Votre titre Audible gratuit

Thunder on the Right

Lu par : Ellie Heydon
Durée : 8 h et 18 min

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

From one of our most beloved authors, Mary Stewart, comes a thrilling tale set in a France as beautiful as it is deadly, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym.   

High in the rugged Pyrenees lies the Valley of the Storms, where a tiny convent clings to the beautiful but lonely mountainside. Jenny Silver arrives seeking her missing cousin and is devastated when she learns of Gillian's death following a terrible car accident. But Jenny's suspicions are aroused when she's told the blue flowers ornamenting her cousin's grave were Gillian's favourite. Jenny knows Gillian was colour-blind - and so starts her mission to uncover what really happened to her.  

The growl and roar of thunder rolled and re-echoed from the mountains, and the sword of the lightning stabbed down, and stabbed again, as if searching through the depths of the cringing woods for whatever sheltered there.   

©1957 Mary Stewart (P)2019 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Critiques

"A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors." (Harriet Evans)

"She built the bridge between classic literature and modern popular fiction. She did it first and she did it best." (Herald

"One of the most stupendously successful authors ever." (Sunday Express)

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Jerri C
  • Jerri C
  • 25/11/2019

Romance and mystery

Mary Stewart is well known for her novels of romantic suspense. I confess, this is at the bottom of my ranking of Stewart's novels. Which has it better than most of what is available out there. Published early in her career, while still developing her style, I don't love this novel as I do Airs Above the Ground, My Brother Michael, The Ivy Tree and so many others. For some reason, this is the only novel Stewart wrote that she didn't use the first person point of view, and I believe this weakens the book. But I am still glad that Audible has made Stewart's novels for adults available in the US. Please add her three children's novels, especially The Little Broomstick, basis for the wonderful animated film Mary and the Witch's Flower.

Ellie Heydon does a very fine job narrating this story, and helps to strengthen it. And, if this is your first taste of Mary Stewart's works and it doesn't quite come up to scratch, please give one of her other works a try before giving up.

4 personnes ont trouvé cela utile