Votre titre Audible gratuit

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Vous êtes membre Amazon Prime ?

Bénéficiez automatiquement de 2 livres audio offerts.
Bonne écoute !

    Description

    When a banished witch falls in love with the legendary trickster Loki, she risks the wrath of the gods in this moving, subversive debut novel that reimagines Norse mythology.

    Angrboda’s story begins where most witches' tales end: with a burning. A punishment from Odin for refusing to provide him with knowledge of the future, the fire leaves Angrboda injured and powerless, and she flees into the farthest reaches of a remote forest. There she is found by a man who reveals himself to be Loki, and her initial distrust of him transforms into a deep and abiding love.

    Their union produces three unusual children, each with a secret destiny, who Angrboda is keen to raise at the edge of the world, safely hidden from Odin’s all-seeing eye. But as Angrboda slowly recovers her prophetic powers, she learns that her blissful life - and possibly all of existence - is in danger.

    With help from the fierce huntress Skadi, with whom she shares a growing bond, Angrboda must choose whether she’ll accept the fate that she’s foreseen for her beloved family...or rise to remake their future. From the most ancient of tales this novel forges a story of love, loss, and hope for the modern age.

    This audiobook includes a PDF that contains the Acknowledgments and the Appendix - a listing of people and places that appear in the story, and recommendations for further reading.

    PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying PDF will be available in your Audible Library along with the audio.

    ©2021 Genevieve Gornichec (P)2021 Penguin Audio

    Commentaires

    "A deep journey into the mists of the ancient Norse world of gods, monsters and humans, who shape shift from one to another.  But the heart of the story is a witch’s passage over many lifetimes and the ultimate sacrifice she makes for those she loves. A timeless tale of great power and artistry." (Margaret George, New York Times best-selling author of The Splendor Before the Dark)

    “A feminist reimagining of the Norse myths surrounding Ragnarök…melding together the wide range of Nordic legends, this is a story of tenderness and betrayal, friendship and loyalty, family and monsters, beginnings and endings. Offer this beautiful reimagining to fans of Neil Gaiman’s Norse Mythology (2017) and Joanne M. Harris’ Loki novels.” (Booklist, starred review)

    “A retelling of the Norse legend from the viewpoint of a woman often left in the margins, this book deserves to be a classic. For readers of Madeline Miller’s Circe and the Marvel version of Loki.” (Library Journal, starred review)

    Ce que les auditeurs disent de The Witch's Heart

    Notations
    Global
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      2
    • 4 étoiles
      0
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      0
    • 1 étoile
      0
    Interprétation
    • 3.5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      1
    • 4 étoiles
      0
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      1
    • 1 étoile
      0
    Histoire
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      2
    • 4 étoiles
      0
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      0
    • 1 étoile
      0

    Commentaires - Veuillez sélectionner les onglets ci-dessous pour changer la provenance des commentaires.

    Trier par :
    Trier par:
    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    • al
    • 28/03/2021

    Great take on Nordic mythology !

    I deeply enjoyed this book for a variety of reasons :

    - it is very original and develops a story from the very few pieces of information we have on Loki's wife and children
    - it is very poignant and tear-jerking at times.
    - there is no real black and white and even when you think some characters are behaving very badly there's always something behind it

    The only complaint I have is I didn't really liske the performance. The voice used for AngrBoda is way too raspy and "old". While I get she is supposed to be old in numbers, she is not in body.

    Trier par :
    Trier par:
    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Anonymous User
    • Anonymous User
    • 11/02/2021

    THE BEST

    This book is actually the best one. Out of all the books. ALL the books.

    6 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Andrew Cotton
    • Andrew Cotton
    • 10/02/2021

    Ideal Norse Fiction

    This book is absolutely fantastic. From the opening character reveal 15 minutes in, onward. I was absolutely obsessed with this book and engaged in every minute. Writing like this is a credit to literature. It's so inspiring to see authors of this skill still writing for us in these modern times. I cannot wait for Genevive's next book and am rapt for her next story. My new favorite novel.

    3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Catherine A Rector
    • Catherine A Rector
    • 19/02/2021

    A Masterful Exploration of Norse Myth

    I stayed up past my bedtime to finish this and had the very best time.

    The Witch’s Heart is a masterpiece of exploration into Norse Myth. Having dabbled in making a linear timeline out of these myths myself, it was an absolute joy to watch Gornichec weave the myths into the story in unexpected ways. There were moments where I stopped reading to appreciate the craft of how she put the pieces together in ways that had never before occurred to me.

    This book is written in a very particular style that, to me, calls back to older types of storytelling. It might be a challenge for readers who are used to fast-paced, high stakes books that start with a deadly car chase at chapter one, but it’s a mistake to confuse the calm, steady pacing (and soothing audiobook narration) with a slow book. Angrboda spends part one creating a life for herself, only to have part two destroy so much of what she’s built. And the domesticity of part one is what makes this book as impactful as it is.

    Something that’s desperately important to this book is its portrayal of the lives of women, and in general, how the lives and wellbeing of these characters revolve around a cast of male Gods who continue to affect the character’s lives despite these Gods rarely being on stage. Each of the women, as well as Loki (who is canonically genderfluid, fight me), find themselves manipulated and pitted against each other time after time, creating enemies out of allies. This might sound familiar to some women out there.

    Gornichec makes no move to belittle or minimize Angrboda’s more traditional women’s roles as wife, witch, mother, and practitioner of seidr. To me, it’s a statement of bravery to spend so much time focused on a set of roles that some would claim unworthy of the spotlight. Being a mom isn’t important or exciting enough to be the theme of a book, everyone is a mom, get off the stage./s But by focusing so intimately and for a large part of the book on these roles, Gornichec creates a book that can be enjoyed by many, but that feels like it’s written as a testament to the women who hold up the world.

    It also has to be said that I don’t cry over many books these days, but that ending had me leaking from my eyes.

    TL;DR? Buy it.

    2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Jessica Swan
    • Jessica Swan
    • 15/02/2021

    Wow...such a great book!

    I love Norse mythology, and Loki's stories are some of my favorites. Angrbođa is an often overlooked character. This book stunningly portrays her archetype, and many others, in Norse mythology. I will be reading this (aka listening) over and over.

    2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour V.Ortega
    • V.Ortega
    • 10/03/2021

    Stunning

    Absolutely stunning. The characters display desires, will and wisdom as the story of the worlds unfold. Beautifully written and executed with hope reminding us of magic.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Cecilia Mackellar
    • Cecilia Mackellar
    • 09/03/2021

    Different and captivating

    Here is a book that I absolutely did not want to stop listening to! I've never read anything about Nordic Gods before and it's so refreshing to do so now. This book is on my list of favorites. I also like the choice of the narrator, I think it's a good fit for the voice of a wise witch.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Luis
    • Luis
    • 20/02/2021

    Fabulous Retelling

    A wonderful modern retelling of Norse mythology from the point of view of Angreboda, Mother of Monsters. Kind of like the the old film Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead. It hits most of the highlights including Ragnarok. It would have been nice to have a Icelandic native doing the narration, but Jane Entwistle's beautiful voice works as well.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Jamie L. Reddinger
    • Jamie L. Reddinger
    • 15/02/2021

    Interesting take on Romance, Betrayal, & Mythology

    This book took me by surprise, I wasn't sure if a love story between an ancient witch and Loki was up my alley. But the author takes you through some twists and turns for a intriguing story.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour L. Randall
    • L. Randall
    • 19/04/2021

    Beautiful

    This book and narrator were enchanting and beautiful and haunting. The story reminded me of Circe which is my favorite book. I was sucked in from the first paragraph. When it was ending I wanted to cry because it was over and because it made me very emotional. Great read!

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Gael
    • Gael
    • 15/04/2021

    Loved this story

    I really enjoyed this retelling. it filled out backstory that I had not connected in my own way.