Votre titre Audible gratuit

We Contain Multitudes

Durée : 9 h et 15 min

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe meets I'll Give You the Sun in an exhilarating and emotional novel about the growing relationship between two teen boys, told through the letters they write to one another. 

Jonathan Hopkirk and Adam "Kurl" Kurlansky are partnered in English class, writing letters to one another in a weekly pen-pal assignment. With each letter, the two begin to develop a friendship that eventually grows into love. But with homophobia, bullying, and devastating family secrets, Jonathan and Kurl struggle to overcome their conflicts and hold onto their relationship...and each other. 

This rare and special novel celebrates love and life with engaging characters and stunning language, making it perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson, Nina LaCour, and David Levithan.

©2019 Sarah Henstra (P)2019 Hachette Audio

Commentaires

"...[Hentra's] skill lies in painstakingly depicting each boy's slow move toward vulnerability until a smoldering, secret romance begins. This exploration of self and sexuality is sure to be quickly embraced by fans of Love, Simon, They Both Die in the End and The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue." (Shelf Awareness)

"This is an absolutely extraordinary work of fiction that proves the epistolary novel is an art form. Kurl and Jo are characters to die for, emotionally compelling and empathetic. Their quotidian lives are riveting and their story unforgettable...not to be missed." (Booklist, starred review)

"A love story, a therapy session, a reason to read Whitman - the sweetness of unexpected amour is here, as is the saline of sadness.... Your reason to root for love - and the power of the pen." (Kirkus, starred review)

Ce que les auditeurs disent de We Contain Multitudes

Notations

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Robert Jason
  • Robert Jason
  • 15/05/2019

A lot to like here, but...

The format of the story, ie: letters, really dilutes the story overall. Every letter, or most, becomes more about moving the plot forward than being a genuine heart-felt moment of revelation or discovery. The writing is at times very beautiful, and the characters are wonderfully fleshed out (thanks to excellent narrators), but they never really jumped off the page for me and I think that is because of the way Henstra chose to tell this particular story. There have been a great many letters saved from history between lovers that tell interesting stories. I suspect those letters fascinate us not because their writers told us the plot, but showed us something about humanity, emotions like love and desire. Even for a YA title, the letters never get above luke-warm. There is something that works here, particularly Kurl's journey of discovery, but there's also a lot missing here. And, one of my biggest complaints in general about titles like this is wondering why women(and straight men) are telling the stories of gay men and boys. Perhaps that is the ingredient missing. I'm not sure. Nothing against Sarah Henstra, but I wish more gay writers would tell their stories. Authenticity matters. So does representation. Still, overall, WCM has it's moments even if those moments never really shine as bright or reach their full potential due to the constraints of the format.

8 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Jay
  • Jay
  • 09/07/2019

Lovely, passionate epistolary novel...but

I'm a sucker for happy stories. I'm a sucker for weird gay kids because I was one. This story can be compared to Call Me By Your Name in the emotional heat that it produces. The pivoting on Walt Whitman renewed my interest in the poet. Here's the "but" The quiet angry abused older writer (Curly?) metamorphised too rapidly, too completely, too transformatively (if that's not redundant). While still be regularly abused he took on superhero status. And what person writes a letter to the person they had sex with describing (blow by blow, figuratively speaking only) what happened. It's a contorted use of the epistolary style to provide narrative. And what teacher gives this kind of assignment that has no adult review to help facilitate growth? And what assertive, openly gay, intelligent, precociously insightful 10th grader allows himself to be mercilessly bullied without getting the support of his supportive dad, his teachers and other adults in the environment? This takes place in 2016. I was a teacher in high school in Florida prior to this time (I've since retired). This would not have gone unnoticed by the professional staff in Florida, let alone urban Minneapolis. Yes, I did suspend belief. Yes, I would read other books she wrote. To the person who wrote that he can't understand women and straight men writing gay literature, I've asked myself the same question so I thought about it. I'm not sure that's not a form of homophobia, For example Yaoi is a genre of fictional media originating in Japan that features homoerotic relationships between male characters. Writers aren't always writing novels that are cloaked autobiographies or we'd have few horror or mass murder novels. This book was a journey or two journeys for two complex, loner youths. I cried and I was in the characters' corners cheering them on. OK, I just changed my score on the story from 3 to 4.

5 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Utilisateur anonyme
  • Utilisateur anonyme
  • 26/06/2020

this was a very extraordinary book beautifully wri

I love this book doing a beautiful love story that heard nearly enough those two boys are so beautiful I will miss them thank you for this

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour LeAundra Jones
  • LeAundra Jones
  • 17/05/2020

Gorgeous story!!!

I loved it! And I'm not usually into the whole YA romance theme. Gorgeous storytelling.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 07/01/2020

Soooo good

This book is just amazing. The plot and characters are so intriguing and I could not put the book down.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Lance
  • Lance
  • 17/10/2019

Great voice acting

Cannot commend the voice actors enough. The story was heart wrenching and beautiful at the same time. My only complaint is that the letter format the story is based on feels out of place in certain places. Overlooking that it is perfect

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Ray Paramo
  • Ray Paramo
  • 26/08/2019

A Wonderful Concept; Not the Best Execution

Henstra's 'We Contain Multitudes' composes a very intriguing and interesting concept: two boys meet over the course of a penpal assignment in English class, ultimately help one another through various difficulties, fall in love... the story is an enjoyable and heartfelt one, albeit riddled with some tired high-school cliches. The novel's epistolary (letter-writing) format, however, just didn't work for me. The letters were far too detailed and expository to be realistic and, in many ways, felt like they only existed to forward the narrative. I do want to praise the audiobook's performances; both narrators did an excellent job of portraying Little Jo and Kurl. Though I wasn't the biggest fan of HOW the novel was told, I can say that I ultimately still enjoyed it for what it offered. If you're on the fence, and you're a fan of the epistolary format, this novel may be for you.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Leah Brock
  • Leah Brock
  • 21/10/2020

Beautiful Love Story

This is a gut-wrenching story of two broken boys trying to fix themselves and each other, Along the way, they fall in love. I had tears all the way through, both happy and sad. The ending gives the reader hope that these two are going to make it together. The dual narration by Tommy Kim and Matthew Gouveia hits the right tone for Sarah Henstra's story. They both perform spectacularly.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Am Reading for Food
  • Am Reading for Food
  • 23/08/2020

It destroyed me.

Emotionally. It destroyed me EMOTIONALLY in many ways than I could ever imagine. The narrators weren't just reading; they were acting, feeling. The story is your run-of-the-mill type of romance complete with bullies, but the way the writer injected bits and pieces of Whitman is done in such a caring manner. And that ending.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Fredrick Ted Clendenen
  • Fredrick Ted Clendenen
  • 16/05/2020

Awesomely the best

Thank You! My heart is so full❤️ The best I’ve listened to! Thank You Thank you!

Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Kira Schumacher
  • Kira Schumacher
  • 30/09/2020

This has been a wild ride, but I loved it all

The characters and the consequences they face are exceptional. I loved it. So so much.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour V. Hemmerle
  • V. Hemmerle
  • 23/02/2020

I cried so hard & laughed in between...

This is such a great book about two persons who are brave enough to open up to one another, in a way that helps them grow and heal. The other characters in this book are also important, not just there to move the plot along, they are real, with their own obstacles. I felt with them & I felt my own story. I started thinking about visiting some of the multitudes I hid somewhere deep within myself. The language is beautiful too - which makes this book even more beautiful. I am truly grateful for this book and what it did to/with me.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Amazon Kunde
  • Amazon Kunde
  • 22/11/2019

A Marvel

This book wrecked me - in a way that only a book can that is written so beautifully and makes you care so much for the characters that everything that happens to them feels like it is happening directly to you. One of the saddest, most touching and moving books I have ever read, dealing with heavy topics in an incredibly sensitive, beautiful way while not shying away from exploring them deeply.