Votre titre Audible gratuit

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Vous êtes membre Amazon Prime ?

Bénéficiez automatiquement de 2 livres audio offerts.
Bonne écoute !

    Description

    "Should be required reading in every classroom." (Nic Stone, number one New York Times best-selling author of Dear Martin)

    "A true love letter to Los Angeles." (Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion)

    "A brilliantly poetic take on one of the most defining moments in Black American history." (Tiffany D. Jackson, author of Grown and Monday’s Not Coming)

    Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy Black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.

    Los Angeles, 1992

    Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. It’s the end of senior year, and they’re spending more time at the beach than in the classroom. They can already feel the sunny days and endless possibilities of summer.

    Everything changes one afternoon in April, when four LAPD officers are acquitted after beating a Black man named Rodney King half to death. Suddenly, Ashley’s not just one of the girls. She’s one of the Black kids.

    As violent protests engulf LA and the city burns, Ashley tries to continue on as if life were normal. Even as her self-destructive sister gets dangerously involved in the riots. Even as the model Black family façade her wealthy and prominent parents have built starts to crumble. Even as her best friends help spread a rumor that could completely derail the future of her classmate and fellow Black kid, LaShawn Johnson.

    With her world splintering around her, Ashley, along with the rest of LA, is left to question who is the us? And who is the them?

    ©2020 Christina Hammonds Reed. All rights reserved. (P)2020 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

    Commentaires

    A New York Times best seller
    A William C. Morris Award Finalist

    Autres livres audio du même :

    Ce que les auditeurs disent de The Black Kids

    Notations

    Commentaires - Veuillez sélectionner les onglets ci-dessous pour changer la provenance des commentaires.

    Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
    Trier par :
    Trier par:
    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Krystal
    • Krystal
    • 25/11/2020

    For The Love Of The Oreo Cookie

    A very highly cultured black girl growing up in the suburbs of the out skirts of Los Angeles. She is very beautiful in her views. Her family life is the American dream. This is a great read for young adults.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Nicole E. Harris
    • Nicole E. Harris
    • 24/04/2021

    Need the next chapter

    Although my high school years were decades ago, I was captivated by the story. What happened to Jo? Did Ashley transfer to Stanford and she and LaShaun become a thing? What happened to Lona after graduation? I have too many questions about the book and it's characters that a second must be in these works. The narrator was perfect! Looking forward to listening to another book she narrates.