Votre titre Audible gratuit

Dear Mrs. Bird

De : AJ Pearce
Lu par : Anna Popplewell
Durée : 9 h et 48 min
2 out of 5 stars (1 notation)

Prix : 16,96 €

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

Description

"A marvelous treat. Charming and delightful." (Nina Stibbe, author of Love, Nina)

An irresistible debut set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist - a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.

London, 1940. Emmeline Lake is Doing Her Bit for the war effort, volunteering as a telephone operator with the Auxiliary Fire Services. When Emmy sees an advertisement for a job at the London Evening Chronicle, her dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent suddenly seem achievable. But the job turns out to be working as a typist for the fierce and renowned advice columnist Henrietta Bird. Emmy is disappointed but gamely bucks up and buckles down.

Mrs. Bird is very clear: Letters containing any Unpleasantness must go straight in the bin. But when Emmy reads poignant notes from women who may have Gone Too Far with the wrong men, or who can't bear to let their children be evacuated, she is unable to resist responding. As the German planes make their nightly raids and London picks up the smoldering pieces each morning, Emmy secretly begins to write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles.

Prepare to fall head over heels for Emmy and her best friend, Bunty, who are gutsy and spirited, even in the face of a terrible blow. The irrepressible Emmy keeps writing letters in this hilarious and enormously moving tale of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and ordinary people in extraordinary times.

©2018 AJ Pearce (P)2018 Simon & Schuster

Autres livres audio du même :

Narrateur

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Notations

Global

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0

Performance

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0
Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Jennifer G
  • 20/10/2018

It's a little boring

I gave this book over 1.5 hrs of listening time. I found it boring and didn't keep my interest. Good luck!

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Species 8472
  • 25/09/2018

Keep going...it's worth it

I bought this book for its title (I have a friend named Mrs. Bird). The beginning felt a little slow and repetitive, and more lighthearted than I'd expected the book to be. Take heart—it picks up. And once the ball gets rolling, it's captivating. I really loved the book by the end. It's worth the read.

9 sur 13 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Candace Loftus
  • 11/01/2019

Delightfully Serious Historical Fiction

This book is designed to charm you while causing you to gain a deeper understanding of this critical time in England’s History. A time when the phrase “stiff upper lip” really meant something. A little slow at the beginning until at the end you want to run out and buy a copy of “Woman’s Life”.

Candace Loftus

6 sur 10 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Sara
  • 06/07/2018

A Happy Romp Through The Blitz

I absolutely hated every aspect of this inane representation of life in London during WWII. The narration was so false and forced I was sure it was an American doing a phony over the top British accent. After some research I found that Popplewell was indeed an English actress and had played the role of Susan in The Chronicles of Narnia. Go figure. Not sure what happened here but the narration, in my opinion, was overblown.

Further research produced quotes such as the one used in the title of this review. This picture of WWII London as "delightful" and "charming", to me, felt fake and stylized. It just rang completely untrue. My beloved great-aunt, survivor of the London Blitz, is without question rolling in her grave. Hogwash.

13 sur 23 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Donaleen Kohn
  • 12/07/2019

Quite good but fell apart at the end

I really liked it until close to the end. Then it seemed like a different book. The characters became erratic. Everything become unbelievable. Too bad.

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
  • carole thorn
  • 29/08/2018

Felt more like a children's book...

...that was quickly tweeked and filled out to remarket as an adult novel..And failed miserably.

2 sur 4 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Anne
  • 13/08/2018

Unbearably tedious

Dear Mrs. Bird is ludicrously predictable in plot and unbearably juvenile in tone, rather like a Girl Guide story of a plucky young woman. I suppose the narrator is trying to do justice to the cliched material, but I found I could not stand listening to it.

2 sur 4 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Audiophile
  • 01/08/2018

Young adult, but engaging

I’m ambivalent about this book. I nearly dropped it early on, as its main characters seem silly and the plot generally lacks depth. But as I persevered, I was drawn into the wartime world and the portrayal of young women struggling to cope with its challenges. The British cult of propriety was also something I came to contemplate. Some characters grew more interesting over the course of the book, while others stayed maddeningly one-dimensional. This is by no means deep literature, but by the end, I found it hard to put down. A beach read type of book, best enjoyed as I did, in Audible, for the excellent performances of the narrator.

3 sur 6 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Paula
  • 07/08/2018

Such an entertaining read!

Dear Mrs. Bird was a lovely read. Set in London during the World War II, we follow Emmy Lake, a young woman who is eager to be a writer and be relevant to her country's situation. She fins a job in a magazine thinking it will be about one thing but is another description altogether. It was interesting to see Emmy finding compassion towards women who weren't participating in combat and learning to understand their struggle being at home where there bombings. There was also humor in this book and the characters were lively and well written. I think this novel has something for everyone: humor, history, friendship, a little bit of romance and professional struggles. I am giving it 3,5 stars. Also, the audiobook narrator did a fantastic job and made the story that much richer!

2 sur 5 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 25/07/2018

Amazing!!!

This book is such a wonderful journey back into a history that I never knew existed! It is sweet and carefully written and transports the reader from beginning to end. It is funny and also sad, and extremely inspiring. There are very few curse words and the material is explained in such a way that teens can enjoy it without it being offensive. I absolutely loved the reader also. When the story is sad she brings you to tears with the emotion in her voice and she changes her voice very well for male and female characters. This was such a great book! I will be buying it in hardback form also to share with my mom and sisters who don’t have Audible. Thank you AJ Pearce for the best book I’ve read in a very very long time!

2 sur 5 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.