Votre titre Audible gratuit

What Set Me Free

(The Story That Inspired the Major Motion Picture Brian Banks)
Lu par : Brian Banks
Durée : 8 h et 15 min

Prix : 16,96 €

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

Description

Brian Banks, the major motion picture starring Aldis Hodge, Greg Kinnear, and Morgan Freeman, winner of the audience award at the 2018 LA Film Festival, opens nationwide in 2019!

Discover the unforgettable and inspiring true story of Brian Banks - a young man who was wrongfully convicted as a teenager and imprisoned for more than five years, only to emerge with his spirit unbroken and determined to achieve his dream of playing in the NFL.

At age 16, Brian Banks was a nationally recruited All-American football player, ranked 11th in the nation as a linebacker. Before his 17th birthday, he was in jail, awaiting trial for a heinous crime he did not commit.

Although Brian was innocent, his attorney advised him that as a young black man accused of rape, he stood no chance of winning his case at trial. Especially since he would be tried as an adult. Facing a possible sentence of 41 years to life, Brian agreed to take a plea deal - and a judge sentenced him to six years in prison.

At first, Brian was filled with fear, rage, and anger as he reflected on the direction his life had turned and the unjust system that had imprisoned him. Brian was surrounded in darkness, until he had an epiphany that would change his life forever. From that moment on, Brian made the choice to shed the bitterness and anger he felt and focus only on the things he had the power to control. He approached his remaining years in prison with a newfound resolve, studying and applying spirituality, improving his social and writing skills, and taking giant leaps on his journey toward enlightenment.

When Brian emerged from prison with five years of parole still in front of him, he was determined to rebuild his life and finally prove his innocence. Three months before his parole was set to expire, armed with a shocking recantation from his accuser and the help of the California Innocence Project, the truth about his unjust incarceration came out, and he was exonerated. Finally free, Brian sought to recapture a dream once stripped away: to play for the NFL. And at age 28, he made that dream come true.

Perfect for fans of Just Mercy, I Beat the Odds, and Infinite Hope, this powerful memoir is a deep dive into the injustices of the American justice system, a soul-stirring celebration of the resilience of the human spirit, and an inspiring call to hold fast to our dreams.

©2019 Brian Banks (P)2019 Simon & Schuster Audio

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Rodney L Hastt
  • Rodney L Hastt
  • 08/08/2019

Enlightening!

Inspiring and enlightening. I loved it. I teared up a few times . The story was very telling of the justice system . A lot of it ,I didn't know about. I know more because of this book and it inspired me learn and do more. Great book!!!

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Michael Ladge
  • Michael Ladge
  • 01/08/2019

Amazing story telling

I just saw the movie which was great. It does not do justice to how good this book really is. The detail is fantastic and you get to live this journey with Brian as he did. I found myself extremely mad and happy during this journey. This is a must read book for everybody.

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Ms. Smith
  • Ms. Smith
  • 19/08/2019

Compelling.

An heartfelt story that carried you through the ups and downs. Glad there was an happy ending.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour YBA
  • YBA
  • 18/08/2019

Heartbreaking story

Heartbreaking. Well told by Mr. Banks. I wish him much success in all his future endeavors.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour aaron turner
  • aaron turner
  • 18/08/2019

A Incredible Read, A Truly Incredible Story & One Incredible Person

This was a read that touched my heart, mind & soul. Working with a foundation that has been dedicated to helping inmates around the world by encouraging each to use there time in prison for the purpose of spiritual growth, Brian’s story is such a true testament of this. I am very grateful to have this story being told and now shown on screen to shed light on, our criminal justice system which needs fixing. There’s so much that I wish I could convey here st this moment in on this platform, but I honestly can’t say much more than thank you & continued Blessings to Brian’s work (and audible for providing the content via audiobook).🙏🏽

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Deb
  • Deb
  • 18/08/2019

inspiring

will definitely listen again read
also brought the book. for my daughter to read soo good

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Utilisateur anonyme
  • Utilisateur anonyme
  • 18/08/2019

Get your tissue ready!

This story is a tear jerker about the INJUSTICE incurred by Mr. Banks and his resilience and faith in God which kept him alive during his stint in prison. May Jehovah continue to bless him and the California Innocence Project ~

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Kefentse B.
  • Kefentse B.
  • 16/08/2019

Amazing Story and Production

Loved it. A phenomenal story that all should here. I really enjoyed the author reading his own words

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour claudia flores
  • claudia flores
  • 15/08/2019

Empowering story

Really makes you think and appreciate the freedoms and how our justice system needs to be reformed.

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Raven B.
  • Raven B.
  • 15/08/2019

Good story!

The story was one that needed to be told. However, my experience with this book and Audible was horrible. Every 10-15 seconds the narration of the book would stop! it made it extremely frustrating to listen to the book!
I am so sorry that the accuser has not been found and that the statute of limitations was 8 years! But I truly believe in karma. It will all come back to her, whether they find her or not!