emmy is disappointed but gamely bucks up and buckles down.

Mrs. Bird is very clear: Letters containing any Unpleasantness must go straight in the bin. But when Emmy reads poignant notes from women who may have Gone Too Far with the wrong men, or who can't bear to let their children be evacuated, she is unable to resist responding. As the German planes make their nightly raids and London picks up the smoldering pieces each morning, Emmy secretly begins to write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles.

Prepare to fall head over heels for Emmy and her best friend, Bunty, who are gutsy and spirited, even in the face of a terrible blow. The irrepressible Emmy keeps writing letters in this hilarious and enormously moving tale of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and ordinary people in extraordinary times.

©2018 AJ Pearce (P)2018 Simon & Schuster

Autres livres audio du même :

Ce que les auditeurs disent de Dear Mrs. Bird

Notations
Global
  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0
Interprétation
  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0
Histoire
  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Species 8472
  • Species 8472
  • 25/09/2018

Keep going...it's worth it

I bought this book for its title (I have a friend named Mrs. Bird). The beginning felt a little slow and repetitive, and more lighthearted than I'd expected the book to be. Take heart—it picks up. And once the ball gets rolling, it's captivating. I really loved the book by the end. It's worth the read.

10 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour N. Dandridge
  • N. Dandridge
  • 21/09/2019

An easy read

A bit trite, couldn’t get too attached to the characters, predictable. The writing is just OK. But if you want an easy no brainer to take a break from heavier stuff, this might be a good choice. Definitely chick-lit. The narration is good.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Candace Loftus
  • Candace Loftus
  • 11/01/2019

Delightfully Serious Historical Fiction

This book is designed to charm you while causing you to gain a deeper understanding of this critical time in England’s History. A time when the phrase “stiff upper lip” really meant something. A little slow at the beginning until at the end you want to run out and buy a copy of “Woman’s Life”. Candace Loftus

8 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Sara
  • Sara
  • 06/07/2018

A Happy Romp Through The Blitz

I absolutely hated every aspect of this inane representation of life in London during WWII. The narration was so false and forced I was sure it was an American doing a phony over the top British accent. After some research I found that Popplewell was indeed an English actress and had played the role of Susan in The Chronicles of Narnia. Go figure. Not sure what happened here but the narration, in my opinion, was overblown. Further research produced quotes such as the one used in the title of this review. This picture of WWII London as "delightful" and "charming", to me, felt fake and stylized. It just rang completely untrue. My beloved great-aunt, survivor of the London Blitz, is without question rolling in her grave. Hogwash.

18 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Jennifer G
  • Jennifer G
  • 20/10/2018

It's a little boring

I gave this book over 1.5 hrs of listening time. I found it boring and didn't keep my interest. Good luck!

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 26/09/2020

A great read

Beautifully written, and a pleasure to listen to. I am looking forward to reading the sequel when it comes out.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour SMH
  • SMH
  • 21/09/2020

Great Read!

My daughter gave me this book and I have enjoyed it immensely! It is beautifully written with well developed characters with whom it is easy to relate. It made me laugh out loud and cringe and weep. I want to hear more from this author especially about Emmaline and her friends! It also makes me proud of the women who "held the fort" so admirably in WWII, my mother being among them. The narrator did a superb job of bringing the characters to life! A. J. Pearce, please, please write more about Emmaline and Bunty!

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Quilter I Am
  • Quilter I Am
  • 28/07/2020

Hope this will become a movie!

I enjoyed the wonderful story line, narrator & characters. Highly recommend! WWII stories are my favorite!

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Irene Morales
  • Irene Morales
  • 16/06/2020

Couldn't let it go

I loved the writing, description, reality and even the humor. I didn't want the story to end.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Hannah T.
  • Hannah T.
  • 10/04/2020

A wonderful romance of friendship

A friend recommended Dear Mrs. Bird after learning that I had listened to Guernsey Literary and Potatoe Peel Pie Society over 10 times. I am so glad she did. This story was just what my heart needed to be encouraged to see hope and humor during difficult days.