Votre titre Audible gratuit

What Set Me Free

(The Story That Inspired the Major Motion Picture Brian Banks)
Lu par : Brian Banks
Durée : 8 h et 15 min

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

Brian Banks, the major motion picture starring Aldis Hodge, Greg Kinnear, and Morgan Freeman, winner of the audience award at the 2018 LA Film Festival, opens nationwide in 2019!

Discover the unforgettable and inspiring true story of Brian Banks - a young man who was wrongfully convicted as a teenager and imprisoned for more than five years, only to emerge with his spirit unbroken and determined to achieve his dream of playing in the NFL.

At age 16, Brian Banks was a nationally recruited All-American football player, ranked 11th in the nation as a linebacker. Before his 17th birthday, he was in jail, awaiting trial for a heinous crime he did not commit.

Although Brian was innocent, his attorney advised him that as a young black man accused of rape, he stood no chance of winning his case at trial. Especially since he would be tried as an adult. Facing a possible sentence of 41 years to life, Brian agreed to take a plea deal - and a judge sentenced him to six years in prison.

At first, Brian was filled with fear, rage, and anger as he reflected on the direction his life had turned and the unjust system that had imprisoned him. Brian was surrounded in darkness, until he had an epiphany that would change his life forever. From that moment on, Brian made the choice to shed the bitterness and anger he felt and focus only on the things he had the power to control. He approached his remaining years in prison with a newfound resolve, studying and applying spirituality, improving his social and writing skills, and taking giant leaps on his journey toward enlightenment.

When Brian emerged from prison with five years of parole still in front of him, he was determined to rebuild his life and finally prove his innocence. Three months before his parole was set to expire, armed with a shocking recantation from his accuser and the help of the California Innocence Project, the truth about his unjust incarceration came out, and he was exonerated. Finally free, Brian sought to recapture a dream once stripped away: to play for the NFL. And at age 28, he made that dream come true.

Perfect for fans of Just Mercy, I Beat the Odds, and Infinite Hope, this powerful memoir is a deep dive into the injustices of the American justice system, a soul-stirring celebration of the resilience of the human spirit, and an inspiring call to hold fast to our dreams.

©2019 Brian Banks (P)2019 Simon & Schuster Audio

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Rodney L Hastt
  • Rodney L Hastt
  • 08/08/2019

Enlightening!

Inspiring and enlightening. I loved it. I teared up a few times . The story was very telling of the justice system . A lot of it ,I didn't know about. I know more because of this book and it inspired me learn and do more. Great book!!!

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Michael Ladge
  • Michael Ladge
  • 01/08/2019

Amazing story telling

I just saw the movie which was great. It does not do justice to how good this book really is. The detail is fantastic and you get to live this journey with Brian as he did. I found myself extremely mad and happy during this journey. This is a must read book for everybody.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Michelle Singleton
  • Michelle Singleton
  • 14/01/2020

Redemption is possible

Every person in America who has a relative in America needs to read this book. Because only by the grace of God we have not been caught up in the system. This can happen to anyone especially any minority living in America. This book also gives us hope that even in tribulation there can be a bright side; we cannot be in the situation And see the situation. We must find peace.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour James ellis
  • James ellis
  • 12/12/2019

inspiring

this book was incredible the strength a d determination was truly amazing I thuraly enjoyed this book definitely moving and inspirational

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Justin A. Thompson
  • Justin A. Thompson
  • 09/11/2019

Sad But Very True

I have been following this story for years now and finally being able to read the book, I have not seen the movie yet, but keep one thing in mind when you’re done reading this book and I totally recommend you do. But the American justice system is by far one of the best in the world, nothing will ever be perfect, could there be some improvements to the system?? You bet, and since the American justice system has been going it has improved year after year, slowly improved but it absolutely has gotten better and better over the years. And sure false convictions do happen, I would bet there super rare, I could almost guarantee you that 99 out of 100 people in jail or prison did something to deserve being sent there. I am beyond happy for Mr. Banks. Good luck to you sir.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour David M
  • David M
  • 20/10/2019

Great book.

It’s sad but ends happy. Really his false accuser is a total dirtbag.

Brian Banks over comes great odds just to survive.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour BIGMAC
  • BIGMAC
  • 13/10/2019

Incredible

What an indictment of our American criminal justice system. Great change is needed immediately. Help!

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Norma Mills
  • Norma Mills
  • 19/09/2019

Worthy

This books was sad, warm and heartfelt.
Thank you for taking the time to open the eyes and minds of many on injustice!

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Marva
  • Marva
  • 15/09/2019

Brian

Awesome book.
Loved start to finish and thoroughly believe we all should consider working to do our part.
Two family members were incarcerated - different charges but same feelings of what went on in the prisons. Absolutely devastating.
Thank you for this reality check. May your road ahead continue to be bright as you make greater impact by your story. 💞👏🏾📚👏🏾🎶

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Christina chambers
  • Christina chambers
  • 21/08/2019

great book, finished it in a few days.

highly recommended, its not about race it's about the broken judicial system that many people have suffered because of it.

Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Susan Frania
  • Susan Frania
  • 01/02/2020

One of the best books I’ve ever read

The story of Brians youth is devastating.
The story he made out of what’s been given to him, is one of the most inspiring I’ve ever heard.
Listening to this book, hearing Brians voice as he puts himself back into what he went through made me feel his fears, hopes, sadness, desperation.
He’s true hero- inspiring, full of dreams & willpower to perceive them.
Wishing you and your family the best of lifes! May god bless you and love be pouring on you forever.