Votre titre Audible gratuit

The Better Liar

A Novel
Durée : 10 h et 44 min

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

"Smart, sinister, and utterly engrossing - this debut delivers." (Joshilyn Jackson, New York Times best-selling author of Never Have I Ever)

When a woman conceals her sister's death to claim their joint inheritance, her deception exposes a web of dangerous secrets in this addictive new thriller for fans of Megan Abbott, Gillian Flynn, and Paula Hawkins.

Named one of the most anticipated books of 2020 by Entertainment WeeklyNew York Post • Lit Hub • Crime Reads • E! News • BookRiot • PopSugarHello Giggles 

"Like most of the dead, I want to be remembered."

Robin Voigt is dead. If her sister Leslie had arrived at her cramped Las Vegas apartment just hours earlier, this would have been their first reunion in a decade. In the years since Robin ran away from home as a teenager, Leslie has stayed in New Mexico, taking care of their dying father, even as she began building a family of her own. But when their father passed away, Leslie received a rude awakening: She and Robin would receive the inheritance he left them together - or not at all. Now her half of the money may be beyond her grasp. And unbeknownst to anyone, even her husband, Leslie needs it desperately.

When she meets a charismatic young woman who bears an uncanny resemblance to Robin - and has every reason to leave her past behind - the two make a reckless bargain: Mary will impersonate Robin for a week in exchange for Robin's half of the cash. But neither realizes how high the stakes will be when Mary takes a dead woman's name. Even as Mary begins to suspect Leslie is hiding something, and Leslie realizes the stranger living in her house, babysitting her newborn son, and charming her husband has secrets of her own, Robin's wild, troubled legacy threatens to eclipse them both.

An electric, twisted portrait of sisterhood and the ties that bind, The Better Liar is a stunning debut with a heart-stopping, twist-after-twist finale that will beg the question: How far would you go to get what's yours?

Praise for The Better Liar

"Jones’ sensational debut has the bones of a thriller but reads like literary fiction: lean, shrewd, and gratifyingly real.” (Entertainment Weekly)

"Jones’s debut novel is clever, absorbing, and full of red herrings.... A stunning twist ending will leave readers waiting to see what Jones will give them next." (Booklist starred review)

©2020 Tanen Jones (P)2020 Random House Audio

Commentaires

"A darkly complex relationship between two sisters lies at the heart of Jones’s debut psychological thriller.... A blistering debut from a promising new talent." (Kirkus Reviews)

"A taut, twisty thriller.... Jones arrives with an undeniable splash." (Publishers Weekly)

"I can hardly believe The Better Liar is a debut novel - it has three unreliable narrators and a twisty plot, and it dives deep into complicated family relationships." (Jennifer Hillier, author of Jar of Hearts, ITW Thriller Award winner)

Autres livres audio du même :

Ce que les auditeurs disent de The Better Liar

Notations

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Utilisateur anonyme
  • Utilisateur anonyme
  • 15/01/2020

Wow!!!

I really didn't think I was going to enjoy this as it took a lil bit for me to get to the "meat" of the story but, WOW, This was one of those books that you thought you had it figured out and then BAM!! You're totally left with your mouth hanging open. I'm not ashamed to admit I totally put things off just to finish this in one sitting! Looking forward to what's next from this author!!

6 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Wiserolder
  • Wiserolder
  • 21/01/2020

Really like this one!

I didn't guess how it would end. I'm usually pretty good at that. It was a story filled w/ plot twists and bends leaving you never quite sure what was going to happen next. It kept my interest while listening. Worth purchasing.

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Kris Zeller
  • Kris Zeller
  • 17/01/2020

That Author’s Note 😭

One of the twists in this book was really obvious, but there were also a lot of things that weren’t.

That author’s note is the real deal though. What a serious issue to shed some light on. Well done.

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour RueRue
  • RueRue
  • 25/02/2020

good premise, poor execution

The story had a good premise, but it went into a long, drawn out finale that was implausible and unsatisfying. The author's note at the end about post-partum depression, had 0 connection to the themes of the story. The narrators were good, but the story did NOT work.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Tawny Hurst
  • Tawny Hurst
  • 20/02/2020

Interesting, but Depressing and Slow

I’m not gonna say I DON’T recommend, but I I’m not gonna say I do either. I just feel like it was depressing and slow-paced throughout... very little to break that up. I did listen to the end out of curiosity, and there were some decently entertaining elements, but overall, I wouldn’t send my bestie message saying “OMG you’ve gotta read/ listen to this!” I doubt I’ll mention it at all... she’s pretty picky.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour ROBIN
  • ROBIN
  • 21/01/2020

Held my attention every second!

This book (especially as a debut novel) is fantastic, and the narration only makes it better! My only issue with this story was the parts that are hard to believe possible, but it was definitely a page turner that held my attention, and that's not easy! I look forward to more from this author

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour felicia jones
  • felicia jones
  • 20/01/2020

Mental illness and music

Ms. Jones is a good writer and you really get to know the characters, deepest, darkest thoughts. And the characters usually are, quite entertaining.
This is the second novel I've listened to by this author and I see a trend. She seems to be fascinated with women's mental illness. The stories have a lot references to music, I mean, a lot, I found myself stopping so, i could find some of the music metioned.
I enjoy her writing but, I have yet to really like ANYONE in her novels, especially the women; their either, delusional, or just evil. Lastly, the authors note and the end well, it reminds me of the Nancy charin thus story, a great deal of compassion but, just statistics and what she was told.
If you have to go over statistics and analyze to the bare bone, whether, or not to have children; chances are, "you shouldn't ". I suffer from clinical depression, and I have for many years, and I'm also a woman of color. I have 2 children and I've NEVER felt anything but, love, in fact; they brought me the greatest happiness in my life, they wrre sometimes a reprieve from sadness.
Your books, end with no resolutions, the characters end up just as disturbed, or worse. These stories are too depressing and perhaps the author suffers from mental illness.

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Amanda Gerber
  • Amanda Gerber
  • 17/08/2020

Different

Ending wasn't that good a father dies the sister who is the good sister takes care of him until he finally dies. The father put the estranged younger sister in the will. Older sister has try and find the younger sister.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Kelly
  • Kelly
  • 29/07/2020

this one surprises

In The Better Liar, we have a crazy, surprising story of two women. Robin left home for Las Vegas more than ten years ago and has been a nuisance to her sister Leslie ever since. Leslie has been acting as caretaker for their ailing father, but he has now passed away. His will requires the sisters to reunite if they want to receive their inheritances. So Leslie must go to Vegas and track down Robin. Unfortunately she finds that her sister is also dead, having overdosed on heroin only hours before she arrived. Leslie is scared and stressed and flees Robin's home, only to meet Mary, an actress...

This book surprised me in the end, despite the fact that the clues were there. I completely enjoyed the ride.

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour raganbogan
  • raganbogan
  • 13/06/2020

Disappointing

A few key points kept this story from being enjoyable:
1. I kept waiting for something to happen, like some twist, an important revelation, or crises to occur. It never happened.
2. The thought processes of 2 main characters was so abnormal that I could never get invested in them. I have no doubt there are people that think like them, but they aren't people I care to spend time with, so it was a struggle to invest so much time with them in my ear.