Votre titre Audible gratuit

Watch Me Disappear

A Novel
Durée : 13 h et 15 min
2 out of 5 stars (1 notation)

Prix : 31,20 €

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

Description

A beautiful Berkeley mom with a radical past vanishes while hiking, leaving her family to piece together her secrets, in this keenly observed novel for fans of Emma Straub and Maria Semple - from the best-selling author of All We Ever Wanted Was Everything.

©2017 Janelle Brown (P)2017 Random House Audio

Autres livres audio du même :

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Notations

Global

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0

Performance

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    1
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0
Trier par :
  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars

no memorable

The story is well set but the end predictable. once having finished the book its forgotten. The female narrator speaks most times with high emotions which go on my nerves. The male narrator is better.

Trier par :
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Listening Queen
  • Listening Queen
  • 05/09/2017

I really enjoyed this book!

Any additional comments?

I read the mixed reviews on this book and thought i would take a chance, I have to say I am really glad I did! I ended up really liking these characters, and i found myself wanting to listen more. Some parts although unrealistic weaved a story of how a you can never really know someone and how some people will only show you parts of themselves. There is no good or bad, just Human imperfection. No spoilers here, but i loved that there was no questions left unanswered in the end ... the author really ties everything up nicely so that there is no guessing. Two thumbs up from me!

7 sur 7 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour ACV
  • ACV
  • 14/08/2017

Really sucked me in...

I like this author, she is honest and writes from a personal place which brings authenticity to her characters and settings.
First of all this is a unique perspective, like a twist of Rebecca. We care so much about a person whose presence is so powerful and magnetic yet we learn about her fascinating identity in a secondary way. I loved this.

There is something about the people in this book that make you want to keep reading, you fall in love with them Before the story gets really interesting.

So I do tend to try and guess the twist or ending when I'm watching movies or reading and this one was well written. There were several detective moments where I had to piece together the facts and determine red herrings- it was fun.

This was a double dipper for me, I missed the setting and the people. They're well written. Janelle brown is not a fluff writer, she's sophisticated and interesting as are the women she writes about. I wanted more.

The narrator is nice, she does Olive well and has that weird guttural "male" voice but it's ok.

The ending...you're feelings about it will depend on how well rounded the experience of this book will be. I needed some time to think it over, all of it. No spoilers here!

Some people will relate to this story better than others, honestly probably upper mid class women in there 30s/40s and that's okay. Enjoy.

3 sur 3 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour M. Morgenstern
  • M. Morgenstern
  • 23/08/2017

Very Disappointing .

Didn't like any of the characters. Overly precise diction of the narrator was annoying. The main character was hateful. Yuk.

5 sur 6 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Kindle CustomerJohn Devin Allred
  • Kindle CustomerJohn Devin Allred
  • 10/08/2017

A Wonderful Story!

A wonderful debut novel. Can't wait to hear from this author again!--Thanks Janelle!

2 sur 2 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Jason E Burgher
  • Jason E Burgher
  • 19/08/2017

excellent book

The twists and turns in this book are great, keeps you guessing till literally the very end!!!!! A must read!!!!!

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour jd
  • jd
  • 09/08/2019

loved it

started off slow but finished nicely. The middle keeps you guessing but finished very well.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Donna Cottrell
  • Donna Cottrell
  • 13/06/2019

Excellent!

Excellent Story!! Once caught, I couldn't put it down!! Its been a long time since a book has so hijacked my life!!

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Michelle R. Davis
  • Michelle R. Davis
  • 18/03/2019

Book club Mom

Could not put this book down. Great Read!! There were a lot of twist and turns in this book.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Colleen and Lonnie
  • Colleen and Lonnie
  • 19/02/2019

Pretty good

I enjoyed the story, but it wasn't life-changing or anything. I wasn't a fan of the narrator, especially when she was doing Billie's voice.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour R. Tuttle
  • R. Tuttle
  • 04/01/2019

Great book!

I loved the storyline of this book. The author did a great job of leaving the reader questioning every chapter.

Trier par :
  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Nina
  • Nina
  • 31/12/2018

Slow in the middle but satisfying ending

It's not fast-paced, but all in all an interesting story with a satisfying ending. The narrator was not a little too emotional for my taste but decent.