Votre titre Audible gratuit

The Adventure of the Peculiar Protocols

Adapted from the Journals of John H. Watson, M.D.
Durée : 8 h et 1 min

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

"...rich with period detail and clever invention!" (Wall Street Journal)

This program is read by Downton Abbey actor David Robb, and includes a bonus conversation with the author. 

With the international best seller The Seven-Per-Cent Solution, Nicholas Meyer brought to light a previously unpublished case of Sherlock Holmes, as recorded by Dr. John H. Watson. Now, Meyer returns with a shocking discovery - an unknown case drawn from a recently unearthed Watson journal.  

January 1905: Holmes and Watson are summoned by Holmes' brother Mycroft to undertake a clandestine investigation. An agent of the British Secret Service has been found floating in the Thames, carrying a manuscript smuggled into England at the cost of her life. The pages purport to be the minutes of a meeting of a secret group intent on nothing less than taking over the world.

Based on real events, the adventure takes the famed duo - in the company of a bewitching woman - aboard the Orient Express from Paris into the heart of Tsarist Russia, Holmes and Watson attempt to trace the origins of this explosive document. On their heels are desperate men of unknown allegiance, determined to prevent them achieving their task.  

And what they uncover is a conspiracy so vast as to challenge Sherlock Holmes as never before. 

©2019 Nicholas Meyer (P)2019 Macmillan Audio

Ce que les auditeurs disent de The Adventure of the Peculiar Protocols

Notations

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour James E. Carr
  • James E. Carr
  • 05/12/2019

Just Kinda Sorta Okay

I was certainly interested to receive a fact based education on the Protocols, having only a vague knowledge of their origins. But I found this Sherlock Holmes redux a bit slow paced, and at times sputtering if not downright dithering. You had to bring your own memories of the original author's character development of Holmes and Watson because there wasn't much in this book. There was little real tension in the plot, the only action was low grade and contrived, and while the nouveau Holmes struggled mightily to look sharp this was not a very complicated situation for him to face. The ending was consistent with the rest of the story. There are legions of Sherlock Holmes takeoffs which you should find more engaging than this one.

9 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Andrew McDiarmid
  • Andrew McDiarmid
  • 12/02/2020

The genuine article

This new Sherlock adventure is superbly written! The wording is exquisite and the unfolding plot unmistakably Holmes. The narration was also a delight. David Robb deftly moves between characters and brings them to life admirably. Bravo!

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour H. Roberson
  • H. Roberson
  • 31/01/2020

A nice and enjoyable Holmes adventure

The story is good with sufficient intrigue and opportunities for Homes to be Holmes. Watson is more developed here which is a good thing. The premise is that the story is from a diary which has some missing pages and an inserted page. The missing pages are a nice technique at avoiding for days of train ride and provides an opportunity to suggest a Homes liaison. The cameos help make the story interesting. I haven't read other books by this author but this book will cause me to look for those.

Recommended.

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Bronx Guy
  • Bronx Guy
  • 10/01/2020

DISAPPOINTED

Warning: plot disclosures herein:
This should have been entitled "The Adventures of John H. Watson, MD With Occasional Assistance by one S. Holmes."
The pastiche is centered on Watson and the faux literary device what may be an authentic recently discovered diary with tantalizing omissions (did Holes really have an affair with the femme fatale?). Holmes' almost seems a second banana here. His personal life and his interaction with Mycroft is touched upon while Watson's married life is gone into ad nauseam with little advancement of the plot and little listener satisfaction to show for it.
And I think Meyer must have thought his trope of constantly interrupting narrative with expository "footnotes" a cute device. If so, he failed. The shift from English with an English accent to English with an American accent, without prior notice, is annoying. It ruins the narrative flow.
With fewer literary bells and whistles, years ago, the 7-1/2% Solution was a more enjoyable read.

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Eye 4 One Think
  • Eye 4 One Think
  • 09/11/2019

Excellent Read!

All Sherlocians will devouer this one. Please note that it has relevance to our era; read/listen entently to the Prologue. Enjoy!

5 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Southern reader
  • Southern reader
  • 10/05/2020

Very complex story. Totally surprise ending

No spoilers here! This was a really great listen. The narrator did a great job and I really enjoyed the interview with the author afterwords. Listen to the end about the history back and forward about the protocols.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Marily
  • Marily
  • 21/04/2020

Another, I'm not a purist, enjoyed the story!

Enjoy an interesting story not only with Sherlock Holmes but on the Orient Express. It wasn't difficult falling into the story nor connecting with the reader. Will definitely look into Meyer's other
" Sherlockian book"s.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Kazren
  • Kazren
  • 27/01/2020

A must read for fans of Sherlock & Watson

Nicholas Meyer has never let me down. He always hits the mark. I read his 7% Solution before the film was made, and the details and obvious research caused me to call Mr. Meyer a genius.

This book is compelling, plotted to my content, and performed very well. If you miss the residents of 221B Baker Street, this is a must read (or listen). This book welcome's you into Holme's parlor and once again, you're buy the side of Holmes and Watson as they journey across the continent in search of the truth.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour DDC
  • DDC
  • 17/09/2020

Interesting fiction based on real issue

This was well written and well performed. I enjoy a mystery based on a real (though fake) document. The interaction of science, history and politics was intriguing.

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour brian beirne
  • brian beirne
  • 13/08/2020

Great performance. Story is dull.

The voice work is very engaging. Where this fails is the story. Boring. Poorly plotted. No real mystery. No suspense. No witty banter. I did like the fact that they read the footnotes in the story. (There are only a few but add important info). The last half hour is an author interview and worth listening to Meyer talk about his books and films.