Votre titre Audible gratuit

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Vous êtes membre Amazon Prime ?

Bénéficiez automatiquement de 2 livres audio offerts.
Bonne écoute !

    Description

    New York Times and USA Today best seller

    Walter Award Winner

    Goodreads Finalist for Best Teen Book of the Year

    Time Magazine Best Book of the Year

    Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year

    Shelf Awareness Best Book of the Year

    School Library Journal Best Book of the Year

    Kirkus Best Book of the Year

    New York Public Library Best Book of the Year

    From award-winning, best-selling author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam of the Exonerated Five comes a powerful YA novel in verse about a boy who is wrongfully incarcerated. One of the most acclaimed YA novels of the year, this New York Times and USA Today best seller is a must-listen for fans of Jason Reynolds, Walter Dean Myers, and Elizabeth Acevedo.

    The story that I thought

    was my life

    didn’t start on the day

    I was born 

    Amal Shahid has always been an artist and a poet. But even in a diverse art school, because of a biased system he’s seen as disruptive and unmotivated. Then, one fateful night, an altercation in a gentrifying neighborhood escalates into tragedy. “Boys just being boys” turns out to be true only when those boys are White. 

    The story that I think

    will be my life 

    starts today

    Suddenly, at just 16 years old, Amal is convicted of a crime he didn’t commit and sent to prison. Despair and rage almost sink him until he turns to the refuge of his words, his art. This never should have been his story. But can he change it? 

    With spellbinding lyricism, award-winning author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam tell a moving and deeply profound story about how one boy is able to maintain his humanity and fight for the truth in a system designed to strip him of both.

    ©2020 Ibi Zoboi (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers

    Ce que les auditeurs disent de Punching the Air

    Notations

    Commentaires - Veuillez sélectionner les onglets ci-dessous pour changer la provenance des commentaires.

    Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
    Trier par :
    Trier par:
    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Sara W
    • Sara W
    • 17/01/2021

    Must read for educators

    I am a white woman administrator and I totally think this is a must read for all educators. I was challenged by the role of the art teacher. It forced me to think of what I would say for any of my students if I were called to be a character witness. Our students are defined more than one moment in time. We MUST remember that. I totally want to buy this book for one of my students who is in juvenile hall right now with the message “I see you”

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour That Guy
    • That Guy
    • 17/01/2021

    To Be Heard and Seen

    A riveting performance, both on the page and through my speakers.

    I highly recommend *listening* to (or, reading aloud) Zoboi’s and Salaam’s gorgeous, lyrical beauty.

    The story is, unfortunately, far too rote for anyone paying attention to the (in)justice (mis)educational systems in America, so as with almost all of my favorite pieces of art—written and recorded—it’s far less about the plot than it is about the way their words inhabit the page, on both a visually aesthetic level, but also on a mellifluous, rhythmic one.

    The imagery, the images, the imagination of it all.

    Heartbreaking. Heart-rending. Hard to not wince and wonder and well up with weariness (at yet another tale as old as American time) and cries for war (against these systems of oppression).

    Read it. Listen to it. Learn it. Know it. Understand it.

    Then, *do* something about it.

    This, my friends, is #artasactivism

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour reggie
    • reggie
    • 06/09/2020

    great book

    kept me wondering what was next. and i enjoyed every minute of it. so glad i chose it.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour mimi
    • mimi
    • 10/03/2021

    This is a must read. Powerful and engaging. Heart breaking and heartwarming at the same time.

    This is a must read. Powerful and engaging. Heart breaking and heartwarming at the same time.

    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Amazon Customer
    • Amazon Customer
    • 14/01/2021

    Good book young teens!!

    Narrator was great, but started off kind of slow to me. I had to start it over while on a long ride then I got into it. I also don't like how it ended, it did not complete the story what happened to him, did the boy ever tell what really happened.

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Utilisateur anonyme
    • Utilisateur anonyme
    • 12/01/2021

    Amazing and inspired beyond the written words.

    This is the first e book that I have finished and I really loved it. also props to you the reader for speaking as if these words where your own.

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Linda
    • Linda
    • 04/12/2020

    Amazing story.

    Amazing story, yet unfortunately, it was too short. I wanted the poetic prose to continue framing the conflict between ther protagonist vs society (the bias school to prison system and the industrial prison complex). But I do appreciate the cliffhanger at the end.

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Kindle Customer
    • Kindle Customer
    • 01/12/2020

    A magnificent piece of art that will endure

    loved it, particularly as read aloud.. This should be made into a performance. Heartbreaking, revealing, & moving.

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Dedra Williams
    • Dedra Williams
    • 17/11/2020

    I was thoroughly pleased with this book!

    I loved how the author draw you in and before I knew it I was fully engaged with his words!

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Utilisateur anonyme
    • Utilisateur anonyme
    • 25/09/2020

    this story is told in authentic voice and tone.

    I love it. I was hooked right away, the first 10 seconds. I could smell the street.