Votre titre Audible gratuit

Conviction

Durée : 9 h et 46 min
4 out of 5 stars (2 notations)

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB PICK

"Get cozy because you won't be able to put this one down! Our final Reese’s Book Club pick of 2019 is the thrilling murder-mystery Conviction by Denise Mina. This story combines suspense, international intrigue, and the murder of an entire family aboard a ship...following the one woman who may just have all the answers." (Reese Witherspoon) 

The captivating, utterly unforgettable thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window: A true-crime podcast sets a trophy wife's present life on a collision course with her secret past.

The day Anna McDonald's quiet, respectable life explodes starts off like all the days before: Packing up the kids for school, making breakfast, listening to yet another true crime podcast. Then her husband comes downstairs with an announcement, and Anna is suddenly, shockingly alone.

Reeling, desperate for distraction, Anna returns to the podcast. Other people's problems are much better than one's own - a sunken yacht, a murdered family, a hint of international conspiracy. But this case actually is Anna's problem. She knows one of the victims from an earlier life, a life she's taken great pains to leave behind. And she is convinced that she knows what really happened.

Then an unexpected visitor arrives on her front stoop, a meddling neighbor intervenes, and life as Anna knows it is well and truly over. The devils of her past are awakened - and in hot pursuit. Convinced she has no other options, she goes on the run, and in pursuit of the truth, with a washed-up musician at her side and the podcast as her guide.

©2019 Denise Mina (P)2019 Hachette Audio

Critiques

"Mina's latest thriller is a spellbinding listen featuring a superbly talented narrator. Cathleen McCarron expertly portrays numerous characters spanning several ages, accents, genders, and emotions. She particularly shines as protagonist Anna McDonald.... Anna is a quirky, compelling heroine, and McCarron is a narrative force." (AudioFile magazine)

"Such a delight: playful, fast-paced, and entirely compulsive." (Ann Cleeves, author of the best-selling Shetland series) 

"Denise Mina brilliantly manages to be funny, heart-wrenching, gut-punching and addictive all at once: A fabulous, captivating novel." (Nicci French, author of the international best seller Day of the Dead

"Spellbinding.... A metafictional marvel that both endorses and exemplifies the power of storytelling." (Publishers Weekly, starred review) 

Autres livres audio du même :

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Notations

Global

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    2
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Interprétation

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    2
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    1
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Jenn
  • Jenn
  • 26/06/2019

Wow! Excellent all-around & AMAZING narrator!!

This is one of those books that is so good in every aspect that I feel the need to go back and re-rate past books I’ve rated as 5 stars to 4 or even 3 (author-wise and narration-wise). Logistically, this book is so complicated, interwoven, detailed and descriptive that it might seem impossible to execute in general let alone as excellently as Denise Mina so capably did. I’m so in awe of how she told this tale, it’s almost like she took an amazing movie that is so cinematically and visually impressive and then somehow turned it into a book as equally impressive through sheer storytelling — and without compromise. Everything was beyond great: character development, pacing, unfolding of twists and turns. In the very, very beginning I really couldn’t see how anything that was being introduced could possibly make any interesting sense at all or if it did, how it would even be appealing, but obviously, it all did and superbly so. Lastly, wow, most definitely the best narration I’ve heard, Cathleen McCarron literally did dozens of accents, ages, emotions, and genders so perfectly and believable without being offensive or overly dramatic. Bravo, I highly recommend this book.

57 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Jennifer
  • Jennifer
  • 26/10/2019

A hot mess

At the beginning, I really liked this book. I enjoyed the lead character, and sympathised with her history and life. I also liked the way that the podcast was so seamlessly integrated into the story.

But when the travelling begins, I just couldn't get over the omissions and illogical events. The author, IMO, is trying to push too many hot button issues at one time, and they just get lost in a massive tumble against each other.

So promising, but ultimately totally disappointing.

32 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour rosemary
  • rosemary
  • 10/07/2019

Not at all what I expected

I read the reviews before I purchased this book and I knew that it was different than her other books but I had no idea that my opinion would be so different than most of the other readers. I really did not like the narrator and initially I found the book somewhat boring but I soldiered on until it turned to the podcast and then I really couldn’t stand it. I tried to listen three separate times but I never changed my mind. I can’t recommend this book but others have found it interesting.

76 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour ChickCoat
  • ChickCoat
  • 03/09/2019

Mixed bag

Interesting plot-centered psychological thriller, but with a—spoiler alert—syrupy, formulaic Scooby-Doo ending.

23 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Dory
  • Dory
  • 05/12/2019

I enjoyed this book!

Reese picked another winner! Loved this book. Highly recommend! It kept me wanting to find out more. I was surprised by the ending. And I enjoyed listening to this book!

6 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour BK
  • BK
  • 29/08/2019

lots of fun

An engaging story with a memorable protagonist, and a helluva of narrator! Listen, be entertained, and let the real world slide for a while. It'll still be there when you're done.

5 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Ian Macdonald
  • Ian Macdonald
  • 25/06/2019

Decent but not great

Lots of fun bits and a feisty heroine hampered by a sketchy plot.
None of the villains actions made sense to me.

25 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Amy Miller
  • Amy Miller
  • 05/09/2019

The first of hers I didn't like

When I completely despise the main character I can't finish a book. Whiny, annoying, and grating, so unlike all the other characters Ms. Mina writes about--the only book of hers I couldn't stand or finish--looking forward to the next. Hoping for better.

20 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Donna
  • Donna
  • 22/06/2019

3

This is sadly not one of Denise Mina's best mysteries. I've
enjoyed her earlier works so much. Is there such as a thing as a good author and a disappointing reader? What I find long and hopelessly convoluted another reader may
enjoy as a 5. I will read other reviews as they appear.

22 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour joyce bartlett stack
  • joyce bartlett stack
  • 20/06/2019

As addictive as a good true-crime podcast

What an engrossing guilty pleasure! The reader makes the book come alive; she's delightful. The story is imminently contemporary, and is rounded out beautifully by the well-developed characters and their humanity. I really, really enjoyed this story.

14 personnes ont trouvé cela utile